We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice room, average service, poor restaurants”
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Setai
Ranked #6 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
609 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 474 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice room, average service, poor restaurants”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is not the first time we were staying in this hotel. This time we found the service under average compared with other hotels of this category we are used to, especially when you pay over $2000 a night.
The room are large and pleasant although the noise insulation is far from being perfect. The valet parking requires every time a long wait, the room service is slow. You do not feel like you get what you expected for your money. The restaurants that we tried i.e The Grill and the pool bar have been disastrous. In both places we waited for ever before getting the dishes and when delivered this was very mediocre.
We will not come back.

Room Tip: High floor, ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmLondon845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    140
    73
    39
    33
See reviews for
225
494
47
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice hotel. A bit pricey, which I typically don't mind. My main problem with the place is that I was told one of their three pools was heated to 90 degrees. When I was there, the pools were all too chilly to set foot in. I was told that the pool heaters couldn't keep up with the cooler air temperatures that time of year. I subsequently stayed at a hotel in Palm Beach where the air temperature was the same but they managed to keep a much larger pool plenty warm. They seem to try, and take good care of guests. So a generally positive experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent the Most wonderful week of holidays of our life!
From our arrival to our departure everything was great ,
The room was gorgeous , the bar is a must see in Sobe, our diner at the Grill restaurant was excellent.
The daily breakfast in the courtyard was amazing, the welcoming smile of the Hostess , the service and the quality and variety of food provided.
Top notch service at the pool and Beach what a wonderful atmosphere . The frozen cocktail were excellent.
Once again thank you for this mémorable week!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Monsieur_Charles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a luxurious haven in the hustle of south beach. From the moment of check in with a welcoming cocktail to the large comfortable rooms everything is designed to make you feel at home The service is excellent and the pool and beach glorious. I would highly recommend if you want pure luxury.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nicknesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

If this is a 5 star hotel, then pigs really can fly!!
From broken doors, broken blinds, broken lights, leaking toilets, blocked sinks to idiotic and sometimes rude staff, this hotel has it all. Mind you, most of the above room problems cannot be seen as the bedrooms are so dark!
Make sure if you do go, it's very warm as you will freeze in the grill room.
Only one shining light, the bar and staff were excellent. (Spent time there drowning sorrows!)
One to definitely miss.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Marcusx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I am staying right now in this hotel for two nights I cant sleep because of the noise in the street coming in the room. I cant imagine that I am paying 900 dollars in a hotel that I cant sleep in. My room number 508 and I dont advice anyone to stay in this room because the isolation of the windows is terrible. This is my worst experience ever in staying in any hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank moteia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Extended family stayed at the Setai over the Holidays. Here is a drill-down

1. Room: We stayed in a two bedroom suite and loved the Duxiana beds, the amenities and the furniture. I am a sucker for the washer dryer since I refuse to pay 10 dollars for laundry on a tshirt.

2. Beach club: Wonderful three-temperature pool area. I loved that one is reserved for the kids and that you can order of the restaurant in the lounge areas. Voss water is delivered with a facial mist and the lovely ladies and gentlemen bring complementary fruit and smoothies.

3. Restaurants: We had lunch almost every day in the lounge chairs or the pool bar and the menu is somewhat limited. If you are doing a long weekend its great, but if you are there for 7 days, you kind of run out of things to try. The Restaurant is excellent, try the risotto, it is to die for...the lobby lounge is gorgeous but be advised that the expensive bar bites are very small.

4. Beach. I am conflicted here, the beach lounge chairs are so close together, you hear the conversation of the next lounge chair guest...but I guess this is the price to pay in SoBe

5. Common areas: Gorgeous, the rose decorations were beautiful and there is a distinct and lovely smell throughout the hotel. Reminds you of an Aman hotel in Asia.

6. Now the reason I gave this 4 stars instead of 5 is that I was somewhat bothered by the crowd. Is this the hotels fault? Of course not! But to the reviewer who said this is the Four Seasons of South Beach I have to disagree. I love the FS because it is unpretentious luxury. Guests are courteous. I saw at least 3 guests snap at the nice pool attendants saying that they no longer wanted their salad, they wanted to hold more lounge chairs than they could, you get the picture...No thank you, please. These are the Holidays people- these wonderful staff also has families and would rather be with them so show a little class...

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites in the residential tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCastle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,551 reviews
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#7 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,192 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#4 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#8 of 208 in Miami Beach
693 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,439 reviews
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Property: The Setai
Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-1913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing