We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just GREAT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #129 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
“Just GREAT!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My friends and I usually rent at this hotel once a year. We never have any complaints about it. We get treated like royalty. Customer service was impeccable! Everyone was very helpful, from valet to front desk to room service. Every time we called for something the front desk would be sure to help. Our room was beautiful. It was clean and we did not find one thing wrong with it. The bathroom was spotless, usually I complain about stains in toilets and showers but this bathroom was flawless. The rooftop was amazing, bartenders were friendly I had a great stay and will sure go back again. I recommend this hotel to anyone that likes to enjoy rooftop pools and a nice, quiet environment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenysis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    381
    194
    146
    124
See reviews for
170
499
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked ocean view one bedroom suite -Terrible hotel, run down, curtains falling off the walls, carpet filthy, sliding glass doors that did not lock, broken down furniture, king bed that barely fit in the room, tiny TV, only good thing was bathroom very clean!! Checked in at mid-night and left by 9:00 the next morning!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wjstutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for you honest review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and that the room was not up to par. If you could kindly email me your reservation information so that I may look you up in our system to further investigate your room issues.

Kindly,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Raynham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Worst hotel EVER. We stayed at this hotel in February. The pictures on line are totally deceiving, I don't even think they are of this hotel. It shows a beautiful pool and nicely furnished rooms. Nothing could be further from the truth. It also states that it is a condo. It is more like a horrible effecienty apartment. Furniture was 20 plus years old. Shower was a so called round tub with a horrible shower head and sides that must have been three feet high.

The elevator was broken so we had to walk up and down three flights of back stairs. Management left the door open for access so any one could wallk in.

Parking was only in a garage that you had to pay for and walk thru a back alley.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbum23134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your review concerning your recent stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. I want to apologize on behalf of the hotel for your experience and we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Please email me with your reservation information so that I may look you up in the system. The Congress Hotel would love the opportunity to make your return stay the best experience ever.

Regards,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Considering the Congress is right smack in the middle of South Beach and two buildings away from the always partying Clevelander bar, our second floor room was surprisingly quiet as is the actual hotel. Sure, you can hear a little bit of the music and noise from the outside, I had taken earplugs with me, but I did not need them at all. It completely quiets down around 2am and really, this is SoBe, there is always going to be a bit of noise. I was worried about this when when I got the hotel, but after the first night, no worries.

The entry to the hotel is a bit hidden, but the nice thing is that you also need your key to even get into the buildings with the rooms which is great for privacy.

Our room was really spacious. There's a bedroom with a massive king size bed and then a living room and both rooms have an entrance to the bathroom. There's plenty of space for toiletries for several people in the bathroom and we always had plenty of towels. Pots and pans appeared on the second day of our stay but we ended up not using the kitchenette at all.

Really the only negative thing was the sofa bed which was atrocious. It was so uneven that a single person can barely sleep on it, let alone two. The king size bed on the other hand was great. The only other downside is that the windows face another building and other hotel rooms, so you have to keep your curtains drawn if you want privacy. Everything is a bit rundown though form the doors to the floors (bath room double doors didnt close properly) and the curtains were a bit dirty

The rooftop is sparse, but nice. I was surprised there were always empty sun beds or chairs available even later in the day. Guess most folks go to the beach. There's also a bar on the roof, shoutout to the Roman bartender. The view from the rooftop is great! There's not many hotels on Ocean Drive with pools, so Congress is unique in that sense.

I want to give a special shoutout to Diinaa Baby who organizes excellent party packages for very cheap at the Congress hotel. Now I was really skeptical about these 50$ party packages including two hours of open bar and free entry into the hottest clubs in SoBe like Mansion, Dream, Nikki Beach and Cameo. Sounded like too good of a deal to me, I was sure I'd get ripped off, but I was wrong. It was exactly what was promised and me and my buddy could not have been happier about the organizing. The open bars are either at the rooftop or other nearby hotels and the drinks were strong and the bartender never avoided giving out drinks. Then you have a shuttle that takes you to the designated club of the evening and you simply walk in the with the crowd and that's it. You do get to the club at midnight, which is early, since the action starts at 2am in Miami usually, but it's worth it since this way you can get into the best clubs without having to pay for bottle service.

Do avoid most of the restaurants on Ocean Drive. The whole two for one, free shots is mostly a rip off as everything costs even more than on restaurants on Collins or Washington.

I definitely recommend the Congress for party people, friends and couples. The location is superlative: short walk to Lincoln Road mall and everything else is nearby.

Highly recommended as long as you dont expect a five/four star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiotPelaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. The rooftop view is amazing and the prepartys are an awesome way to meet new friends. Our rooms are very spacious and have more than enough space to have friends come over. Next time you’re in town we can’t wait to see you back at The Congress Hotel South Beach.

Thanks,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I loved the hotel, it was clean and very nice! Most of the people that worked there were extremely nice, very friendly and very helpful and the rest were jerks! NOT HELPFUL AT ALL and not very polite! -the only thing i didn't like about this hotel other than some of the workers was the WiFi! Their WiFi system was so low! We literally had no connection to the internet but other than that, everything else was PERFECTLY PERFECT! had an AMAZING TIME! -Me and my boo LOVED IT!

Room Tip: rooms near the restaurants and the bars are not quiet at all! -you will not get a good sleep! people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malyun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 14 nights march and april 2013. 3 persons in a 1 bedroom Ocean view room. Therese is 3 buildings and we had the first 4 nights in a side building. (Trough a narrow and noisy restaurant) but were allowed to switch to a balcony view room in the main building the rest of the stay. We were away for 3 nights and the front desk reduced the valet for theese 3 nights after we Asker for it.

Plus: the front desk personel is friendly, Nice, warm and want your best of the stay, little to much to do tough, see minus. The rooms are big and in the middle of Ocean drive. The rooftop pool is Nice with a great view. You feel welcome. Front desk fix everything when You ask. Modern rooms and kitchenette.

Minus: noisy area, be aware. Expensive valet (35 USD per night). The bartender at the rooftop pool Washington most occupied with his own texting, guests arent asked for anything, and his not willing to fix anything. He must cost the hotel money. Slow valet. The fastest they picked up the car was 10 minutes, they once used 52 minutes. (Dont be hasty here). Something You must remind or give a list to the front desk what is forgot in cleaning the room.. Every third day.

There is also 12,5 USD per person/ night hotel tax, plus local tax. Sofa beds quite poor, bedroom beds very good. Close to the beach, 30 minutes to aventura, bel Harbour. 3 hours drive to Universal, 1.30 to west palm beach for 2 or 4 nights Bahamas cruise.

We are 32, 37 and 39. Fits for everyody young spirited that can handle some noise and minuses, for location and big rooms well equipped.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Stian Hagemann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Upon arrival we noticed that Bookit had placed us in a single room sleeping four. No problem for the hotel manager. She switched us to separate bedrooms in an instant. Since the hotel was fully booked at the time this was probably not an easy task. Not only is Ms. Eleonore the most professional and competent person her outstanding beauty shined over our six days stay and we loved it. We highly recommend this hotel and congratulate the management to their choice of employees.

Hans

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannB177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
The entire staff at The Congress Hotel South Beach wants to thank you for your wonderful review. It pleases us know that we were able to make your stay while at The Congress Hotel South Beach a memorable one and we can’t wait to have you and your family back.

Sincerely,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#96 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#42 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#45 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing