We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“knowledge is power”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #18 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 12, 2009

my boyfriend booked this hotel based on all the great reviews.unfortunately,we did not experience the excellence as others have.therefore i'm writing this to forewarn others.
currently it's day 3 of my stay,and i've swithced from penthouse suite 26 to suite25.here's the bottom line.you pay 500 for this room category.in room 25,the balcony door is too hard to open and close,2 phones were broken,broken scale,birds nest on balcony,mosquitoes in shower,and maid will wash your glasses with dirty rags.now it doesn't get much better in room26. the tv was broken,broken cd player,hard to open balcony door,broken outlet in bathroom,flys and gnats in room,hotel has no bug spray to remedy problem,front door isn't fush to floor,and all bugs will fly in room,no vip passes given to nightclubs and no paper delivered on easter sunday.management is aware of all problems,and is trying their best to remedy them.we have asked for some type of compensation,but they will not do so.if i had paid for this trip,i would have checked already.my vacation has become a chore in fixing the problems in the room constantly.my boyfriend is fustrated as well,and others in the hotel are experiencing similiar problems as well.i titled this review as knowledge is power so you can use this review wisely.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ucbgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,972 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2009

Guess this property has had a name change since last month. Stayed here for 3 nights, room 409. Room was outstanding, I could live in this room. Only negative was there are so many light switches it took a while to find them all. Staff was very helpful, outstanding location on SoBe.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Loved the stay in this hotel. Very clean and modern. Pool room was excellent and pool and spa were wonderful. Did not use the resturant but did use the bar. $$$ drinks but it's South Beach. Enjoyed the stay and would recomend it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atravelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share the comments with us! We enjoy and take pride in our property and service. We hope you return and stay with us during your next visit to Sunny South Beach!
Thank you again for your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We booked and recieved the 2end floor pool side room. We were in the corner and our room was a little different than the pics posted by others how ever the facilities were the same. No need to post additonal pics.
We booked the De Soleil based on the 3 things we look for in a hotel: suite, new or renovated and location. This hotel offered all three.
Our hotel service was every thing we look for at the rate we paid. From check in, front desk inquiries through out our stay and check out, we were treated promptly and with respect from all staff,
I can not comment on the facilities too much as we only used the pool. Having a room off the pool was definetly a bonus for us. Access to the room was easy. Also quite at night without the street noise
Not an overly large area around the pool there for limited lounge chairs so it can be busy at times. The beach is always right across the street.
As much as we wanted to do later nights, the recent 1 hr time change plus our 2 hour time difference put us off a bit, The bar on the lobby level looked active but we never stayed long.
There are a lot of good places to eat right outside the door. On Collins, right across the street I recommend the Grill Fish, 2 blocks straight west is Espanol Way, and lots of other choices close by. Take a walk and read some menus.
By far our biggest disappointement with South Beach was the 18% service fee added on to your food, Not that I mind paying 18% for good food and service but we found quite often the service lacking as they already knew they're getting the tip. This was not the exception but rather the norm.
Over all good hotel and I would recommend it. This was a pre cruise stay. Post cruise and Key West we came back to SoBe prior to leaving and stayed at the National. Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the hotel and what it had to offer, It realy is a classic Art Deco hotel.

Hope this helps. Any questions just ask. I'll be checking the fourm for a short while post vacation before planning the next.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BQUofC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

You think you were staying at the Ritz for this kind of attitude. As soon as we checked in we asked the concierge for a Latin lunch suggestion. She told me she did not know of any restaurants other than the one in the De Soleil that served lunch. Huh? First of all it is not Latin and second there are 100's of great restaurants in Miami that serve lunch..found out they get spiffed if their staff sends guest to their restaurant. Christian (evening front desk staff) was very unhelpful on numerous occasions. Asked for a new coffee maker since the one in our room did not work..he said they did not have extras? The hotel was not even 50% occupied. Also asked him for an umbrella since it was raining out..he did not have any of those either..He told us we had to go up to our room to look for one. The last thing that really frosted my flakes: we asked if we could check out 1 hour later since the friends we were traveling with were leaving our hotel later..good old Christian said that will be an extra $75! Our friends were not charged extra but we were going to be?
I did like the hotel rooms. Most rooms have very nice decks and a little kitchenette which works well for cocktail serving. Beds are comfortable. Don't bring your gym clothes. Work out room does not have much and is very warm in temp.
There are so many small boutique hotels in Miami I think I would choose a different hotel next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlover2795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2009

Thank you for your feedback; we shared your comments with the mentioned associate and he has expressed his regret for not providing the level of service our hotel so proudly provides. We have implemented new measures to ensure our standards of service are delivered daily and to each guests and we hope you allow us another opportunity when you return to South Beach to have a perfect stay. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly and again we thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

good spot on south beach. not a lot going on at the pool but right on the beach. i had a penthouse room with a roofdeck hot tub which they told me I had to call them to setup. after 3 phone calls and 3.5 hours of waiting i gave up. i also don't know why they didn't clean my room. they seemed to be overwhelmed at the front and good at explaining what should have happened, but not doing anything about it aside from radioing the guy who still wasn't going to fix it. probably much better deals around. rooms are small but have very nice amenities.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank normaldude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2009

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very sorry you had this experience during your stay. Our rooftop suites with jacuzzi's are one of high demand in our property and we like to ensure all guests are serviced promptly. We have worked diligently to ensure your comments are reviewed by our team and have now implemented new staffing measures to ensure excellent service during the high occupancy periods. We hope you allow us another opportunity to serve you and we will be happy to personally take care of your reservations and future needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

I am appalled at the extremely poor management at this hotel! My sister made reservations at De Soleil for her 30th birthday. She even called the night before to confirm her reservation. When she arrived to check in, she was told that they didn't have a reservation for her and they were unable to accommodate her. It was completely unacceptable!

Stayed: March 2009
1  Thank Blondynka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,726 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,729 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#49 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,472 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,735 reviews
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $316 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing