We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Croydon(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$128
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$328
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Miami Beach EDITION(Miami Beach)
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $407/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $209/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
$279
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,101)
Filter reviews
2,101 results
Traveler rating
1,366
496
124
55
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,366
496
124
55
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront porch cafehot tubprivate jacuzzicrowne plazapenthouse suiterooftop terraceocean drivewet barsouth beachnespresso machinecomplimentary bottle of winelarge balconyespanola wayrain showersitting areacity viewcollins avenue
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 2,101 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Spent 5 days in Miami at the end of a Florida Road Trip in Z Ocean. Hotel was ideally situated between Collins Avenue and Ocean Drive. The Staff in the Hotel were excellent and really made our stay excellent. Particular mention to the Bar Staff (Zach and James) who ran an excellent Bar and made everyone very welcome. The standard of housekeeping was also excellent. We stayed in a Lanai Suite with direct access to the Pool. Rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable. Excellent Value for money and would definitely recommend it especially if you are visiting for the first time as it is a great location with great bars and eating places right on the door step!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Good Afternoon Susan C,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean hotel. We are glad to hear that you were able to enjoy 5 great days in Miami. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff especially Zach and James. Hopefully we will see you soon again.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Me and my girlfriends stayed here for 2 nights before heading out on a Caribbean cruise.
Upon arrival we learned that we got upgraded to a penthouse suite complete with Jacuzzi tub on the roof. The rooms are wonderful and the beds are so soft and comfortable. The showers were also fantastic. The staff were friendly and always greeted us with a smile. Any concerns we had were taken care of immediately.
It is conveniently located within walking distance to shopping areas, and had no troubles getting around. The pool was a nice way to end the days with a refreshing dip. I loved this hotel and would recommend in a second to anyone visiting South Beach. Thanks so much!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Good Afternoon lizzytizzy,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for the Z Ocean! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our rooftop room ( our best seller ) and the staff members! Hopefully we will see you soon at the Z Ocean for another great stay.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have been to SoBe 7 times and this was our first time in Z Ocean. Last week of June we stayed in a city view penthouse for 6 days and loved our room, especially the shower was amazing. It was husband's bday and we were sent a bottle of wine with a note, that was a nice touch. Our balcony and rooftop view was spectacular, at night we enjoyed ourselves in our rooftop hot tub overlooking the city !! The staff is very friendly and helpful they always asked us if we needed anything. Our room had a wet bar, as well as an empty mini-refrigerator and also a nespresso machine :) The room was cleaned everyday, towels changed, bed was made etc. We never had a problem about the noise (we had this problem in other sobe hotels before) and slept very well. We enjoyed the pool a lot, chairs are comfortable and plenty of towels and no crazy pool parties here. There was a small bar area next to pool where we were able to watch the world cup game and enjoy a cold drink. Now the best part of this hotel for us was the breakfast and beach chairs. We booked our room with breakfast included and on check-in we found out we could have breakfast as late as we like at the front porch cafe!! We have been to front porch cafe on our previous stays in sobe and loved it and this time we enjoyed ourselves here every morning, they must have the best breakfast in sobe!! Also the bar in the lobby was a very nice place where we enjoyed drinks after breakfast. The beach chairs, towels and umbrella were also included in resort fee and we used them everyday and found the umbrella very helpful. The beach was amazing and the location of this hotel is really great, at the north end of ocean drive (which we walked down to 8th st everyday) and also 2 blocks from walgreens and lincoln road where we did some shopping. We really loved this hotel and we will definitely return. I would like to thank the staff who made our stay special !

Room Tip: Penthouse rooms are excellent, we loved the city view (PH 22)
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mpnyc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Good Afternoon mpnyc08,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean! We are extremely thrilled and proud to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our staff. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the bottle of wine.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Z Ocean is ideally located at the north end of Southbeach. Lincoln, Espanola, Ocean and the beach are only steps away.

The rooms are great and the jacuzzi served as a nice plunge pool in the hot summer air.

The rooms themselves are all the same, which means a well designed suite with much more room than expected in South Beach. They also have very large balconies, some with jacuzzi tubs.

If the rooftop penthouses are available, you can't get much better with a spacious outdoor rooftop with stunning views.

Service was uniformly good including at the pool. The Front Porch Cafe on Ocean, well known for its breakfasts is the in house restaurant, which is a real advantage (lunch at the pool).

Prices in the summer were very reasonable. I am an obsessive researcher when picking a vacation. Z Ocean was a top notch choice!

You can't go wrong with any room class but the views in some are more pedestrian, so upgrade if you can.

We will be back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank BobC-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Good Afternoon BobC-ATL,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel! We are extremely thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! We will be taking your word that you will be returning! Anything you may need, please do not hesitate to contact the manager on duty.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have only been to Miami one other time and didn't stay on South Beach, but my husband has frequented Miami and has always come back home with horror stories of the hotels he's stayed in, but of course he didn't have me planning those trips. So when we decided to go together I took over and researched where to stay and all roads pointed to the Z Ocean. The proximity to the beach was awesome, the rooms looked great, all the reviews were good so I booked it. My husband was tainted by all the bad hotels he's stayed in so when we pulled up he was pleasantly surprised. He loved the lobby, but was waiting to see the room. So we walked into the room and a HUGE smile came across his face! (Score one for the Mrs.) He inspected the room up and down and fell in love. Once he saw the shower he was completely sold! We've been home for two days and he's called our contractor to have him install body sprayers and an overhead rain shower.
I have not one complaint about this hotel. I used the fitness area which served it's purpose just nicely. The pool was nice and not crowded like I imagine most hotel pools to be in Miami. You're far away from the noise and craziness that is South Beach but close enough to be in the thick of it in just a 3-5 minute walk. I will definitely stay here again...just going to make sure I get one of those rooms with the hot tub next time. It was a pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tennille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Good Morning Tennille S,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely thrilled to hear that both your husband and yourself enjoyed the stay and room. Our spa inspired showers are amazing. Hopefully the contractor can make your bathroom the same way! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews