We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sexiest hotel in Miami!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #17 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 23, 2009

The fact that the hotel is super clean, humble and informative staff, and an unbelievable location....is a bonus! What really makes this hotel stick out is the private hot tubs in the rooms and the pool with the glass bottom. Come on...there's a voyeur in all of us!

I didn't have to go anywhere to find great food. Two unique restaurants, Zushi Flirt and Table 8... great food and sexy people.
Besides the pool and hot tub, we spent a day at the hotel's beach club across the street. Great all around. Will definitely recommend it to all my friends.

oh...the hotel even has their own private garage underneath the hotel, so we didn't have to wait for the car at all. Last time we stayed at a different hotel, the valet took 30 Minutes to get our rental and we almost missed our flight.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balkanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2009

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate receiving your comments and love to share them with our team. We take great pride in ensuring all our guests have a fantastic time and experience in all our venues. We hope you will return soon and choose once again to stay at our beautiful property.
Thank you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,544 - 1,550 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2009

We stayed at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach (formerly De Soleil) for almost a week a while ago but even though I thought I have to post this review to make everyone aware of the Pros & Cons of this property.
The best thing about it is first of all the location, as it’s really in the middle of SoBe but still far enough away from the crowds at Ocean Drive & Lincoln but close enough to walk to all the hotspots if you want to….The rooms are nice even though if they are not the biggest, if you are traveling with two suitcases you will have a hard time to store them properly. We stayed in a room attached to the pool which was great except the size of it…Housekeeping service quite inconsistent a couple of days the came in at 5.00 pm only….lot of dust behind the bed haven’t been cleaned for a while…..also very annoying was that some staff knocked & and even entered the room at 7.30 am in the morning in order to check on the mini bar, how ridiculous??? Even with a DND sign on the door it happened on more time.
Staff at the front desk very underwhelming and to be considered as arrogant almost, instead of changing the name of that hotel every few month they should seriously consider to change there staff in this area. You would never find those staff members in a major hotel chain like Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton as these employees behavior would be considered as “bad for business”……The restaurant Table 8 was very average and there is absolutely nothing to rave about with so many better options in SoBe….They have an outdoor lounge attached to the restaurant with a separate bar…after 20 min sitting there, I asked the hostess of the restaurant if there is any staff taking care of the lounge area at all and she said that the cocktail waitress is sick and they are not able to provide any service there…how absurd especially with a whole bar set up and many people around who experienced the same, plenty of staff in the restaurant doing nothing….it really made me laugh and wondering if they are in the business of making money at all??!!
Anyway, if you are looking for a hotel to stay for the night without using any other facilities this might be the place for you, but if you are looking for a place with decent amenities, professional service and a nice bar/restaurant I recommend the Delano, Setai or Ritz Carlton down the road!

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1979077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2009

We appreciate your feedback and regret that your stay was not as expected. We shared your information with our staff, as well as, the restaurant management. Although many changes have been made, we continuously strive to provide and exceed our services and hope you allow us the opportunity to ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

This hotel is fabulous! I have stayed at a few sobe hotels (loews, raleigh, shoreclub) but this one really took the cake. Everything about the hotel turned out to be better than expected. The room was amazing, better than the pictures. The bed must be a tempurpedic - very comfortable. Spacious room with handy bar area. Bed and couch separated by entertainment unit - 2 TV's on either side. Bose CD player. Large washroom with separate sinks on either sides of toilet, separated by sliding doors. Great shower, many jets.

I think we got the best POOL LANAI room available (room 225), which really made the whole trip. First of all, we had our own front door to our room - from the outside! Then the back of the room opens onto a huge terrace - like 500 sf. with tables and chairs to fit like 30 people! That leads onto the pool, hot tub, and bar. Every night we brought back lots of people to party and we were never told to keep it down. Overall, the hotel was quiet but we really made noise with no complaints. Then, off the terrace is an outdoor staircase that leads down to the restaurant and ocean drive - the beach literally across the street. Beach umbrella, chairs, towels are included!!! We were 3 girls, plenty of room, and we brought back like 10 people a night to party, the outdoor space was amazing to entertain.

24 hour restaurant across the street (Jerry's famous Deli), we bought our own liquor at Washington and Lincoln (4 blocks away) - much cheaper. Location is awesome, never had to take cabs. Mansion night club within walking distance.

We will all stay here again and again. I'm jealous of you out there who gets to enjoy it!!! Worth every penny. Oh, and the staff were great, always cleaning, always friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladysadie2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

my boyfriend booked this hotel based on all the great reviews.unfortunately,we did not experience the excellence as others have.therefore i'm writing this to forewarn others.
currently it's day 3 of my stay,and i've swithced from penthouse suite 26 to suite25.here's the bottom line.you pay 500 for this room category.in room 25,the balcony door is too hard to open and close,2 phones were broken,broken scale,birds nest on balcony,mosquitoes in shower,and maid will wash your glasses with dirty rags.now it doesn't get much better in room26. the tv was broken,broken cd player,hard to open balcony door,broken outlet in bathroom,flys and gnats in room,hotel has no bug spray to remedy problem,front door isn't fush to floor,and all bugs will fly in room,no vip passes given to nightclubs and no paper delivered on easter sunday.management is aware of all problems,and is trying their best to remedy them.we have asked for some type of compensation,but they will not do so.if i had paid for this trip,i would have checked already.my vacation has become a chore in fixing the problems in the room constantly.my boyfriend is fustrated as well,and others in the hotel are experiencing similiar problems as well.i titled this review as knowledge is power so you can use this review wisely.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ucbgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Guess this property has had a name change since last month. Stayed here for 3 nights, room 409. Room was outstanding, I could live in this room. Only negative was there are so many light switches it took a while to find them all. Staff was very helpful, outstanding location on SoBe.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Loved the stay in this hotel. Very clean and modern. Pool room was excellent and pool and spa were wonderful. Did not use the resturant but did use the bar. $$$ drinks but it's South Beach. Enjoyed the stay and would recomend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atravelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us! We enjoy and take pride in our property and service. We hope you return and stay with us during your next visit to Sunny South Beach!
Thank you again for your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We booked and recieved the 2end floor pool side room. We were in the corner and our room was a little different than the pics posted by others how ever the facilities were the same. No need to post additonal pics.
We booked the De Soleil based on the 3 things we look for in a hotel: suite, new or renovated and location. This hotel offered all three.
Our hotel service was every thing we look for at the rate we paid. From check in, front desk inquiries through out our stay and check out, we were treated promptly and with respect from all staff,
I can not comment on the facilities too much as we only used the pool. Having a room off the pool was definetly a bonus for us. Access to the room was easy. Also quite at night without the street noise
Not an overly large area around the pool there for limited lounge chairs so it can be busy at times. The beach is always right across the street.
As much as we wanted to do later nights, the recent 1 hr time change plus our 2 hour time difference put us off a bit, The bar on the lobby level looked active but we never stayed long.
There are a lot of good places to eat right outside the door. On Collins, right across the street I recommend the Grill Fish, 2 blocks straight west is Espanol Way, and lots of other choices close by. Take a walk and read some menus.
By far our biggest disappointement with South Beach was the 18% service fee added on to your food, Not that I mind paying 18% for good food and service but we found quite often the service lacking as they already knew they're getting the tip. This was not the exception but rather the norm.
Over all good hotel and I would recommend it. This was a pre cruise stay. Post cruise and Key West we came back to SoBe prior to leaving and stayed at the National. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the hotel and what it had to offer, It realy is a classic Art Deco hotel.

Hope this helps. Any questions just ask. I'll be checking the fourm for a short while post vacation before planning the next.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BQUofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,682 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,695 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,685 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,468 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $264 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing