We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better ones in South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #12 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 26, 2008

This was one of the better boutique hotels on South Beach. The location was great at the end of the strip away from all the craziness and loudness. But just a couple blocks away if you wanted to be in that. The beach was across the street. The hotel was really nice and well maintained. The rooms are around 500 sq ft, although they pack it with a ton of furniture (makes it seem smaller with all that furniture) I ended up putting some furniture in the large closet which gave us a lot of room to move around. All rooms have a balcony which is great. Comfy beds and great showers! The only complaint I have is that the manager didn't give us a late check out even though we were willing to pay. There definitely wasn't anyone checking in exactly at 3 and no line. I know this because we stuck around the hotel till our flight at 7pm. We checked in our bags and walked around and came back to the lobby to rest in between. Table 8 restaurant connected to the hotel had great food- watch the servers in the morning-not friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank andcrosscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,542 - 1,548 of 1,934 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stumbled across the De Soleil after booking a downtown hotel and realising that South Beach is most definitely the place to be. What a FIND, great location, on Ocean and Collins ,great hotel & great staff. This is an all suite hotel, they have standard suites which are really well laid out and nicely appointed with balcony, other suites also have the same amenities with a Jacuzzi on the balcony and then there are the rooftop suites which have access to the most lovely private rooftop terraces where you can swan around to your hearts content. Decor is clean modern lines with 2 flat screen TV’s one for the bedroom area and the other for the lounge area, hi-tech sound systems, well equipped mini kitchen again with all modern cons, walk in shower with all sorts of gadgets to send a shower goddess like myself into shower Zanidu. Couple of gripes: Ice machines on each floor would be useful rather than having to call reception and the parking is a bit pricey as you have to pay for the hotels valet parking service (which is standard for SoBe). The hotel is not the cheapest but there are deals to be had and seriously weighing up some of the other options in the vicinity (as we did check quite a few properties) it’s really good value for money. On my next trip to Miami I would not contemplate staying anywhere other than the De Soleil.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NRobLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Stayed for three nights in the Roof Top Terrace suite in September. To be honest with you, when we stayed there it was dead - but we were out of season.

Our terrace overlooked Espanola Way and Collins Avenue, and the view in the evening were really quite spectacular. We specifically asked for this view as some of the rooftops suites appeared to overlook either a car park or the swimming pool. We also figured the photo of the ocean view suite was only possible from one of the suites and the rest must be partial views. To be honest I think the view over Espanola Way was much better than an ocean view because you got a feel for Miami, see the street come alive in the evening and amazing sunsets you can watch form the hot tub!

Beds are incredibly comfortable! Fantastic room facilities – espresso machine makes good coffee in the morning, beautiful monsoon shower (no bath though) and generally very high quality feel to the whole place.

The bar downstairs was shut due to their licence being taken away for being too noisy – but the restaurant bar was open. Bit of a price shocker (we spend $160 on couple of glasses of wine each and a cheeseboard shared between two) – and automatic 18% gratuity added – and neither were worth that much in my honest opinion!

That said you are at the quieter end of Ocean drive, which is nice – (the further down it you go the louder and brighter it gets) and you are a few minutes walk from the beach, again which is nice. The pool is nice – but frankly if you have a hot tub in your roof terrace and the sea a few minutes walk away the pool is a bit boring – and not very sociable (lots of couples keeping themselves to themselves) The pool bar has no set opening times – so it’s a bit hit and miss, but they do a fantastic Thai mint cocktail if they are open! There is a fantastic deli across the road where you can get a huge range of foods, plus a small convenience store – so you can stock up your fridge with cheap food and beer rather than hotels overpriced minibar!

So in summary – it is very nice, very swanky, and having a rooftop terrace is very special – but I do think it was a little overpriced. The service was as expected, but not above and beyond the call of duty. It felt just a tiny bit like a place to be seen rather than a place to go for an amazing trip.

That said, if someone else was picking up the bill – I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sssnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Quite frankly, not worth nearly $600 per night for Penthouse Suite with Jacuzzi. Terrible room condition upon arrival, poor housekeeping, and terrible room service. Jacuzzi was missing drain plug so it wouldn't hold any water, the patio shade was not working and the temperature outside was too hot to enjoy, we had to wait over 40-minutes for ice, the bar refridgerator was not keeping items cool or cold, we were missing remote to work audio with the television, and trash not emptied until the next day was nearly over-flowing in the largest trash can under kitchen sink. Finally, we had to wait over 2.5 hours to get our dinner, and ate at nearly midnight. Food was cold or lukewarm, wrong items ordered or most likely substituted, and substituted red wine that was not worth $60-dollars. We tried to order premium Merlot but were later told that no Merlots or Cabernets were available at all. While trying to voice any concerns and complaints, we were always told that there weren't any Managers available. This seemed odd to us, and no voice mail messages were ever returned to me from the G.M., nor to show any concern or appreciation for our stay as guests and patrons. Therefore, we are not pleased nor impressed and would not refer to anyone. In our opinion, this is not even close to a four star hotel in service and location.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pizanamedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Me and my boyfriend just got back last week from a 7 night stay the The Hotel De Soleil in South Beach. Words cannot even describe how amazing this hotel was! I don't understand how ANYONE could have a bad review about it, but we LOVED it!!! The room was perfect, bed was so comfortable, shower was great, flat screen Tv's wonderful, balcony was soo relaxing! The pool was never busy and has a glass bottom in some parts, which is really cool. Housekeeping was great and came twice a day! Hotel employees were so nice and helpful, gave us clean towels and cold water for the beach everyday! Location is great and is right across the street from the beach! Just a few minutes away from some popular hot spots in South Beach. We stayed 7 nights and didnt even need to rent a car, this location was perfect and walking distance from lots of restaurants!! I did not want to go home, lovedd it there and Hotel De Soleil made our vacation just perfect!! Feel free to contact me if you have any more questions about this hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lvcutie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia0468, Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2009

Thank you for your comments; we appreciate your feedback and are working hard to ensure all our guests have the same experience. We hope you return soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I loved this hotel. It is very centrally located between ocean dr. and collins ave. The ambiance of the the bar and lounge is breathtaking. Even the bathroom is nice!! LOL The rooms are exquisite and I will definitely book a suite with them the next time I am in Miami. The suites are decorated very modern and the bathrooms are so polished. The furniture is very nice as well. The majority of it you can tell is imported because of the quality. The suites have their very own balconies atteached with a tanning and jacuzzi area and the nice thing about the hotel is that if you choose to not have a suite you still get the same quality in the rooms. Because a regular room has everything a suite does minus the private balcony. The staff is very friendly and cooperative despite how busy they are. The manager herself even gave me a personal tour of the suites to show you how much the staff is dedicated. We unknowingly had breakfast with the owner of the hotel and he was equally as kind. We were told that he was the owner after he left by a waiter. We wondered why he asked so many questions about what we thought about the hotel!! Then it made sense. How nice it must have been for him and his wife to know that we were enjoying it thoroughly. You are literally right across the street from the beach and a shopping area as well as many restaurants! Our restaurant of choice was the GrillFish. its located at 1444 Collins Ave. You will not be disappointed. Some of the things are little pricey but if you want to get away from some of the hustle and bustle of Miami then this is the place for you whether if your with friends or a date. I reccomend the clam chowder. It is so thick and richly favored as well as filling. They have homemade pineapple and coconut rum too. Trust me it makes a big difference in your drinks. They are so gooooooooood. Last but not least your only a short taxi ride away from some of the premier nightspots like Mansion, Cameo, and Dream. Stay somewhere else if you want to have a good time in Miami but stay in De Soleil South Beach if you want your time to be GREAT!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlekea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Just a quick note about the hotel...loved the rooms, great beds, has safe and modern coffee machine in rooms. Staff very nice.
Great location (front entrance off Ocean drive/back onto Collins) so within easy walking distance of the 'strip' or Lincoln road ect
Resturant is very good and has several menu's to choose from(bar/pool as well as main resturant) - drinks are great (Mojito's ect but note they are about $14 each so not cheap)
Overall great time - dont be afraid to try this hotel.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Samanabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,609 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#52 of 212 in Miami Beach
6,877 reviews
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,616 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,196 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $245 - $696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing