We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Really scruffy and not as described” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congress Hotel South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Congress Hotel South Beach
Ranked #109 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really scruffy and not as described”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was really looking forward to my stay in South Beach and booked the Congress for location, size of room available and affordability.

The hotel is listed as five star luxury - well, its really tatty, and could do with a facelift. There was mould all over the bathroom, hadnt been cleaned properly and the lift insurance is out of date. |The walls are paper thin, sdd to that the doors dont fit properly and so really noisy.

Unless you want to party all night - dont bother staying there! the noise from the bars goes on until at least 2 am and then at 7 am they start clearing up and boy is it noisy!

The hotel doesnt offer any decent room service - greasy burgers and pizzas only, cash or card only - and if you use the pool bar its cash only, you cant charge anything to the room. The 'restaurant' is downstairs and seems to be worked on a partnership basis. The hotel doesnt offer breakfast - we pushed for it as it was listed on my booking they reluctantly gave me vouchers to the value of $5.75 per day but I couldnt use it as they didnt open til late and I had to get away to the office.......... The bedlinen and towels are really thin and need replacing - all in all it was very disappointing.

However the staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool, make sure you stay in that building - otherwise you have to walk up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Our most sincere apologies for the discrepancies you have experienced during your stay with us. We take great pride in our hotel and the service we provide our guests and hope you will give us a chance to make it up to you on a future stay. We will be working on improving our rooms and functionality all through next year. We do address all guest noise complaints directly with Miami Beach Code Compliance, who in turn issue written warnings to the establishment in question and have the authority to close it down temporarily if they do not comply. Unfortunately, since we do not own or operate the restaurants, we do not have direct control over how loud the music is played, but we do our best to keep our guests comfortable and happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    374
    186
    142
    110
See reviews for
160
486
57
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Came down to south beach a few weeks ago just for the weekend. My friends & I had seen a lot of good reviews about the congress hotel so we decided to go by that. And boy are we glad we did. We had an amazing that! The view from our room was perfect, the weather was awesome, & the best part everything is walking distance. The front desk staff were really nice & not one time did i see any of the girls snappy or rude. always smiling. We received a complimentary drink at check in which started our night off. Although we didn't really enjoy the pool, it is located on the rooftop and has a great view as well. I definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends & family.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetalison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! We've been working hard to make sure guests have a fantastic stay and it sounds like we are succeeding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I was so impressed with the facilities and staff of the Congerss Hotel. The ocean front room had an amazing view of Ocean drive and the pool deck on the roof gave a perfect view of the ocean. The staff was friendly and attended to my every need. I will absolutely be staying with them again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lclavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for recently being our guest and taking the time to review us!

I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff was happy to help you with all of your needs and make certain that you had a special experience.

We look forward to welcoming you home soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stayed at this hotel when I went to South Beach for a "Girl's trip" in September 2012. It is very Clean, Has a great location, and the customer service was terrific! The rooms were modern & spacious and very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimplyJ0Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for two nights. Sandra at the front desk was very friendly and nice. We got a Junior Suite which was very large and had a balcony with a side ocean view. Much more than I expected for the price I paid ($160 per night) There is a resort fee but it includes 2 beach chairs and towels. The rooftop pool is amazing. Sandra also allowed us to do a late check out with no additional fees. We will be back.

The only negatives I have are the construction on the beach nearby and the tub had no hot water.

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms close to the Clevelander they have very loud music all day and most of the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location, location, location! The Congress is located in the middle of hip and happening Ocean Drive! The room was clean, modern, and had great views of the beach. You are surrounded by bars, restaurants, and all that South Beach has to offer. The rooftop pool is great although there is not a lot of seating. The hotel also provides beach chairs and towels free of charge. I would stay there again for partying and people watching. I would stay farther North or South if I was looking for more R&R. There is music playing all night and then it starts back up at 9:00 am. It just adds to the South Beach vibe but makes it really hard to sleep. The bed was super comfortable though. If you want peace and quiet then Ocean Drive may not be th place for you. If you want a fun and energetic South Beach experience then The Congress is perfect for you! I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank BeachorBust613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy R, General Manager at Congress Hotel South Beach, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for your great rating of our hotel! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback and are looking forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Awesome location - Louis was there as soon as we arrived and really made us feel welcome and got us sorted - He and Brian were great throughout . We were late in from London by a good 90 minutes getting to the hotel by 19.00 - but we were checked in by a great lady who remembered my email about our anniversary for some wine and fruit - and gave us an awesome room - ocean faciing . We were in another building from reception and the pool but it was next door and I've stayed in some hotels that has taken 10 mins from reception to your room so the 3 mins next door in a lift really wasn't an issue . The room had everything - full size fridge - cooker dishwasher etc.... And the cheapest mini bar which is in the fridge - eg. 1/4 bottle of Bombay gin $12 small wine $4 - we had room 401 . Only criticism is under the bed needs to be hovered - one cuff link and a lot of dust ! The tv was huge and the air con great - shower and complimentary toiletries quality !

Outside the hotel are the red tour buses which was really handy - $39 each for 24 hours or $49 for 2 days - 90 mins round Miami beach and 90 mins for downtown ect - jump on jump off type thing -
Beach opposite and no hassle - great restaurants outside hotel - do "Kithen"for Breakfast - they all tout for u so once out of hotel cross the road and walk beach side or u will be stopped every 2 minutes . . Tgi's are out of the hotel turn right if that's what u fancy.

Roof top pool small but big enough and practical with changing rooms a floor below . Pool bar convenient but they charge for the privilege - $8 for local beer which I thought bit much - but view and comfortable loungers worth it .

All in all a great star to our holiday - Louis and reception ladies excellent and helpful !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hixxy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Hotel Breakwater South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Clevelander South Beach Hotel
#49 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Pelican Hotel
#25 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Cavalier South Beach
#87 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congress Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congress Hotel South Beach

Property: Congress Hotel South Beach
Address: 1052 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly The Strand)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Congress Hotel South Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the South Beach lifestyle at our hotel in Miami Beach, Florida. Located in the heart of Miami's Art Deco Historic District on Ocean Drive, we offer spacious, stylish suites with all the amenities of home. With stellar views of the ocean and the bustling action of Ocean Drive, our beachfront hotel is exactly what you need for your stay in Miami. Because we are located right on the beach, fun in the sun is literally at your doorstep. Stake out your spot in the sand and enjoy the signature Florida sunshine. With the average temperatures in the 70s and 80s, you can enjoy the beach and the sun almost all year-round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Congress Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Ocean Drive Hotel
Strand Ocean Drive Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing