We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at The Strand Ocean Drive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Ranked #140 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cape Cod
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great time at The Strand Ocean Drive”
Reviewed August 9, 2007

We had a great stay at the Strand. Robin at the front desk really made a difference by putting us in a quiet room after our request for that. Lots of modern amenities. A modern dishwasher, toaster, coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, and 2 burner stove.Wild Oats is just down the street. You can walk there and take a 5 dollar cab ride back if need be. The tub was deep and European. It had a handheld shower as well as one from above the tub. Then you can wrap yourself up with one of their comfortable robes. The bed was a modern platform bed that is low to the ground and very comfortable. The staff were polite and attentive. The pool on the top floor was magnificent with its beautiful view of the ocean and rooftops of some art deco buildings. There were green apples in a bowl at the front desk. Armando the manager was very approachable and we could tell he really cares about the hotel. It definately felt like a boutique hotel because anytime we needed anything it was brought up promptly. We were told that eventually there will be a bar on the floor below the pool. It will have couches and will lead up to the pool. We even had reserved umbrellas and lounge chairs on the beach waiting for us. I would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — The pool on the roofdeck
  • Disliked — construction nearby
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    381
    196
    147
    134
See reviews for
175
500
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2007

You couldn't ask for more! Excited and friendly staff, more than willing to help with ideas/maps/suggestions to make your South Beach stay memorable! Excellent beach located right across the street with crystal clear blue water&comfy beach chairs. Welcomed w/perrier and snacks to European style room...duvet, 300 thread count sheets and stylish, well stocked kitchenette. Can't understand any negative comments from people unless they came to South Beach with a negative attitude! Enjoy the diversity,avoid the "typical" fare of food right out your door and explore the ends of South Beach where gourmet treasures abound!

  • Liked — high quality and unique bed/bath/kitchen
  • Disliked — expensive valet parking
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2007

My friends and I headed to South Beach for my good friend's bachelorette weekend July 26-29, 07. We wanted this to be a wonderful time for her. Instead, when we first checked in, the elevators were not working, so we had to carry our bags up 5 flights of stairs. Then we were woken up at 7:30am on our first morning b/c our beds were shaking due to a jack hammer outside our room! (no i am not making this up apparently they put us next to a building with LOUD construction, even though there were other rooms available) To top it off, that evening, upon returning to the beach, we found that the maid had taken all of our towels and not replenished them. at 4pm I called stating that we needed towels in order to shower to go out for the evening....by 8:30pm still NO towels. they said they "ran out" and were washing them.. I had to find my dirty beach towel to use! (and this is supposed to a nice hotel?!?) Finally, on every 4th time we used our keys to get in to the room they would stop working, so we had to make at least 10 trips to the front desk asking for our keys to get reset. While the location is prime, the experience was worse than a motel 8. the only consulation was that after all of my complaints, i did finally receive a modest discount.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valrain79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We stayed for a long weekend in July and were wonderfully surprised by the accommodations and staff at the Strand. Like most others, we too were upgraded to a full one-bedroom suite. Besides a few marks on the sofa, all the furniture was in great shape and the there were no stains on the carpets like others have complained about. I did notice the carpet in the hallway was a bit worn but we were told by the staff that they are renovating the common areas.

Being my birthday, I was treated to a beautiful arrangement of frozen drinks and balloons in the room upon arrival. Betty, the Desires Club manager could not have been nicer if she tried and I will always remember her dazzling smile. She remembered our names each time we entered or exited the lobby and even printed out some info on what she thought we might enjoy while in South Beach. What a true professional.

And as for the location, you are right in the middle of everything with a view of the beach across the street. Who could ask for more?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needed stronger AC for July
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank desertduo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW JERSEY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2007

If you want to experience heaven on earth in South Beach and crave a tranquil atmosphere with a glamorous vibe,The STRAND OCEAN DRIVE Hotel is the place to be!

The hypnotic mango aroma in the air welcomed me from the moment i walked in the lobby letting me know this hot spot had more in store.

The staff was personable and professional going above and beyond to make sure my stay would be UNFORGETTABLE!

BETTY, GEORGE, JULIO, ERNESTO, JOSE, ROBIN, AND ELOY Thank you from the bottom of my heart for making me feel so special.

The Strand has 4 uniquely designed buildings. The Retro, Contemporary, Deco, and Tropical will accommodate any desire. I chose the Retro and fell in love with its sophisticated loft style.

The views from the rooftop pool were breathtaking. I could not resist getting up at 6:45 am in the morning to take pictures of the beautiful beach and sunrise :-)

The location on 11TH & OCEAN was priceless! The Strand is seconds away from the beach, restaurants, and all the hot nightclubs. There is also an onsite gym.

The Strand definately satisfied all of my expectations and is now officially my new home when i come to the MIA...

THERE IS NO PLACE ID RATHER BE!

XOXOXO

  • Liked — THE OCEAN VIEW W/ BALCONY, THE SOPHISTICATED ROOMS, and THE ROOFTOP POOL MAKES THE STRAND *****5 AND BEYOND! ! !
  • Disliked — I WOULDNT CHANGE A THING!
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MOCHALICIOUS117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2007

One of the greatest places (Hotels) I have ever stayed in. A very cool chic/boutique Hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. A down side to our trip was the cost of valet service, however the valet company provides service to many of the hotels on the beach as there is limited parking. The service was well worth it though as you could come and go as often as you wanted with use of a valet service. The is NO on-site parking as with most of the hotels there.

The rooms were beautiful. Small but VERY modern, clean and quiet. The Hotel had some really great amenities and services available. We have stayed in many different hotels, but the strand was really the MOST comforting. The location was also incredible...smack dab in the middle of Ocean Drive. Perfect location to enjoy the night life as well! The rooftop pool with the ocean view was also a nice treat.

  • Liked — Services/Amenities
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank prodsecman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

All I can say is Perfection! I recently stayed at The Strand and was going to have my wedding ceremony on the rooftop poolside but due to last minute rain it had to be moved to another location.

We booked all of our wedding guests at The Strand (40 +) and each and everyone LOVED IT! The level of service is spectacular, truly five star. I cannot rave about Betty Ruiz & Laurie Hinshelwood enough. Betty is the manager of desires (perfect title) and Laurie is in charge of reservation. They truly went above and beyond from beginning to end!

The location is one that cannot be beat; it has direct access to the beach and is located on the end of ocean drive where most of the popular eateries and shops are located within walking distance.

I do agree with some of the reviews posted here about a few minor carpet stains and what not, but if you have been to South Beach, you can expect this in the majority of the hotels as SOBE is a hot college spot. There is not one hotel in SOBE that has not been "fraternized" one way or another.

The rooms are big and the kitchenette came in handy for those guests who were traveling with children.

All in all a perfect staff who helped create our perfect wedding day who gave all of our guest’s perfect service all in a perfect setting!

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#108 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#41 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Victor
Hotel Victor
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#78 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites at Congress Ocean Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Congress Ocean Drive

Property: Suites at Congress Ocean Drive
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Congress Hotel South Beach/The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suites at Congress Ocean Drive 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Suites at Congress Ocean Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing