We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of the best hotels I have stayed!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This is one of the best hotels I have stayed!!!!”
Reviewed March 3, 2010

After some work in Africa and international travel. Was visiting my parents in Florida, I decided I need a break for some beach time. And I stayed at the Z. Wow, what a hotel. Nextdoor is the Betsy, which is double or triple the price.

I had one of their PH, a room with a giant private roof deck with private spa. So nice. With the hotel just across the street from the beach, I found I spent most of my time there. And the hotel provides each guest with 2 beach chairs and umbrella. And they even have beach service for food and drink. So so nice.

And better yet the hotel is located in the center of it all, the front is on Collins Drive but the rear is on Ocean Drive. Just two blocks from Lincoln Road.

It is all there. I would high recommend a stay. Well worth the price.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nusiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Thank you for your great feedback; we love to hear that our guests will soon return to enjoy our property and our amenities. Our rooftop suites are wonderful and like no other on the beach! Glad you got to enjoy the great weather and view; we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    440
    115
    48
    49
See reviews for
350
1,037
57
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We loved the few days we spent here. It was relaxing, the staff was friendly and the beach chairs and umbrellas were a well needed amenity in the Florida sun. We stayed in a suite on the top floor and had a hot tub and bar of our own on a large patio overlooking the ocean - very private with curtains to surround us. Wonderful! There was a restaurant on site but closed for renovations. It is not a big deal though, since Miami Beach has so many restaurants to try anyway. Our favorite place in Miami Beach so far!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
Thank you for your feedback; it's great to know that you enjoyed the hotel and our amenities; we look forward to having you once again when you make your next plans in Sunny South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

This hotel's lobby and public areas have a very nightclub-style feel, with blue light and aluminum walls and electro-lounge music playing. The rooms are spacious and have a wet bar with barstools and a sitting area with couch and armchair in addition to the bed area and bathroom. These rooms would be good if you were in town with friends to party and wanted to be able to lounge suite-style in the rooms and make drinks. The hotel room floor is tile or marble and the furniture is dark and contemporary, giving the whole place a loungey/party feel. Bathroom is huge with his and her sinks. Very geometrical in design. The overall style is too hard-edged for me but I'm sure it would suit some others.

My room gave out onto the pool deck, which was a fun touch and made it easy to sit by the pool in the morning.

My preferred hotel style is more cozy/comfy so I ended up going to the Betsy for a more relaxed, beachy, boutique feel. I recommend this hotel to people who want a wet bar/lounge area in the room or direct pool access from their room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaytchinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments; we appreciate you sharing your experience with us; although your preferred property is different from us; we hope that you will consider us again during your next travel plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed here on 2 separate occasions during 2009; 3 nights in February/March and 2 nights in November. The first stay was fabulous and we had absolutely no complaints, which is why we returned in November. Unfortunately, this second stay was not so good. The room we were allocated had an unusual exterior walkway to get to it, which wouldn't have been a problem had there not been a torrential downpour overnight and all morning (the streets were literally under a foot of water). The beautiful shiny floor tiles became so slippery they were deadly; given the tropical climate, this is an extraordinary oversight. We too were stung for the resort fee of $18 per night, which was a new addition since March. When I pointed out that we couldn't have used the 'resort items' even if we'd wanted to, because of the inclement weather, the receptionist reluctantly agreed to refund the full cost 'as a courtesy' but, on checking my credit card bill upon return to the UK, only one night had been refunded, which I felt was pretty unreasonable in the circumstances. In addition, the restaurant was closed for refurbishment (how long does one refurb take?!!) so we had no choice but to venture out in the deluge, which didn't exactly improve our overall experience. Don't get me wrong, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the location is very convenient for Ocean Drive, the beach, Lincoln Mall etc. but the negatives really left a sour taste and made for a disappointing end to our holiday. Oh, and the parking is really pricey!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ishouldcocouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you for allowing us to rectify your stay. We hope you will contact us directly and we will ensure your next stay will be in a prime suite. I am positive we must have been sold out; we try our very best to accommodate all guests when the room location is not as expected. The restaurant has since been open and its food is quite delicious! We hope during your next travel plans you reconsider!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Nice hotel, a short walk from South Beach and several restaurants.
We stayed there in november and had a room on the pool level, the stay was pleasant enough, the rooms were well equiped if a little quirky.
Due to renovations the bar and restaurant wereclosed.

The thing that tarnished the stay was being charged for use of beach loungers and umberellas that we didn't use.
I asked the charge be removed from my bill when checking out, and they removed the charges for 1 not both days of our stay.
Other than that the hotel is fine.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2WearyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you for your feedback; it's wonderful to know you enjoyed our suites and our wonderful amenities; the charges could have been an oversight, we have these notes throughout our web site to ensure all our guests are well informed prior to their arrival.
Nonetheless, we will definitely review again. Thank you again for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We really enjoyed our recent stay over the MLK holiday in one of the corner rooms by the pool. We traveled with our 6 year old and used the couch bed for her as well as the pool and hot tub just outside our room. The staff was kind and helpful and the food in the restaurant excellent. We had room service for breakfast by the pool(coffee from the essencia coffee maker in the room) every morning and then took a walk on the beach. The location couldn't get any better as we were only steps away from great south beach restaurants, bars and beaches. Overall, I definitely recommend Z Ocean for a weekend getaway that is clean, quiet and next door to all that south beach has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank getoutofAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Thank you so very much for your comments; we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family and our unique amenities. We hope you will select us once again when you visit Sunny South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2010

My sister and I have stayed here many times. Hotel use to be Desoliel now Z ocean. Although management has change hands the staff continues to be very friendly and accomodating. I read a review that the jacuzzi didn't work, thats very unfortunate we had a similar incident but maintenance was very quick to fix the problem. The roof top decks with jacuzzi are awesome, we enjoyed waking up in the morning having room service served on the roof top. The rooms are clean and spacious. If you book a regular room , be sure to request the rooms with the long entertainment unit along the wall,these room are larger and you will get more bang for your buck. The location is great, no need to rent a car everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1_RNWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, February 2, 2010
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and the great amenities and services of our Rooftop suites. We will continue to implement better processes for the Jacuzzis and hope that during your next stay you will once again enjoy the views of our great terraces. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,567 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#53 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,711 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,551 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,400 reviews
The Confidante
#33 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Reservation Counter, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing