We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“best five star hotel in south beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Setai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Setai
Ranked #5 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best five star hotel in south beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

South beach by nature is not a great service oriented place. The Setai does it best. Instead of the usual high turnover staff that plagues most south beach hotels and restuarants - they seem to have some stability and hence quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossmcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    126
    63
    36
    29
See reviews for
176
414
40
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel did not disappoint. The Asian inspired theme is quite relaxing. I don't think the pool areas can be beat. My husband and I were visiting for a long weekend at the very end of October and were here mainly for the 80 degree temperatures. We felt very much alone at the pool even tho there were others around us...not your typical Miami beach experience,but exactly what we were looking for! The service at the pool was a little slow, but the staff was always eager to help... Even tho they did need several more people working.

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom suite with 2 bathrooms , a kitchen and living room. 3104.... Amazing views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My Husband and I used this place to get away to celebrate our 20 est anniversary.
It was magical. Beautiful setting, great service, wonderful spa, amazing pool...and the bar..I really recommend their signature Passion Fruit Martini with Chili

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlaMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is not for everyone. Stay here if you are inspired by Japanese beauty, clean modern lines, and the ultimate luxury service experience. This is an exclusive gem that is set far apart from the typical Miami party hotels and scene. The property is truly gorgeous and boasts my personal favorite guest room decor of any hotel I've stayed in. Expect to spend a lot, but it is worth it. Location is absolutely ideal as well.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clutchbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is a beautiful new hotel in a great location. My husband and I have stayed in many different hotels on South Beach and this is probably the nicest. Our room was really nice and had everything we needed - including the very important free wi-fi. The pool area is just gorgeous and somehow crowded yet serene. The Setai is on the main drag in South Beach - either walking distance or an easy cab away from the best restaurants.

We had the brunch buffet in the hotel and while it was definitely pricey (around $60 pp) - it was delicious and had a huge assortment of foods.

I would definitely recommend this for a romantic getaway. Probably wouldn't want to bring the kiddies though - but then again - I never felt South Beach was a good place for the kids to vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PickyNYer246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Setai is the best hotel I've stayed in on South Beach, and I've been to a few of them. My wife, 10 year old child and I stayed here for a long weekend - taking advantage of a "3 nights for the price of 2" deal. When we first arrived we were warmly welcomed and given a quick tour before going to the room. We stayed in a wonderful courtyard view suite which had plenty of space for the three of us. The bed was comfortable and I liked the rainfall shower in the large bathroom.

The facilities are excellent and service was top notch. The warmest pool was our primary hangout every day, but we also enjoyed the beach as well. There were not a lot of children there (which we expected after reading the other reviews of the hotel), but my son made friends pretty quickly. We did not have a problem finding chairs at the pool or beach. The location was a little farther from Lincoln Rd where we like to visit at night, but that was not a big deal.

The pool menu was very good and we appreciated the free goodies during the day! We asked for a late checkout which the staff granted with no problems. I would love to return to the Setai but the next time it will be sans child!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

This was probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in . The ambience was just great , pool great and the breakfast to die for especially when taken in the courtyard .
The room was beautiful but the thing that struck me the most was the subtle background music .

Only thing that let it down was billing me twice for breakfast and the room !

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#4 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,980 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Faena Hotel Miami Beach
#1 of 206 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
1 Hotel South Beach
1 Hotel South Beach
#13 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 2,024 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#7 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
The Confidante
#18 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Setai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Setai

Property: The Setai
Address: 2001 Collins Ave., Miami Beach, FL 33139-1913
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#14 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Setai 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Setai is an intimate, serene oceanfront resort in the heart of South Beach. Its design vision artfully combines the rich architectural history of the neighborhood and its cultural diversity with the International Art Deco movement, particularly its influence in Asia. Our new restaurant, Jaya, invites you to discover a menu that dedicated to the traditional flavors and dishes of Asia from China, India, Thailand and Japan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Setai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Hotel Miami Beach
Setai Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing