We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Z Ocean Hotel is Terrific” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #8 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Z Ocean Hotel is Terrific”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My family recently visited the Z Ocean hotel in Miami Beach. The location is perfect with the front of the hotel on Collins Ave and the rear on Ocean. It's near great restaurants and shopping, has beautiful views of the ocean, and is directly across from the beach. Our huge private terrace and hot tub overlooking the ocean were unbelievable! Nothing like a midnight soak with a glass of wine and some music (speakers provided)! The hotel restaurant is terrific. But the best thing about this hotel is the terrific staff. They really go out of their way to be helpful. Special thanks to Domingo who couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with a huge terrace and jacuzzi hot tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MRTravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Afternoon MRTravel2014 ,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are so thrilled to hear that your family and you thoroughly enjoyed the location and staff services! Please be assured that Domingo will be made aware of your kind words for him! Hopefully we will see you soon again to have more terrific times!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    416
    109
    44
    48
See reviews for
328
978
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Don't hesitate: this hotel is great! It's clean, it's near the beach, it's near the centre, it's staff is very friendly! It started in our case with Domingo...such a nice and helpfull man, getting our suitcases, bringing them to the room and explained some important things! He made us feel at home!
Leave your towels at home. You will not need them. Also on the beach towels will be provided.
There is an ATM machine in the lobby, there is a restaurant 'the front porch café' where breakfast is great. I can not find anything to complain about...
So book it!
I know we would, if we will go again to miami!
Absolutely! No doubt about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Afternoon Belinda S ,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay from start to finish! Domingo will absolutely adore the comments on his service! We hope that you do not hesitate to return to Miami and to the Z Ocean!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed for 8 days just after Easter 2014. The hotel is close to beach - very handy indeed. Staff super friendly and helpful. We needed a doctor for our son, and the concierge sorted it out no time. Overall I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Collins Avenue. Our room was facing the pool and also the pool level. The kids lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arniea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Afternoon arniea68,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean! We are extremely thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We are thankful that the concierge was able to assist with finding a doctor for your son and we hope he is doing well! Hopefully we will see you again!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the Z Ocean after returning from a 4 night cruise. The hotel room was beautiful and loved the layout...perfect for me, my husband and two kids. This was the perfect ending to a vacation before we flew back home and a welcome retreat from the crowds on the cruise. The staff was fantastic! Extremely courteous and personable. Our room was located right outside the pool. We weren't expecting the pool bar to be open as it was a Tuesday afternoon but were quite happy it was. The super nice bartender (from London) was great!
We are IHG/Priority Club Platinum Members so we received a bottle of wine, two drink tickets for their bar and we both received a glass of champagne when we checked in. Classy touch.
Our room was not ready when we arrived so we walked around the area for about an hour. We spent some time at the beach which was a short walk away. As guests of the hotel, we received 2 complimentary chairs, towels and an umbrella.
I'm not sure if we'll ever be in Miami again but if we are...we are heading to Z Ocean!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Afternoon Nancy C,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for the Z Ocean! Here is to hoping you do get the chance to return to Miami so that we can enjoy more fun times! Thank you for being a loyal IHG Rewards Member with us!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of a 4 week holiday in US and loved the place. We booked a Poolside room ( though wish we had booked a roof top terrace after arriving)

The rooms are spacious and very clean, the service is excellent. The breakfast choice is huge and very filling.

There is a short walk to the beach, we didn't use the beach club on our trip as we wanted to get out and see some of miami - plus it was so hot and didn't want to be fried!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Afternoon Neil B,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Ocean! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the poolside room and hopefully next time you will be able to enjoy the rooftop room. We are waiting for your return to the Z!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
326 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The location of the Z Ocean Hotel is great. It is right on Collins Ave. and Ocean Drive. This is not a large property, which is one of the charms of it. The front desk staff were amazing and offered us drink tickets to use at the Breezeway Bar in the hotel. We decided to check out our suite and then grab some drinks at their bar before explore Ocean Drive.

We had requested a suite with a rooftop terrace in a part of the building where we could look down and do some people watching from our balcony. Our room was perfect. The bathroom was amazing with a shower with numerous jets that spray out all at once. There was a nice in-room bar, but make sure you check the prices. Only grab things from here if your really need them. There are stores all around here where you can grab the same things for a lot less. The bed was very comfortable. The balcony was perfect. We were able to watch the night life for a bit, but we could not hear noise from outside once our balcony doors were shut. Directly off the balcony was a set of spiral steps that lead up to our private rooftop terrace area with a hot tub and amazing night views.

The Breezeway Bar had an amazing bartender who was doing a little "cocktail" action with bottle flipping, etc.; was fast with drinks; and was super friendly. We were there for happy hour so drinks were very very reasonable. They also have appetizer specials from the Front Porch Cafe. We had some hot wings that were great and very inexpensive. I would definitely recommend stopping here for this special and enjoying some good deals on drinks and munchies.

The one and only reason that I could not use five stars (wish I could do 4-1/2) was solely based on the cost we paid for this hotel room. In all fairness, we only stayed one night on a weekend before a cruise, so the cost of all hotels, motels, and BB's all over South Beach was just crazy. I would stay again but only if I was able to get a great sale or stay during the week rather than a weekend night. I would say it would be worth 5++++ stars if it was even a little more reasonable in cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawni_and_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Good Afternoon Shawni_and_Dan,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with us! Your comments will be shared with our entire staff as your kind words and feedback are greatly appreciated. Hopefully we see you return to the Z!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent 5 days in Miami at the end of a Florida Road Trip in Z Ocean. Hotel was ideally situated between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. The Staff in the Hotel were excellent and really made our stay excellent. Particular mention to the Bar Staff (Zach and James) who ran an excellent Bar and made everyone very welcome. The standard of housekeeping was also excellent. We stayed in a Lanai Suite with direct access to the Pool. Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. Excellent Value for money and would definitely recommend it especially if you are visiting for the first time as it is a great location with great bars and eating places right on the door step!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Good Afternoon Susan C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy 5 great days in Miami. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff especially Zach and James. Hopefully we will see you soon again.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,189 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,072 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 202 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing