We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #129 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Congress Hotel for work recently and had a great experience. From the moment you walk in you are welcomed with a glass of yummy Sangria (that they happily refilled) and a friendly smile. The front desk staff was quick and helpful and the rooms are SPACIOUS!! Congress hotel is my new place to stay when I come to Miami!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Janelikesthecold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    381
    194
    146
    125
See reviews for
170
500
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We spent two nights at the hotel in 401R.
Huge balcony facing the ocean. Others have written about the street nice until all hours, this is true, however one should know when you are selecting this hotel next to the action, that this what you get. Two nights was enough to experience all the culture and enjoy the ocean.
Loved it.
The staff was also very accomodating, thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wannabegardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed at the Congress hotel for the first week of March. Kelvin was nice enough to make my reservation over the phone and he told me he was going to take care of me and my friends when we arrive to the hotel, and he did!!! We arrived to the hotel after the happy hour and he told us not to worry about it. He told us to go to our room unpack and come back to the front desk. When we came back to the front desk he walked us to the rooftop bar and asked the bartender to hook us up with some drinks because we missed the happy hour. WOW!!!! Love that type of service. Kelvin and the entire staff were great during our stay. thank you for making our visit to miami a good experience. We will defenetly will come back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovelyNY11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The front desk and bellman were rude. They said they would call us when room was available but got no call. TV didn't work and mirror was cracked. The area is great but I wouldn't stay at this place again they seem unorganized. I would pay a bit more next time.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toronak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Hotel rooms very pleasant and quite well appointed – the only exception is the ‘bed settee’ – it was absolutely shockingly uncomfortable – there is a big ridge in the middle of it so you end up precariously sleeping on one side or another.

Staff & service positively awful – can only think the staff are paid 3 cents an hour – didn’t see one of them smile or even remotely look happy or interested.

The only exception was ‘Brian’ – he was great. Helpful, friendly and all round great guy – he was a rose amongst the thorns!

Beware if booking an ‘ocean view’ room – the website pictures of these rooms gives the impression that you get a balcony (as the picture in the one bedroom suite clearly shows a balcony). You don’t. Yes, some of the rooms do (if you’re in the new building) but the hotel is spread out over four buildings and the others don’t have balconies (though you can look at the ocean from the window!) I specifically booked the ocean suite because of the balcony. I didn’t realise that I wouldn’t have a balcony (why would I? the website clearly shows them in the ocean view suites booking screen). I didn’t get one and as the hotel was fully booked we couldn’t move rooms either. Very disappointed. The duty manager quite frankly couldn’t care less.

The roof top pool was fabulous.

Noise! – If you don’t like the sound of music banging out 18-21 hours a day don’t stay here. The music didn’t bother us but may be bothersome to some people. That said, if you want peace and quiet, South Beach probably isn’t the place for you.

I would definitely go back to South Beach, though I won’t be staying at The Congress Hotel – the staff and service is just too bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigOwl2820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
247 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and it was fine. We had a room on the 4th floor facing Ocean Drive- it had a nice view of Ocean Drive and somewhat obstructed (by trees) views of the ocean. We definitely felt the energy of South Beach from our room- the music from the restaurants and clubs/bars downstairs and from watching the people as they walk about on Ocean Drive. The noise and music end earlier during weekdays and much later (2-3AM) on the weekends, can still faintly hear and feel the music even with the doors closed. We expected this and were fine with it, but can imagine others being bothered by the music/noise.

The room was fine. It's starting to show its age from scratches on walls and furniture. We had a mini kitchen but no table and chairs to eat whatever we cooked from it. There was a desk, but once again, no chair to sit on to use the desk. There were no drawers to put folded clothes on, there were two closets. No beach chairs in the unit neither. We did enjoy the balcony in the unit.

Service and friendliness from the front desk was minimal. The best people we encountered from the hotel were the porters. The bartender (Sindy?) from the rooftop pool was nice and friendly as well. The rooftop pool had an awesome view btw. The maids, even though nice, did not care if you have a "do not disturb" sign on your door, they will knock on your door anyway, they did this everyday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WashingtonJonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The hotel is small, dirty, and noisy. They consider themselves to be a "resort" but they offer nothing a "resort" would. There are bugs in the room, and they will try to charge you for items in the mini bar that were not touched or did not exist. They also charge a "resort fee" of $20.00 a night, for what?! I booked this trip through a travel agent, all fees should have been paid upfront.

After disputing the insane mini-bar bill we left, even knowing that our flight was cancelled. We decided to stay at another hotel. And just as recent as today, they manually charged my credit card for the same fees I paid when I left (resort & mini bar). Now I have to waste time disputing the charges. Very dirty, very shady.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del_Sol_1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#44 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#27 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing