We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“My favorite hotel on South Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Ranked #8 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My favorite hotel on South Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I just returned to Milwaukee after my third December trip to the Z-Ocean Hotel in Miami Beach. I am so comfortable here, I can't imagine even trying anywhere else. The rooms are very comfortable, I always get a great balcony with a view of the pool. The showers are in a league of their own! Each visit I have had a room with a wet bar, espresso maker, micro, fridge and so on. The Front Porch Cafe serves meals all day long, with a separate dinner menu. There is-- really-- an open-air front porch under huge umbrellas, or you can eat inside.

You're just a block's walk to the beach, which walk takes you past the Starbucks and through lovely Lummus Park. The beach crew attends to your every need with a smile-- chairs, towels, big umbrellas, and so on. Joggers will love this set-up!

Most anything you need or want is within a few blocks walking distance of the Z-Ocean Hotel: groceries, liquor, the NY TImes, other supplies and the fabulous Lincoln Road Pedestrian Mall with more restaurants and shops than you can visit in a week. Whole Foods Market is about ten blocks away. There are rental bikes all OVER the place. If it sounds like you, visit the Pizza Bar as you walk to Lincoln Road and get the biggest slice I've ever seen, and it's good pizza, too!

I don't want for anything when I stay at the Z-Ocean Hotel (if I did, the staff would see that I got it) and I'll be the guy there for 5-7 days again NEXT December for the fourth time, with the big smile on his face.

I

Room Tip: I've never had a room on the north side, but from outside it looks like those rooms overlook an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Keith,

Hello there, so nice to hear about your stay to the Z Ocean. Sorry for the delay in responding... but are delighted that your stay with us was memorable.

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Frank Fuentes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,183
    416
    109
    44
    48
See reviews for
328
976
51
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed one night on points while visiting the Miami area and have to say this hotel was a pleasant surprise. The hotel main entrance (including the garage) is on Collins Av. but the building has also another (nicer) entrance on Ocean drive. This is right at the end (or the beginning) of Ocean drive, in a quieter area but close to the action and adjacent to the Betsy. As an IHG's Priority Club elite, received free internet (on all our devices) and had not to pay the resort fee. Also, as we were celebrating , the hotel upgraded us to a nice corner room , facing Ocean drive and sent a bottle of rather good white wine and a nice card. All room are suites with a kitchenette . Our suite was large while not huge, with a large bathroom and a nice terrace with table, 2 chairs and 2 sun beds, There is a small but nice swimming pool on the inside of the Hotel. There is a restaurant which we used for an happy hour drink (average) and a fish taco appetizer (rather good) but not for dinner nor breakfast. The hotel is "technically" a Crown Plaza but it has all a different - far better - character while offering all comforts. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for room on Ocean Drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pascucp2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Pascucp2012,

Thank you for your comments on your recent visit to the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach and thank you for being a loyal Priority Club member.

Very happy to read of your wonderful stay during your brief visit with us. We are the only hotel tp span both Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue making our hotel very accessible to the area.

We have been a proud member of IHG for the past three plus years and your correct on not being branded a Crowne Plaza on property level we like to maintain a more boutique luxury hotel atmosphere for our guests to enjoy but yet still provide our Priority Club members all the perks (and sometimes more) of the program.

Thanks again for visiting with us, hope to see you back here soon.

All the best,


Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I liked the fact that all of the rooms were suites so each has a large outdoor terrace and its only a block to the beach plus its right in the middle of all of the action in terms of restaurants and bars. I did initially think the hotel was right on the beach so I was a little surprised to find it was not, but it was only across the street...that being said there is about a $15 a day resort fee which goes to umbrellas / chairs for the beach. I was on business so could not use that service so I think its unfair to have everyone subsidize this fee for all guests when many may not use it. I could maybe see how it might be different if the hotel was actually on the beach, but it is not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Garth,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also for being a Priority Club member. I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected. All comments and reviews are taken seriously. As you stated we are not directly on the Ocean but as all hotels on Ocean Drive just a few steps from the white sandy beach.

The resort fee you mentioned is indeed charged to all guests staying at the Z Ocean (as is the norm with most hotels on South Beach) and do include everything you stated beach chairs, umbrellas and towels but also include complimentary wireless in public areas of hotel, nightly turn-down amenity, daily newspaper, complimentary bottled water daily, Nespresso coffee makers, use of fitness center and welcome drink we also have dedicated staff in both our pool and beach areas that are exclusively there to provide you a more personalized service.

If you still feel you were charged a resort fee unfairly please feel free to contact me directly frank.fuentes@ihg.com to discuss further.

Have a great holiday season and looking forward to welcoming you back in 2013.

Take care,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights on points as a pre-holidays getaway. For being a PCR Member, got free wireless internet. The hotel has a bar downstairs and great lounge area, concierge and a restaurant that has great food and excellent service. The front desk people called us a cab right away when we needed it. The rooms had a great rain shower, the bed was big and comfy, the maid service was accommodating, and the location was great, within a short walk to everything on the beach, but not too loud or cramped. Would definately stay here again - though not sure if I would have paid the full price, didn't even look at the price since I was staying on points. Recommend getting a room with a balcony on the second floor that walks out to the pool, its great to open your window and walk literally ten feet to sun poolside. They have a bar on the pool too, and a hot tub.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Michael,

I am so glad to hear that you had the Zexperience during your recent stay at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. We also want to thank you for being a loyal Priority Club member and that you chose us to redeem your points with destinations like Paris, Buenos Aires, Fiji and Shanghai (to name a few) South Beach is honored to be your first location.

I am glad you enjoyed your Pool Lanai Suite and like you mentioned the pool is literally 10 feet from your sliding glass door perfect for midnight dips!

If you find yourself back in South Beach any time soon please feel free to call upon me personally so I may assist you with another great stay in sunny Miami Beach.

Have a happy holiday season and stay safe.

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Z Ocean for 7 nights and for 6 days were totally impressed, however after returning to our room on the penultimate day of our stay we discovered that my mobile phone had gone missing. Initially this was not taken seriously by security and we did feel very aggrieved. However after providing a receipt for a replacement the Hotel very quickly credited the amount to my account. If you do intend to stay please ensure that everything is locked away securely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Dmaw,

Please accept my sincere apologies once again for your phone and I am glad that our resolution was to your satisfaction. We do take great concern for our guests safety and personal belongings during their visit to the Z Ocean.

I was glad to read that this incident did not ruin your trip to South Beach and that you had a fantastic time during your visit. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations and I'm grateful you took the time to provide us with feedback. Thank you!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy holidays,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for my birthday and we were in a penthouse suite.

The staff is so friendly and helpful. Kristen even put together an envelope of free drink passes for different night clubs since the concierge desk was closed. The restaurant in the lobby has amazing brunch!!! The food was fantastic.

We called downstairs a few times to ask for things like towels. They came up to the room within ten minutes.

This is now our favorite hotel and we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Erin,

Amazing feedback!!! Thank you!!

Please feel free to reach out to me the next time you are in South Beach if I can assist with reservations or any more passes to the clubs. P.S. Kristen says hello....

Have a great holiday season.

Take care,

Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Uruguay
Level Contributor
261 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Just before our cruise on the Norwegian Epic, we had a complimentary night stay at the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach as part of our cruise package. This hotel was great! The valet, front desk staff, and concierge were all very courteous, friendly, and professional. The room was a South Beach King Suite which was large (about 500 square feet), with dual vanities, wet bar, Nepresso coffee machine, living area, comfortable King bed, expansive balcony with loung chairs and pool and ocean views, ...the list goes on. The decor is modern and chic. Somehow part of the lobby is below the swimming pool (not sure what is holding up the pool) but it is cool. There are "skylights" so to speak in the ceiling looking into the bottom of the pool. Very cool. The Front Porch restaurant is very nice with a relaxing pace. The location is steps away from the action on South Beach, but just in the right location that you can get away from the craziness if you'd like. The other nice thing is that you can use frequent traveler points here if you are in the Priority Club program (Crown Plaza, Intercontinental, Holiday Inn, etc). We will definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to others. Thank you Z hotel for a wonderful relaxing pre-cruise experience.

Room Tip: I think all rooms must be great! I think we got the standard suite (see above) and it was fabulous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckckckckckck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoceansales, Director of Sales at Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear CK,

Awesome! Thank you so much for your glowing review and great comments about our hotel and our staff and the Front Porch Cafe! Although a brief visit you seemed to have truly grasp everything we strive for here at the Z Ocean.

We are so happy that we were able to make your one night special and you had a stay full of great memories. Thank you for choosing the Z Ocean Hotel South Beach, and thank you for being a loyal Priority Club member.

We hope to see you for many more visits in the future!

Sincerely yours,



Frank Fuentes
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#6 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,183 reviews
The Confidante
#22 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#27 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Ocean Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Ocean Hotel South Beach

Property: Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Address: 1437 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#7 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Z Ocean Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience true luxury at our Miami Beach resort, Z Ocean Hotel South Beach. Offering much more than other suite resorts in Miami Beach, Florida, Z Ocean Hotel is ideal for your escape to SoBe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Z Ocean Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Miami Beach
Miami Beach Crowne Plaza
De Soleil South Beach
Vincci South Beach
Regent South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing