We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Hotel with Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
chicago
1 review
“Phenomenal Hotel with Wonderful Staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

I stayed there with my wife in August and we had a blast. We had a corner rooftop suite, which was stunning. The interior was top-notch, from the marble floors, to the wet bar, to the fully upgraded bathroom and super cool shower. The rooftop was, needless to say, incredible. We got very lucky and had a corner unit which provides remarkable views of the city as well as the ocean (even though our room was a city-view room). Best of all, the staff was great. From the super nice reservations agent with whom I setup the reservation to the desk staff, everyone was very very accommodating. You literally can not ask for a better location. The only downside is the price as it's a bit pricey. However, I can not complain at all as the alternatives were more expensive and provided much much less (no balcony, no upgrades, etc). Great time, Definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemiami20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Wonderful feedback; thank you for sharing your experience with us; we will make sure we do the same with our team and we hope you return once again to our property when you visit South Beach...at least every August! We hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    436
    114
    48
    49
See reviews for
344
1,031
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Z Ocean during a 5 day vacation. We found the room of sufficient size with a fantastic bathroom area and great decor in the room. The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly which seems to be an oddity, unfortunately, for Miami Beach.

Our room was one of the top-level rooms with the rooftop terrace and while we enjoyed the whirlpool tub and the view from up there, things could have been better. First, the digital display on the whirlpool, which shows the temperature setting, was broken so we had no idea what it was set for. Also, the whirlpool seemed to be temperamental in it's operation; sometimes the jets would work, sometimes they wouldn't. There was, apparently, an audio system on the terrace with an iPod input but there was absolutely no information on where to hook it up or operate it.

Other issues include the guest information book in the room indicated the Wifi was free (it wasn't) and that there would be magazines and aloe lotion provided at the beach along with the chairs and umbrellas (they weren't). To be fair, the staff provided me with a code for free internet access but the misinformation was annoying. Lastly, the restaurant and lounge are non-existent while that portion of the hotel undergoes renovation. It would have been nice to know, as the previous reviewer stated, about the lack of facilities before we booked the room.

Overall, our stay was great and I would consider patronizing the Z Ocean again on my next trip to Miami. With room prices of over $300 a night (in mid-September), I would seriously consider the Ritz-Carlton are the Betsy as, perhaps, better alternatives.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tick-tock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thank you for your comments and the great description of our suites; they are quiet fabulous. We do apologize for the information in our guestrooms; these are being reprinted and should be replaced shortly to avoid future issues. Although our competition is great; as you stated, we do enjoy being different and a bit more relaxed to ensure our guests feel at ease when staying on property. We would love to extend an invitation to you in the hopes you return and experience all our new amenities including our new restaurant, opening in November as stated in our web.
Thank you again and we hope to be the host of your next vacation!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

My friend redeemed her hotel points for a 2 night stay at the Z Ocean Hotel (Crowne Plaza). Lobby and check in were great, and the room we had was nice. Excellent south beach location - no need for a car. We unfortunately didn't get a room with a rooftop terrace, but we were at the corner of the building so our room (I believe) was a little larger than the standard room and we had a terrace overlooking Collins and Espanola Way. Decor was tasteful and modern. The shower was great as everyone said. Our room (#324) had a mini-kitchen but was lacking all glassware and utensils. We only had 2 small spoons and 2 champagne glasses. I was trying to sip water out of a champagne class but felt so silly! Housekeeping fixed it the next day when we mentioned the issue. The TV in the living room had the annoying hotel menu setup but the bedroom TV was just like home.

My main complaint is that the crowne plaza website says there are restaurants on site, but when we got there, they were closed. It was a minor inconvenience, but I think the hotel should have the decency to report this on their website, and tell patrons BEFORE they get there. My friend was stranded en route and ended up coming a day late - my, how it would have been nice to have room service. Instead I called the front desk and got 3-4 menus of local places delivering pizza and sandwiches (and an overpriced menu from Jerry's across the street).

Also, we checked out the pool which was very nice. Beware that if you end up with one of the rooms overlooking the pool it could be noisy. My friend and I were lounging poolside and someone from a room a floor above was on his balcony and the noise carried so much that we couldn't relax because of the constant chatter.

The beach was fantastic and we had no issues with the Boucher Brothers service. The chairs were huge and the terry covers and towels were plush.

Also beware, if you're looking for any type of signage that says Crowne Plaza, there isn't any. The hotel is simply branded as the Z Hotel.

Overall it is a nnice place, but could use a little improvement to get my top rankings. I'm a well seasoned traveler and have had better facilities and service elsewhere. Hopefully I can come back and re-review once they work out the kinks.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABCinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 1, 2009
Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate your observations and we will make sure to share with our staff. Details like the champagne glasses sure make a difference; nonetheless, we hope next time you stay on property you will have the opportunity to experience our breathtaking rooftop terraces, as well as, our new restaurant which will be opening in November as shown on our web. We would be delighted to have you return to South Beach and allow us to service you and your guests once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Spent four nights in one of the penthouse suites with rooftop terrace and city view over the Labor Day weekend. The most amazing hotel stay in my life! Right from check in to check out everything was perfect. If any minor issue arose it was dealt with immediately by the staff. I will definitely come back next time in Miami. Could not have had a better and more relaxing time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lks2travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
We love to hear that!! Thank you so very much for your excellent review and we hope you will keep your word and return to our property when you visit Miami again! We are very glad you were able to enjoy a well deserved and relaxing Labor day getaway!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

I spent 4 nights in Miami Beach at Z Ocean with my boyfriend,and my first impression wasn't really good; we had booked and payed a Pool Lanai Suite,but he room they gave us was on 3rd floor and there was no view of the pool at all. We asked at the frontdesk girl for explainations,and she told us that actually the room was toward the pool,but if we insisted she could give us another room. Now,I may be not american and young,but I can assure you that the room WASN'T toward the pool!I had the impression that we were given that room because we're young,if we were middle-aged rich men they wouldn't have dared to treat us like that. Anyway,the second room they gave us was 225,and was beautiful;a door window allowed us to go directly to the pool,the bathroom was huge and the shower amazing. We really enjoyed our stay,the only thing I have to say is that for the prices people pay to go to Z Ocean,it would be a nice thing to give them a free wifi access!
And honestly I have to add that after the problem with the room,the girl at the front desk has been very nice,printing for us a couple of things we needed and giving us every information we wanted.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimkillah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2009
That is a great photo of you relaxing in our pool lanai's; thank you for sharing. We are glad you were able to experience the convenience of this suite and the service our hotel is able to provide. We hope you can return again to South Beach and visit us once again with our new "soon to come surprising amenities". Thank you for your feedback!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

My fiance and I stayed in one of the penthouse suites with the private rooftop terrace, PH2, with ocean view, and we absolutely loved it!

ROOM:
The room was spacious and modern- very comfy king sized bed, soft sheets and feather topper. The bathroom was great, sectioned off with smoked glass panels, his and her vanities and even a scale (not that you'd want to weigh yourself on vacation, but it's a nice touch!) We LOVED the shower, there is an overhead "rain" shower head as well as 6 body shower heads and a built-in seat, very nice! 2 flat screen TV's in the room, one facing the love seat and one facing the bed. Full bar area with martini and margarita glasses was also nice! The balcony was spacious with a full size lounge chair as well as a table with 4 chairs, then the spiral staircase leads up to the private rooftop terrace! It's the roof terrace that really MAKES this hotel. We couldn't find anything else like this in Southbeach, very unique. The terrace is HUGE, has a table with 4 chairs, a bed-like lounge chair for two and a hot tub! There is also a curtain to section off the hot tub area for privacy. Very nice, especially with the beach view.

LOCATION:
The hotel is located right at the end of Ocean Ave, great location. Short walk to the beach, there is a private beach area for guests and their beach chairs are padded and very comfortable. They also provide umbrellas and towels. There's a Starbucks directly across the street and an awesome Mexican restaurant, Tequila Chicas, right across the end of the street! Walking distance to everything! One warning, it's slightly hard to find on the street, when we booked online we only saw the name "Crowne Plaza" but the hotel is just called "Z ocean".

SERVICE: Top notch! We had a few minor hiccups that the very professional staff addressed ASAP. Example, the first night, the lights on our roof terrace went out, and they had an electrician come up and fix it within 10 minutes! The concierge was great and provided lots of discount cards for local restaurants. The room service was also excellent, very fast and great omelets! The only disappointment we had is when their oven broke the second day and we couldn't order breakfast, but that could happen anywhere! Valet was $30 a day but totally worth it, and since you can walk everywhere there's not really any reason to get the car.

Overall, this hotel feels more like a resort and is worth every penny! I almost forgot to mention how beautiful the lobby was! Very modern and luxurious. There is a glass-bottom pool on the 2nd floor which you can see underneath from the open-air bar and breezeway. This is the only place I'll ever stay in South Beach!!!

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Spoilmerotten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, September 2, 2009
Fabulous feedback and very detailed experience! Thank you so very much for sharing the information and photos with the team and future clients. We very much enjoy servicing our guests and hope you return to our property during your honeymoon! Congratulations on your engagement; we hope to see you very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2009

We had an amazing two days staying here and highly recommend it to the next guest. The location is wonderful between the new W and Setai as well as the center of "south beach" culture. We loved being able to walk from one end of south beach to the other with ease.

We want to shout out to Olga for helping with the pre-planning including restaurant and activity recommendations. It was a pleasure to meet her during out stay. You can definely rely on the front desk staff to help you with anything you need. While waiting in the lobby, I watched a man ask (bark?) for two fish dishes to be ordered picked up a nearby restaurant. Without flinching the staff member asked which type of fish and told him she would take care of all the arrangments. I am certain, there could be no place better to eat than on the roof top deck of this hotel.

The rooms were specially clean and the hotel staff was friendly. We were so pampered and pleased when on check in the staff told us she could have the hot tub filled and rooftop deck ready within 30 mins ( + or - a few). She told us we could call anytime we needed the hot tub refreshed. Sure enough, we unpacked and went to peak upstairs at our own private deck, and we had a hot, hot tub with scented bath salts and more plush comfy towels all around the deck. It was lovely.

As perfect as the hotel stay was, on two different days, we had very poor service at the "beach club". We know the club is a contract provider to the hotel and we highly recommend changing the contracted company. Although other clubs had umbrellas flying high, they refused to place the umbrellas citing "wind". We cited laziness, it was a beautful day and the club next to us had theirs. And even more than the unbrellas, it was the snappy rudness of the beach staff that weakended the visit. We also did not see the advertised aloe and/or fashion magazines.

Enjoy the pool, the pamperng of the hotel staff and the wonderful rooms. The poor experience of the beach club had nothing to do with the otherwise perfect stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mavesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
Thank you for the wonderful feedback and for recognizing Olga at the front desk. She is wonderful and takes great pride in ensuring all our guests are pampered during their stay! We hope you will soon return and visit our property; promising next time a receipt of double aloe and fashion magazines to ensure a fantastic beach experience!!
Thank you again for your comments and your support!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,856 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,480 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,390 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,746 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing