We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly The Garden Hotel South Beach)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20%
Ranked #82 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Shabby but functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights prior to a Caribbean cruise from Fort Lauderdale. Close to SOBE and across the street from an excellent diner. Clean sheets and good bed but small room and toilet got blocked. Bit tatty around the edges and construction still going on despite being told at booking that it would be complete.
There are air fresheners on all the time to probably cover up damp smells.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carltoncouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    115
    69
    16
    20
See reviews for
74
114
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

I loved my stay here, the receptionist carol was just amazing she upgraded our room to a king suit and the room was excellent . Loved my stay here everything was clean and In perfect condition , the views where beautiful and it was a great price being located in Miami beach .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdm075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Signed up for a trip advisor account just to be able to warn people. In short, if you are used to staying at a quality hotel, don’t stay here.

The photos are deceiving, as they don’t show the true state of the property and rooms. They have “band-aided” it for the time being while it appears all but 1 building of the 4 or 5 buildings are being “gutted”. There is literally a chain link wire fence surrounding the property. Approaching it, you would think it is closed. What is left is similar to old the roadside motel. The last building they are booking rooms for IS NOT YET RENOVATED, only has the colorful furniture, walls, and brown flooring.

No pool or courtyard as displayed in the photos (this is gone and inside the construction area). The furniture shown in photos is the same, but it is the structure itself that made this place undesirable.

NEGATIVES: missing glass in windows (only outside glass louvered slats were there, but the inside solid glass was gone, making for a and loud room); very loud air conditioner unit (I’m sure they are waiting to gut this building too); construction began at 8 or 8:30 in the morning, (in the building next door); seems like the people working here even hate it. Not that they were unfriendly, just that they acted like they couldn’t wait to leave.

POSITIVE: Comfortable bed and pillows. Clean sheets and towels. Free continental breakfast if included in your rate.

Booked this hotel through Hotels.com at a discounted rate, because we flew into MIA late afternoon, and wanted to see this area of South Beach prior to our "nicer" beachfront hotel in the 17th/Collins Avenue area. Honestly wished we had went ahead and checked into our nice hotel after all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa_tripgirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed in The Garden for four nights. We booked through Hotwire, so price was great for South Beach and may be appropiate for the hotel quality. But I can not imagine paying full price, it would not be worth it. We stayed at Davis building. We got one bed, which was OK and comfortable. But the room and specially the bathroom was really small. And not very clean. The WiFi worked flawless. Breakfast was simple, toast, spread cheese, butter, jam, balgels, fruit, juice, tea etc. So nothing special. On the other hand, location is excellent, just 2 blocks from the beach and Ocean drive. Public transportation right in front. The construction was still giong on, but we did not notice noise or anything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samykovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel/motel for one night in January. Considering the location (just a couple of blocks from the Art Deco district, Ocean Drive and the beach) the Garden Hotel offered a competitive price. Parking was a bit of a hassle (unless you decide to go for the rather expensive valet option(, as free parking space is not easy to find. But that would still be recommended if you arrive by car

As stated in other reviews, there is still construction work being done on the premises as it consists of several buildings. Our room was in the "Bel Aire" building, which was basically reminiscent of an old motel.

The room itself was large, quiet and clean. Free wifi (although with a slightly wonky connection) is included. Breakfast was also included in our room rate, but was very basic (cereal, toast, juice and coffee). But considering all the options just outside the hotel that should not be a problem.

In short: ok stay without any frills. Can be recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vlouhimies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Got to the hotel about 8.00pm, the girl on the desk checked me in quickly and pointed me towards the nearest 7eleven store which was about 3 blocks away.
The room was clean and tidy in the Davis block, with a coffee machine, some water and a flat screen TV + air con. The bed was very good and had a great sleep at nights. The bathroom is compact and clean the shower was always hot.
The breakfast was ok but you need to get the voucher s when checking in, they were delivered to my room as I was not issued with them on check-in. The breakfast was bread for the toaster, bagels, various cereals, croissant, yogurt, small bit of fruit and tea, coffee, orange juice. The girl serving the breakfast was friendly and even brought me a book on things to do.
The hotel is about 3 blocks away from the beach and I always felt stay walking at night in the area. Some work was being done as the property but did not impact on my stay in the Davis block of the hotel.

Would stay here again as everything is in walking distance, hotel clean and tidy with nice staff.
Please note photos are from November as I forget to set date on camera

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seacat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meise, Belgium
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We were looking for a comfortable, well located hotel in South Beach so we booked this hotel. Wasn't cheap but we wanted to make sure we were comfortable.
It went wrong from the start. Our reservation couldn't be found. Luckily we brought our booking confirmation. Took some time to get what we booked and we could only be lodged for the first 4 days. It was up to us to look for something else for the last few days. We had to talk to the manager the next day if we wanted to stay.
When we entered the building we were immediately struck by a strong sent of moist, humidity, ... It was the same in the room.
The room was very small and old. Cracks in the wall, no ventilation, fungus in the bathroom, prehistoric and loud airconditioning, miniature bathroom, we could see the corridor from within the room.
And all this for 300$ per night!?!
The lady at the reception gave us the key to another room in the same building but this time a floor up. Same story.

Needless to say we packed our bags and told the lady at the reception we weren't staying. This was the first time I left a hotel but it was an absolute disgrace.

I cannot believe anybody would stay in this hotel (this building?) and certainly not at these rates.

Will never come back here!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#95 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 488 reviews
Cavalier South Beach
#23 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hotel Chelsea
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 965 reviews
The Marlin Hotel
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Park Hotel

Property: Washington Park Hotel
Address: 1050 Washington Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-5018 (Formerly The Garden Hotel South Beach)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel in Miami Beach is designed as an oasis for travelers who desire an escape from the common hotel, yet still value traditional services and hospitality. With a fresh, innovative appearance, well-appointed rooms and a casually-sophisticated atmosphere, our South Beach hotel can transform your trip into a time of inspiration and renewal. Vacationers looking for lodging in South Beach can appreciate our hotel's ideal location within walking distance of the beach, the Bass Museum, beautiful Art Deco homes and Ocean Drive's many famous attractions. Upscale fashion boutiques are at your fingertips when you stay here, with the Lincoln Road Mall and Collins Avenue shopping district less than a mile from the hotel. Our Miami Beach accommodations also offer quick access to the Port of Miami, where cruise ships dock for boarding. For the very best in Miami Beach accommodations, choose the The Garden Hotel South Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel Aire South Beach Miami
Bel Aire South Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing