We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #111 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

After reviewing different hotels, we decided to stay at the Congress Hotel. It's close to all the action of South Beach. If you don't like excitement, stay further north. This is exactly where we wanted to be (walking distance to Mangos, Wet Willies, Beach, Bike and Roll place on 10th, and so much more).
We stayed in room C503. It was similar to the pictures online. The room had a small kitchen area, connected to the living area, a separate bedroom, bathroom (with nice tub/shower combo), and a balcony. It wasn't on the beach side, however, you could see the beach (side view). We were by the ac units, but it wasn't loud. Housekeeping did have to give us new sheets/cover for the futon. I think they forgot to change that out. They also gave us plenty of towels/washcloths upon request.
The roof top pool was small and area was small, but it seemed relaxing. We didn't use it (just took pics). There's only one elevator and it's not real big, but I think it's normal size.

When we arrive, this younger lady assisted with check in. She didn't want to let us check in early. She messed up our payment and basically pissed me off. So, I asked the other lady to help us. Her name is Stephani. She was very accommodating. She let us check in almost 3 hrs. early (other girl said nothing was available and there was nothing she could do, but take our bags). Stephani also let us stay 2 hours after checkout (waiving the $50 fee for late checkout). She fixed our bill and was just plan friendly. If you go here, look for her name tag.

Lastly, it costs $25 to park, daily. Make sure you get the parking ticket, from the parking people behind the Congress. Weekend parking is like $ 50 daily. It was worth it. Valet is $35 daily plus tax. When you ride around, parking is like $10. So, you're going to pay to park.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here. I gave it 4 stars because of Stephani, the room, and it's SOUTH BEACH. It lost a star because of the young hotel check in girl, having to get new sheets, and lighting in the room (needs more).

Room Tip: Stay in Main Building (Contemporary).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yesitsme d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you so much! We are happy to hear you enjoyed yourself and all of the wonderful things to do around our hotel! We hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    374
    186
    142
    110
See reviews for
159
486
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

First time in Miami half business/ half vacation by myself. I was blown away by how nice and helpful the staff was! In particular, Louis gave great recommendations and always made sure everything was handled professionally and efficiently.

Thank you so much for an awesome experience!! I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Request a fan to drown out restaurant noise from Ocean Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PuraVidaGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review! We appreciate everything you said and are very pleased to hear you had a great experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Me and my boyfriend live in berlin and this was our sencond trip to miami. But the congress hotel is so much better then our last hotel! The service is really good and the bellmen are all so friendly! Louis was there on our first day and he help us with our bags and then everytime we needed a taxi he called one for us. :)
we really really like the hotel and enjoy our vacation a lot!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berliiin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much! We appreciate you taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are very pleased to hear you had a great experience and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
406 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent 1 night at the end of April that we had purchased via Priceline. We stayed here for a cruise out of Miami the next day. We love South Beach and visit each year. This hotel has a great location and the room was nice size and well appointed. However, the sleep quality was not good due to inadequate light control on the windows and noise (we had requested a quiet room).

Room Tip: Avoid room at back. It had windows on 2 walls that let in a lot of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UKgrandej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us. Miami is a lively city, so we apologize about your sleep quality. We appreciate everything you said and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

We stayed at the congress hotel for two weeks and we liked it a lot! The pool was great and the beach is really close!
Louis the bellman was really friendly and help us with everything we needet. It was our first time in miami and he show us a lot of places were we can go, i wish more bellmen would be like him!
I'll stay there again for sure!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyyy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We love hearing the great experiences our guests' have and we appreciate you taking the time to write yours! We look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

We LOVEEE the CONGRESS HOTEL . Perfect place to stay . They are the most perfect people Ralph and Johnthan helped me and my three friends from the moment we stepped out the cab. They went over and beyond just to make sure we where happy. The hotel is very nice with a roof top pool . The pool always had great events .If you want to have fun and save money stay here .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayoung211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate everything you said and we are so happy that you had a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandywine, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I surprised my boyfriend with a trip to Miami for his birthday. We both had been plenty of times, but had never stayed on Ocean Drive. As I researched hotels, Congress was the best priced and seemed to have everything we were looking for. When we arrived, we were greated with Sangria's and friendly staff. Our room was in the building across from the main building and one of the bell guys walked us to our room and helped us get settled. I always read reviews before I go anywhere but sometimes they still dont give you the full picture of what the hotel is. I will tell you when we walked into the room we were highly surprised and pleased. It actually looked how it looked on the hotel's website! Nice and clean and spacious. No matter where I'm staying I always need a clean room! Not a place to just lay my head kind of room.

When you check in they give you tickets for free happy for guest each day you stay from 4pm - 5pm. This was the best deal ever. And it's on the rooftop with a pool, lounge chairs, bar stools and tables. Everyday was a good time at this happy hour!

Eventhough the hotel sits right next to the Clevelander and they party all night, the balcony door is very sound proof. Unless you open your door, you cannot really hear anything that is going on outside.

If you want a good time and a clean place to stay on Ocean Drive I would recommend this place. Everytime I go back, I will be staying here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdcutie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiselleGarmendia, Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate everything you mentioned and we are pleased to hear you and your boyfriend had a great time! We look forward to having you both back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#91 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing