We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Setai
Ranked #6 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Setai Miami and we really loved it. Everything was great: rooms are really beautiful, well furnished and comfortable. Style is great: oriental-fancy with a modern flavor. Service is amazing! It was a great experience. Totally recommend it. Worth every dollar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
There are newer reviews for The Setai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

We went to South Beach January 2014 to get away from the cold weather.

After looking at many hotels online, we decided on staying at the Setai. We rented a 2BR, 2Ba condo instead of two hotel rooms.

The condo was extremely nice, 22 floor, direct ocean and city view, and the location was really good at 20th and Collins -Ocean drive is a few blocks South.

The Setai has an Asian flair and very nicely decorated. The service is excellent, and staff very attentive. It's in walking distance to many restaurants if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

The Setai is located right on the beach, but has 3 pools also.

We used taxis when we wanted to leave the area (went in Miami once) since we didn't rent a car. I think car parking was $50 daily.

South Beach is quite expensive so bring lots of cash or a good credit card.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gastravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Setai is a magnificent property with attentive service and gorgeous design.
Love the rooms with their combination of woods, the illy espresso maker and llanllyr water.
The public spaces, both indoor and outdoor, are lush and comfortable.
Have stayed at various other premium properties on SoBe and have to say like the Setai best with its evocation of Phuket and Bali, and the great breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My overall stay went pretty well, Housekeeping was great, doormen excellent. However, the have the worst security staff that I've seen throughout the duration of my travels around the world. I had an item stolen while i was in the pool, they had several attempted robberies from homeless people that hide within the shrubby along the day beds within my stay. This is not 5 star service! Secondly, I file a report with the security manager and he just seem to be un-knowledgeable with overall security procedures. This same night my Tower unit was entered by a security officer, who failed to knock or announce his presence. So, I say great hotel.. But, be very careful with your property and trusting of the security staff.. Absolutely worthless!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kellylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The property is first class. Great location on Collins and right off the beach. They had people on the beach to help set us up with towels and chairs. The beach was very pretty and clean. We also ate at the restaurant for dinner, which was excellent. Although the price is high, it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The Setai oozes class and sophistication, doubtless safe in the knowledge it's one of the most desirable addresses in all of Miami beach. From check in to check out, things were smoothe and understated. The pools were welcoming, the breakfast buffet a knockout, the cocktails innovative and the vibe just the right side of laid back. We'd come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penandforkinhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I’ve stayed at The Setai Hotel many times in the past but recently bought a house on the beach so; regrettably we don’t stay at the hotel. But, come by the restaurants as much as possible.
I see so many new people some of our old favorites. The pools look new but we can’t eat at the pool bar anymore because were not staying there. However Ms. Jill the new manager was so nice and professional that she explained all of the new things going on at the pool and soon I will be able to enjoy looking at the beach and drink one of thier handcrafted beverages from the best bartenders on south beach!
I was not sure if I should leave a review because I like the property and I’m not sure the hotel even reads them but, I figured since I’m not a hotel guest that they wouldn’t listen to my complaints anyway.
Love ,love the place don’t love the rude tower staff. I was looking for the bathroom and was a little turned around and I was trying to ask someone at the front desk for directions.
If the staff wasn’t so preoccupied by their cell phones and personal conversations then maybe you can get help. When I finally did get help I was met with attitude. She told me her name but I didn’t care to hear it because I felt like I was terrible for asking a question and I had interrupted her time. I was going to ask for the manager to complain but she said she was the manager I thought to myself forget it!
As a whole, it’s the best on the beach!! Just don’t find yourself asking for the bathroom!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Frankie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#15 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,580 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#9 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,248 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,475 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,184 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#8 of 210 in Miami Beach
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-1913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $476 - $1,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing