We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Setai
Ranked #4 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We were in a house hunting trip to Miami when we decided to stay at the Setai. We are not big fans of the crowd at South Beach but we were ready for it. However we were VERY pleasantly surprised with our experience at the Setai. The hotel did feel like home with a very attentive staff. I liked the outdoor dining area and the pool area the best. The pool itself is a decent lap pool. That alone and the upkeep of the area are enough for me to return to this hotel. The clientele I think also tend to value the need for peace and quiet even in a place like Miami beach. The rooms are not the best features of the hotel. However seeing the beach and the pool area, makes one want to be outside anyway. Lastly, as one can see from our previous reviews, any hotel that makes our dog welcome is a big plus for us. The Setai is just that. That being said, we would love to come back to the Setai with or without the dog.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

The setai is probably the best hotel in Miami beach.
Nice pool, private beach, good service but with a lot of space to improve and become an excellence.
The beach for example could be more luxurious and well mantained. Beds are old, umbrellas, little cheap, service slow.
The oriental spirit makes this place more thai than Miami, but the room where i was staying (suite with 2 rooms) for sure an excellent choice in Miami beach.
The service at the restaurant at the pool really slow. Come on guys, we do not want stay here hours find a different solution.
The SPA is a great option

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgiornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

NOT WORTH THE MONEY!!!

My husband and I recently just got back from a 5 night stay at The Setai, we are worldly travelers and have had the opportunity to stay in some amazing 5 star resorts/hotels throughout the years. I am currently pregnant so we decided to stay in the US for a baby moon and thought The Setai would give us the quiet, relaxing vacation we had anxiously been awaiting before the baby arrives.

This pretty much sums up our trip:

1. ROOM:
I had requested a quiet room on a higher floor (at The Setai this translates to please give me the worst room in the hotel) they ended up giving us a room on the 3rd floor right beside the elevator, and electrical closet and across from a room that was being renovated - needless to say this room was anything but quiet. When I asked to switch they of course gave the typical "we are fully booked" answer.

2. EXTREMELY NOISY/LOTS OF KIDS:
If you are thinking about coming here for a romantic couples stay - THINK AGAIN!
We were absolutely shocked when we were laying by the pool and couldn't even read peacefully because of the 50 kids that were screaming, jumping, playing in the pool, we felt like we were at a Disney resort - the exact opposite of what we were looking for. We made sure to sit by the "adult" pool but the staff did not reinforce this "adult" policy and pretty much let the kids do whatever they wanted.

3. SERVICE = JUST SIMPLY ODD!
The service is definitely not 5 stars, the staff seemed like they were all just recently trained and couldn't give us straight answers to anything. We tried to make a reservation at the pool grill and the hostess responded " We don't take reservations but I will keep you in mind when you come back" - WHAT DOES THAT EVEN MEAN????

4. FOOD
The breakfast buffet is excellent - this is the only part of the trip that we enjoyed and looked forward to... lunch and dinner - below average and extremely over priced - this place is definitely trying too hard, the menu is not very extensive, as vegetarians we had about 2 options our entire stay pizza or salad.

CONCLUSION:
The worst $1,000/night we've ever spent - we actually ended up coming home a day early because we couldn't stand the place anymore, when we told the receptionist that we were checking out early because of how unhappy we were - we thought a manager would at least come speak to us about our stay and apologize but no - nothing... we assumed it probably happens all the time - but still if our concerns would have at least been acknowledged as a customer we would have maybe (big maybe) given this place a second chance but NO - that will not be happening EVER!

On the bright side - The Setai has prepared us for what to expect out of a vacation when we become new parents.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Jocelyne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

stayed for a 1 night business trip. Hotel is split into 2 buildings and first impressions when you walk in to the hotel are good - lovely large lobby, good and efficient service and lovely welcome.
The interior courtyard has a large decorational pool - very eye catching and pretty. Good contemporary design throughout the public spaces.
The bedrooms have been designed in the same way - nice and contemporary and had all the modern equipment in the room but it lacks double glazing! My room was on a corner of a busy road and you could hear car music, car horns, people talking loudly etc outside. I checked every window was closed properly etc and everything was normal. So I had a noisy night.
The hotel is great, the service top but the room I had noisy so I cannot give it 5/5!
would i go back - yes when the rooms are sound-proofed!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank manil0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend for our Anniversary. We are locals so it was fun just being tourist. My sister stays with her family here every christmas break and I have to say there is no other hotel on the beach that truly caters to all of your needs. Its beautiful, the food is good and the service is impeccable. If you can afford to stay here defiantly do!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonikaMSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is a fabulous place! The place is a great "friends" getaway because it is located near the beach and bar/club. Very kind and well trained staff. The rooms were extremely spacious I surely had a very wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJetsetter1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in the Residence Towers for the second time and found even with a change of ownership that the level of service is incomparable. By the second day you are greeted by name at the entrance, at the pool and at the beach, and everyone makes every effort to insure your comfort. No request is too small for their fabulous concierge. Without a doubt, simply the best of South Beach.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BetsyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#17 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,784 reviews
Nobu Hotel Miami Beach
#2 of 214 in Miami Beach
376 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#8 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#5 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,491 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,664 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#9 of 214 in Miami Beach
821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-1913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $521 - $1,887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing