We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Too Zen For Me” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Setai
Ranked #4 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too Zen For Me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

All I kept hearing is that I HAD to stay at Setai and if i couldn't i should at least get a drink at the bar because it was SO AWESOME...but was warned there was no way I would get a table at their restaurant because it was, again, so divine.
So, i went for a drink and ...whomp whom.
It was dark.
It was quite.
It was boring.

This place almost killed my Friday night mojo.
I tried their Chili passion martini, which was awesome, but the bar staff were terrible. Not friendly and not helpful...it was more like a Hollisters than a chic bar.

Oh....and the restaurant was totally empty...not that I would have ate there anyway :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cabelltini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    128
    64
    36
    28
See reviews for
181
418
40
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel has the feeling of walking into a sheik modern spa in Bali. Ultra modern / Asian influenced decor, black marble and clean clean clean. Superb service which I find pretty standard with Asian influenced hotels (ie The Peninsula, Mandarin Oriental).

The spa at this property is world class as is the pool and cabana areas. Excellent access to the beach and every service imaginable. This property is perhaps slightly "north" geographically from the historical "South Beach" but who cares? My only complaint with this property was the extremely small size of my tv. But....you shouldn't be watching so much tv anyway.

For families, there are condo options at this location.
I will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clyons24542001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staying at the Setai in Miami Beach is a unique and special experience. The hotel is exceptionally well designed for privacy and a feeling of sanctuary, both indoors and outdoors. Staff are engaging and friendly without being overbearing. Don't miss the breakfast offering (and sit outside if conditions permit) which is wide ranging, delicious and well-presented. The outdoor pools and beach scene only add to the overall experience. An exceptional focus on customer service and satisaction!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snakemtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are okay, I think they need some minor renovation. The pool is dirty and pool side service needs improvement and not just focus on the tip.
The beach bar is good and the staff are very friendly. On a scale of 1-10 I would rate it as 6.5

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zizou85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Everything about this place is top notch. I don't think I opened a single door as they were always there to open it for you. If you're looking for a place that pays attention to detail this is it! The pool guys were awesome too. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. We fell in love with Miami Beach and certainly the Setai was a huge part of our experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlerjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Due to the theft by the pool and the lack of security this hotel provides, I changed my review and rating to terrible! Even though the hotel has positives the fact that I was robbed of valuables of over 15k at the pool and the hotel really could care less that many clients and guests have been robbed
many times as the police stated to me.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
19 Thank Josmshank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Setai and loved it. The greeting with beverages at check-in was a nice opening touch. The whole resort has a very calm zen vibe w great service. It's not flashy and loud like other Miami Beach hotels. The three pools at different temperatures was nice. Stay at a higher floor to avoid hearing street noise (although it was not loud). Also for the price,the non-alcoholic beverages in the minibar should be free like they are in comparable properties elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationingKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#5 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 3,051 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#15 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#9 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 995 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#14 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Property: The Setai
Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-1913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing