We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations far from met - read on but....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #12 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Expectations far from met - read on but....”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

OK, after two weeks in USA and our final stop at Z Ocean I was disappointed - we stayed for two nights. Z Ocean certainly has its faults and I find this the hardest review to write since some aspects are great but things let this place down badly.

We arrived in Miami in the worst rain you could possibly have driven in for an hour. Check in was lovely with the provision of a glass of bubbles each and the bellboy took us to our Penthouse suite - PH27. The suite itself is lovely. We had parked our car in valet parking (watch out for the very high prices).

We booked this hotel due to the rooftop terrace and partial sea view but in particular our own Jacuzzi. We were looking forward to using these facilities but was disappointed that due to the weather they had not been set up.

We needed our wifi urgently to postpone the thriller trip that we had booked on (due to the weather) but our connection did not work. After an hour of waiting following our call to reception we went downstairs to a "ooo didn't anyone come". New codes were given.

We then called reception later to fill our jacuzzi and sure enough about an hour later they had filled in (about 50% full) - I then just filled in up more myself. After a very stressful day I was heartbroken when we went up and on closer inspection found that some of the jets on the jacuzzi did not work and the whole terrace was shabby with weeds growing between the tiles, the sunbed was wickerwork which was unravelling and sodden from the rain, there were sun bed cushions which had bird pooh on them, the iPod docking station did not work, the fridge wanted throwing away, the curtain was useless and the electric sun shade did not work. The partial sea view really is partial, stand on a step, look around your neighbour wall and you can see the sea in about 20% of your view. Your terrace is very overlooked, as is everyone due to the layout - put it this way each time you climb the steps at least three rooms will say hello to you.

For a $400 per night stay I expected luxury and got OK. I picked myself up and we went out for a meal locally and later on went back to the hotel bar - there was no atmosphere (2 people in there) so we went to our room and had a coffee from the cool Nespresso machine. The instructions were for another machine and it took a few capsules to get it to work. There were 2 milk pots but 8 coffee capsules so we used both of these.

The next morning we went to use our Jacuzzi to discover it had been emptied - I really do not understand the policy of emptying but not refilling when I had asked for it to be filled the day before. Since they say it takes 40 minutes to fill and warm this is so annoying. We spent a lovely day in SoBE and got back to change for our evening meal to discover our room had been part serviced. Things such as the milk had not been replaced - why?!?!?

We used our Jacuzzi once since again on our final morning the Jacuzzi was drained and we had to check out. On check out we were not asked about our stay and we waited over 30 minutes to get our car from Valet since they were too busy rushing around after a family with bag after bag and kids. Once our car came they man handled our luggage when I was trying to stop them since we had a procedure to load our car so our luggage fitted.

The location is great, the opportunity this hotel has is amazing and from reviews it would seem that some peoples experience is amazing and some people really get the rough end of the deal. I was one of them and as a result I would not recommend since you arrive with such high expectations and leave under whelmed. This was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on our 18 night trip and when I leave better reviews for a $100 per night Hilton it says a lot.

Reading other negative comments I am sure the hotel will write that a Director of something will look into my feedback and it is all very important to them but I have to say it doesn't change how disappointed I feel because of my stay does it?

With Regrets :0(

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda78LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Good Afternoon Linda78LL,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your past stay with us here at the Z Ocean Hotel. We are saddened to hear that your expectations were far from met. We are known for great service and satisfaction. We are disappointed that you were not able to experience that. Your comments and feedback will be looked into and passed along to the appropriate departments. Please contact me directly at elen.terzis@ihg.com if you would like to discuss the matter further. We hope you return in the future so that you can experience the hotel the right way! I look forward to a response.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    436
    114
    48
    49
See reviews for
344
1,031
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the end of our fly drive holiday at this chic city hotel. Our check in was fabulous with valet parking and Dennis on reception was charming offering champagne and all the info we needed. A bellboy took us to our penthouse suite which was very well appointed. The bed and the bathroom were very luxurious.
We booked the penthouse suite because it has a rooftop terrace with a jacuzzi and sunbeds. We were looking forward to using these facilities to the full. We were so disappointed that some of the jets on the jacuzzi did not work and the whole terrace was shabby with weeds growing between the tiles, the sunbed was wickerwork which was unravelling, there were sun bed cushions which had bird pooh on them, the iPod docking station did not work and the electric sun shade did not work. We thought this hotel was expensive to be second rate like this. The bar closed very early but the location of this hotel is very good with a 24hr diner opposite and a 2 minute walk and you are on South beach.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank rosecottage528764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Good Afternoon rosecottage528764,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay from the Z Ocean Hotel. Z Ocean Hotel is known to provide great service and a great product. We are saddened to hear that there was some bad with your stay. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously and it has been shared with our General Manager and Director of Engineering in order to improve future stays. Anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at elen.terzis@ihg.com. It would be my pleasure to assist you.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We stayed here in March for 2 nights. I was with my family (wife and 2 young children) and another couple. We have stayed before at the Hilton Bentley and the Marriott south of 5th street, plus the downtown Doubletree. Our impression of the hotel staff has been not very positive. We decided to try somewhere different, and it was wonderful. As our cab pulled up we were greeted by a fantastic gentleman who took our bags and showed us to the reception area. I wish I could remember his name as he deserves a special mention, and definitely went beyond what a normal doorman would do just to get his tip. The receptionists were equally pleasant and helpful. As we were too early to check in, they stored our bags for us while we went for lunch. The reception staff were always very helpful with any request we had. And, most importantly, unlike our previous experiences they were friendly and pleasant.
I booked the room online but was unable to book for 4 guests (2 adults, 2 children). When I called the hotel directly, they said to just book for 3. I guess the occupancy is limited by fire regulations but it was fine to have the 4 of us in there. It was a well laid out room with a very comfortable bed and the best sofa bed we have ever had. It pulls out completely flat, not like a normal pull-out with a flimsy mattress which bends on the edges. It had a great shower, a Nespresso machine, microwave and dishes.
We knew we were booking a non-ocean front hotel and weren't put off by the lack of a view. Yes, we were overlooking a vacant lot but we did have a huge balcony. Our only complaint is the balcony. There is no privacy from your neighbours. The balconies are separated by a railing with no screen whatsoever. It makes for a funny combination when you have a family with 2 young girls wanting to sit outside next to a room of 4 college students drinking before their night out.
Our friends stayed in one of the penthouses. The rooftop patio, with hot tub, is quite amazing, if you wish to spend a lot of time in your room. Their is a partial view of the ocean.
The hotel is close to all the action. It's a short walk across the street to the beach where you get loungers and towels included. For evenings it's an easy walk to restaurants and Lincoln road Mall. There is also a Thrifty car rental across the street.
The only slight negative was the rudeness we unfortunately experienced at the hands of who we believe to be either a security staff member or a housekeeping supervisor. This tarnished our stay and was completely unlike any of our experiences with any of the other staff. The front desk manager and, later, customer service made amends for this incident.
I would recommend this great Hotel for anybody who doesn't need to be right on the beach. The staff will make sure you have a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gshaw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good Morning gshaw81,

We are extremely proud and thrilled to hear that you believe we have the best hotel staff in Miami. We try hard to go above and beyond for every guest. We are glad that the hotel staff was able to assist you every time in a pleasant manner. We are known to provide excellent service. Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for us. Hopefully we see you in the future to create more memories together.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a sexy SOBE vibe, but is predictable in terms of the excellent customer service and accommodations. The property is well maintained and clean while being an IHG Crowne Plaza location. I have been there 4+ stays and all of the different rooms I have been in are spacious with great amenities. One should not miss the onsite bar which has a stellar staff mixing familiar and inventive cocktails (don't miss Happy Hour). Also, don't overlook Front Beach Cafe (separate review) as the food quality, wine selection and service is stellar. The hotel also offers beach chairs, etc. as part of the experience. In summary, great location, great staff and no 'boutique' attitude that you might find at other nearby properties.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesRoadWarrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Good Morning LosAngelesRoadWarrio,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review the the Z Ocean Hotel. We are extremely thrilled you enjoyed our excellent customer service and accommodations. Happy Hour at the onsite bar is a hit! Hopefully we will see you soon to enjoy another happy hour!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is perfectly located near all the clubs, bars, restaurants and the beach is literally on your doorstep. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were treated like celebs from the moment we walked through the door. Really really clean, spacious rooms, good housekeeping and nice restaurant too! Hot tubs were great-and were set up whenever you like. Good facilities in the rooms too, and on the beach they set up sunbeds everyday for you. The hotel concierge Mickey is really helpful so speak to him about nights out! Its a nice calm hotel in the madness of south beach. Overall would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveLaughTravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good Morning Resh92,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for the Z Ocean! We are extremely thrilled to hear that you had an amazing girls holiday. The Z Ocean is perfectly located as you stated and the rooms are amazing. Hopefully we will see you soon to enjoy another girls holiday.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Z ocean for 3 nights for our anniversary. We have been going to south beach for years and this was by far our best stay, property wise. Z ocean hotel is the perfect combination of a high class luxury hotel while still maintaining a smaller boutique feel. The entire staff was extremely friendly and made us feel welcome at all times. The roof top terrace was incredible. We had so much fun within our room and terrace that we spent most of our time at the hotel. The hotel also offers complimentary beach chairs and umbrellas. For new comers to south beach, Z ocean hotel is in a perfect location, on ocean drive and in the middle of Espanola Way and Lincoln road two great locations for lunch and dinner. We've stayed at nearly all the surrounding worth while hotels and Z ocean has been our favorite by far.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexceglarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good Morning alexceglarz,

We can't wait to have you back!! Thank you for such an amazing review. We are so happy to know that we were able to make this stay memorable for your anniversary. Anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact a Manager on Duty at anytime.

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This hotel is one of my favorite hotels in Miami Beach. It is a smaller botique hotel with great location on Ocean drive close to the beach. The suites are clean, spacious and contemporary with very comfortable beds. There is even a nespresso macchine in the suites and all rooms have balcony. The staff are among the most friendly and service minded you can meet. You find a bar by the small and quiet pool. I REALLY reccomend this hotel if you want a smaller and more quiet one, not at all like the bigger resorts with crowded pool areas. Can't wait to stay at Z Ocean again! Oh, the restaurant, Front Porch Cafe, has the best breakfast in Miami Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Good Morning Daniel1976,

We are extremely thrilled to hear that the Z Ocean is one of your favorite hotels in south beach! Our staff is known to provide friendly and efficient service and we would like to thank you for recognizing that. We can't wait to see you back at the Z Ocean to create more memories!

Warm Regards,
Elen Terzis
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,861 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,480 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#63 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,395 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#23 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,746 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#3 of 208 in Miami Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing