We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Amazing Stay on Ocean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #124 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Amazing Stay on Ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Me and three of my friends stayed at the Congress during the first weekend of miami music week. Ocean drive has many hotels, however many are outdated and lack amenities (I know from experience, as I visit south beach often). However, the Congress is updated, clean, and extremely spacious. My friends and I fit comfortably in our 1 bedroom suite with a pull out couch and kitchenette with all new appliances. Need to mention that the bathroom was updated and the shower was amazing. I HIGHLY recommend the congress as one of the best hotels on Ocean Drive. Rooftop pool was also fun with spectacular views and amazing music. Hotel staff was very accommodating to all our needs, especially Kelvin. Definitely stay here if you are looking to book a hotel on Ocean Drive- you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Sara,

Thank you for your amazing review. We are happy to hear that The Congress Hotel South Beach met your expectations. We pride ourselves in giving the best customer service and it seems that we are doing just that.

Hope to see you next time your in Miami.

Sincerely,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    381
    193
    145
    119
See reviews for
168
497
58
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I liked it very much, the rooms are very comfortable. The staff is great, especially Paula and Rafael that helped us in everything we needed. Would go again, the staff at the beach also very good! The pool with the dj was a blast, and the breakfast was also good.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinyezeargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for the STELLAR review on your recent stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. We pride ourselves in providing the best personalized customer service and it looks like we are doing just that! Paula & Rafael are a great part of our team and they truly enjoying helping out our guests with all of their needs.

Sincerely,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed here for the 1st weekend of Ultra Music Festival and it was a great experience! The Hotel is a perfect location in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. The rooftop pool offers amazing beach views! During our stay they had Dj's playing everyday and it was a great vibe and place to hang out. The Staff is super friendly and willing to help anyway they can, Paula at the front desk is a sweetheart and offered us free champagne as well as recommendations for local restaurants. I have traveled all over the world and would highly recommend the Congress Hotel, it is very modern, we stayed in the Junior suite with a balcony, it was extremely spacious, clean, and and all amenities were up to date. One thing I will say, if you are looking for a quiet hotel it would probably be better to stay elsewhere but we were down in Miami to party and it was the perfect spot for us! This hotel has had mixed reviews, and I was skeptical at first but when we arrived it was an A+ experience from start to finish, don't buy into the poor reviews.

Room Tip: Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for recently staying at The Congress Hotel South Beach. We are happy to hear that you had a GREAT experience while staying with us and that Paula was able to help you with all of your requests. We pride ourselves in providing great customer service and after reading your review it seems that we are doing our job well. Our rooms are indeed very spacious and our rooftop pool has an amazing view on South Beach. We will see you next time you come to South Beach

Sincerely,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The hotels look like a series of condo buildings turned into one overall hotel. The suites are quite big and include a kitchenette and they're modern and trendy. The location is great regarding the hotel, however on the ground floor are clubs with amazingly loud music, wall shaking loud music, until 5am after which it continues, just softer. We were on the second floor, and on our last day we were able to move to the other side of the hotel, near 11th St, which was much quieter.

Parking is also a challenge if there's an event going on as Ocean Dr might be closed, which means no valet. The garage they use is on Collins between 10th and 11th, self park is cheaper and it's only a block walk to the hotel. Just be sure to say you're staying at the Congress or you might get charged a crazy high price, and you have to tell them when you arrive.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ATX_Tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. We are sorry to hear that the music was too loud and that only on the last night were you moved to a quieter room. Unfortunately the music is out of our control due to the fact that the restaurants/clubs do not belong to the hotel. Parking on Ocean Drive tends to be crazy especially during our season which runs from January until May. Hopefully next time you are in Miami you give us another try and we will make sure you have the best room in the property. If you have ANY questions or would like to further discuss your stay feel free to contact me via email at eceballos@congresshotelsouthbeach.com

Sincerely,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there with my girlfriend the week of February 18th. We got there and they didn't have our reservation in their computer system. Despite us having a printout with our confirmation number the clerk told us that it is not their problem and we had to contact hotels.com to resolve the issue. Luckily the hotel manager was there and checked thru their system and was able to locate our reservation.

The room we got was facing the walkway to the lobby entrance. The sliding door to the bathroom was broken, the television was a 12inch lcd screen. (no joke). The worst part was the noise from the bar beside the hotel. Monday night, tuesday night, wednesday night they would play the music so loud we could feel the bass in our room. We were on the 3rd floor.

I understand we were on South Beach and in the middle of "all the action" but it was a little bit too much. I would suggest staying on Collins Ave if you need a break from the noise. Also we'd hear the garbage trucks in the back alley from approximately 1 hour starting from 7 am.

The only good part about the hotel was the rooftop patio/pool and bar. Branden the bartender is a good guy and very friendly. He made the time on the rooftop very enjoyable.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody. It wasn't worth the price. Do you research and save yourself a hassle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, because of reviews like yours we are able to fix any issues that our rooms & system may have. We are sorry that your check in process was not as smooth as you expected. We are in the process of softly renovated our suites and the 12 inch TV’s are almost gone. Unfortunately, since the restaurants are not a part of the hotel we can only do so much about the loud music and most guests that find the music too loud contact the front desk who then contact code compliance and have them come down to the restaurants.


Kindly,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is by far one of the worst hotels located on South Beach (mind you anything found on Ocean Drive is tacky so be mindful of that).
Dont be fooled by the 'professional' pictures displayed, chances are your room wont look like that but rather a dark, dirty, dusty shack.
Very noisy hotel!
Plus customer service was terrible! Especially the girl who works on Sunday mornings.
I work for an international hotel company and if we gave our guests the service that this hotel gave us we would be out of business for sure!
I will be letting everyone know about my horrible experience at this bottom grade motel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at The Congress Hotel South Beach. We apologize that your stay was not up to par with what you were expecting of our property. We welcome you to stay with us next time you are in town so that we may show you what The Congress Hotel South Beach is really all about. Feel free to email me at eceballos@congresshotelsouthbeach if you would like to further discuss your recent stay at our hotel.

Hope to hear from you!

Kindly,
Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We booked a 2 nights at Congress at a last minute special on Travelocity. We booked a junior suite that was supposed to accommodate 4 adults. After check-in we went to our room to discover it had only ONE king bed for 4 adults. Room had a leather futon that did not recline flat and at best be used by a child. We went to the lobby to inquire about our room which was supposed to sleep 4 adults and we were told that there were no more rooms available with 2 queen beds. We spoke with Eleonor C, Front Office Manager, she had VERY POOR customer service skills, who offered a roll away bad and no discount or any other alternative. We called Travelocity but they were useless just like the hotel staff. We ended up canceling the second night and found a different hotel. After return home we found out that the hotel charged us for both nights claiming we stay there, whereas we were only supposed to be charge one night due to the fact that it was too late to cancel first night. The only good thing this hotel has going for it is it's location. Customer service is horrible, I work for the airlines and we travel a lot. This is by far the WORST service we received or maybe I should say we didn't since we only stay there for 3 hrs. At about $300 a night one would except a world class service and a nice room. The pictures they use must be retouched since the hotel looks nothing like them. This was a record LOW for customer service.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleonor C, Front Office Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the less then stellar stay that you had at The Congress Hotel South Beach. Please send me an email at eceballos@congresshotelsouthbeach so that I may review your reservation and and do what is necessary to make sure that you were not incorrectly charged.

Sincerely,

Eleonor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#98 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#45 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Grande Suite Hotel of South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#44 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#26 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing