We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Benchmark - service does not get better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Setai to your Saves list
The Setai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“The Benchmark - service does not get better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Miami is notorious for its poor service - this is the exception. Intuitive, friendly and professional at every stage. From the sophisticated, calm Lobby, spacious rooms, superb spa and pool - you are in for a real treat. Only gripe (and its minor) is the WiFi (free) is a bit slow and the sink is designed so you have minimal space to lay things out. This is definitely the hotel that the other hotels in Miami should be trying to emulate

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globaladventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    124
    62
    36
    27
See reviews for
167
401
38
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

5 STAR!!! I have stayed here 10 times now... I love it! I tried staying at another hotel because setai had construction going on the dates I planned to be there. I will never make that mistake again. The service is amazing and the rooms are very nice. I will never stay anywhere else in Miami!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole4905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I decided to stay at this hotel during Columbus weekend (Miami Carnival). I tried so much to really love it...... I really did. I think it's over hyped/over priced for no reason. The room was small, very clean, and the staff was attentive. When I'm dishing out this kind of money; I don't want nice... I want an experience, and that it wasn't. I don't hate it, but I don't love it either. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blessedcrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Setai many times. In general, their tower suites is good. Excellent location (one of the best on South Beach) . Nice views. Clean suite. Good service. Good food. Good people. Good spa.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alsherebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Setai twice and really enjoyed the room and proximity to the beach. For our needs, we like the location a bit further north of all the Miami Beach "action" and found the class and sophistication right to my wife's liking. This is one of her favorite hotels. Rooms are quiet and the blinds will give you near darkness just in case you stayed out late and need to sleep in. During our last stay, the warmest pool was dominated by some loud kids which was unfortunate. However, while the pool is not "the scene" for singles, it is perfect if you want to relax. The only negative is the price of the restaurants at the hotel. We usually had breakfast at Maxine's diner which is a short two block walk and found the prices for our minimalist serving size just right. If money is no object, this is a 5 star rating.

Room Tip: Staying on the Collins Ave side is OK but you should try to avoid the first two floors of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeA1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

It used to be a great hotel but be carefull they are making works till december and they dont tell you !!!! Pool is closed and they are making works inside the hotel so when you are in your room you hear all the noises !!! Dint go until they finish is not worth it !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Titobrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The hotel is gorgeous, the lobby smells very well, but The house keeper robe my Chanel wachtch and some new BCBG dresses I just bought a day before besides some other things. It was a day of shopping. They seem to be sorry but the thing is my things are gone. Also the pool was not working is now in renovation.

Room Tip: If you go there yo have ti have all your things locked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IlianaLeyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#13 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Confidante
#15 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#21 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Property: The Setai
Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing