We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #11 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My fiancé and I stayed at the Z Ocean Hotel for 4 nights Fri 03-21 to 03-24...we had never stayed here before but as a IHG platinum member I wanted to give it a try. We had a partial ocean rooftop suite and it was absolutely fantastic! Your own patio off the bedroom and a spiral staircase to a spacious rooftop area with a hot tub and sun beds overlooking the ocean and city-the most unique hotel room we have ever stayed at and we have stayed at some very nice ones. In addition to the room the entire staff was friendly every day and greeted you with a warm smile and friendly hello. The Front Porch Cafe was very nice and convenient...very good food...great happy hour with drink specials and half priced appetizers. They close around 11pm but if you want to grab a drink there are numerous places within a short walk if you want to head out or go up and enjoy a drink in your room. We walked the beach a lot and checked the other hotels down the beach and we were so glad that we picked the Z Ocean Hotel-we thought it was by far the nicest hotel with the best location. When we come back to South Beach we will stay here again without question!

Room Tip: Choose the rooftop suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good Afternoon Mark H,

We are extremely thrilled to hear that your fiance and yourself considered the Z Ocean Hotel as a "Great Hotel". First , thank you for taking the time to write a review on your past stay with us. Second, thank you for being such a loyal IHG Platinum Rewards Member. We are glad you enjoyed our best seller room the partial ocean view rooftop room. Hopefully when you do return to South Beach we are going to be your number one choice! Please be assured that your review will be shared with the entire staff. Anything we can assist you with in the future, please do not hesitate to contact a representative of the Z Ocean Hotel! Welcome to the Z Ocean family!

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    438
    114
    48
    49
See reviews for
346
1,034
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Cool little boutique hotel right in the middle of all the South Beach drama.
But you would never know it if you just wanted to hang out in your cozy King bed or sit out on the Lanai and take a quick dip in the pool a few steps away.
Kudos to whoever designed the walls.
Aside from a few doors closing about the only thing I ever heard was one screaming pi**ed off little infant who wanted his breakfast ... NOW. As you know the little ones can approach decibel levels on par with your average jetliner when motivated lol. Aside from that blissful peace and quiet.
Even had a party going in the room next door most of one night. Barely even heard the base from the stereo.
And when you're ready to plunge into the mad circus that is South Beach it is literally steps outside your door.
What's not to like ?
... well the minibar is very well stocked with enough alcoholic beverages to stage your very own "club nite" but it could benefit from a few Diet Cokes for the sundrenched beachgoer to come home to .... and puh-leeze make sure you keep ahead on restocking those made for midnight snacking Peanut M&M's
I'll be back to check ... thank uuuuu ....... ;)

Room Tip: Lanai suite. Check in to your room and be at the pool in five minutes flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Good Afternoon Michael C,

We would like to thank you for writing such a wonderful review for us! We truly do hope that you return to see if the minibar is stocked to your liking! Hopefully next time there will not be a screaming little infant. We are glad you enjoyed your King Suite room and the pool. Welcome to the Z Ocean Family. Anything we can assist you with, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Staff is very friendly and helpful. Concierge was great, he made tour and dining reservations for us. Hallways were freezing. Rooms are spacious & clean. Very close to the beach where lounge chairs & towels are available for hotel guests. Starbucks across the street, shopping & dining are walking distance. The only drawback was the noise on Ocean Blvd at night.

Room Tip: Rooms on Ocean Street are noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Good Morning Catherine C,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us here at the Z Ocean Hotel. We are delighted that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The Z Ocean is ideally located with the beach being very close as well as dining options. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here a few times either for several nights or as in this case just passing through.

This hotel always manages to excel. The rooms are slick, full of style and class and the small size of the hotel means privacy and none of the noise and distractions can pierce the calm of the poolside.

The restaurant is so good that the concierge in another hotel we stayed at actually recommended it for breakfast over his own establishment! Lunches and dinners are simple and well made with nice flavours.

We will be back without a doubt. Top notch and we love the attention to detail like a suite with a Jacuzzi on the balcony. Truly this place made us feel special.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveller921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Good Morning FrequentTraveller921,

We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Z Ocean. Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant and room. We take your word on it that you will be back. We would love to see you back at the Z Ocean Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Nice staff, great location but food at front porch was average and service was ok. Hallways are super cold and very noise by guest and staff stayed in PH16, all I heard was talking and doors slamming all nite! Not a very clean hotel at all. Shower pressure weak and the little conditioner and body lotion look the same in the little bottles. They are very hard to open too. Seen better and stayed better, will never go back. I about laugh when they served me champagne in little plastic champagne style cup when I arrived , can't serve in glass? Paid $700 a night, should been more like $299. Save you $ and go to a real true hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Good Afternoon Flyboy47,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Z Ocean Hotel. We appreciate any comments and feedback. Your comments will allow us to review potential issues as the noise levels on the floors and the slamming of the doors. Your feedback is extremely important in order for us to rectify issues or guest areas of concern and to improve. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are known to provide excellent service with memorable stays and we are truly saddened you were not able to experience that. Hopefully you will change your mind and decide to stay with us in the future. If you do, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at elen.terzis@ihg.com to ensure a memorable stay!

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Wow! Our entire experience from beginning to end was just wonderful! From the Valet parking to Ellen's friendly and cheerful welcome at the front desk! We were made to feel very special! The room was beautifully appointed and large! Our personal hot tub on our large balconey was great! Just steps away from the beach and the cool vibe of South Beach is right outside the doors! Highly recommend this gem!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nlmbrh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Good Morning nlmbrh,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for the Z Ocean Hotel! We are extremely thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and consider the Z Ocean a "Gem". Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the staff. Hopefully we see you in the future here at the Z Ocean. Welcome to the family! We would love to provide you with another "Simply Awesome" stay.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here using my wife's IHG loyalty points, and it was a good choice. Location was on Collins Avenue, and very near to the beach and Ocean Drive, so right in the heart of the action. We were upgraded to a pool suite, where our room opened straight onto the pool area, which was great, and the suite itself was very well appointed and luxurious. I felt the room layout could have been improved upon, but other than that, no complaints. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the pool area, whilst small, never felt overcrowded. Good lobby area, and excellent service from all the staff and especially the concierge, but helped us out a number of times. Would recommend the hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Use the concierge service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobBos772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZFOM, Front Office Manager at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Good Morning RobBos772,

We are extremely happy you used your wife's points to stay at the Z Ocean Hotel. Thank you for being such a loyal IHG Rewards member! The pool lanai room is an excellent suite and we are thrilled you loved the upgrade. Hopefully we see you at the Z Ocean in the future so you can enjoy the wonderful service and hotel. Thank you for taking the time to write such an amazing review for us.

Warm Regards,
Z Ocean Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,540 reviews
The Confidante
#31 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,014 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,554 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing