We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Latin Eats” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ola at the Sanctuary

Ola at the Sanctuary
Reserve with OpenTable
Ola at the Sanctuary is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 1,026 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: Caribbean, Peruvian, Latin, Seafood, Central American, Spanish, Cuban, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 17th
Description: Good for Romance, Special Occasions, Entertaining Clients, Large Groups, Private Dining Dinner Options: Reservations, Dessert, Late Night, Out door Dining, Private or Semi Private dining available for large groups
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Latin Eats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We found the food to be innovative and well prepared -- our server told us the Chicharron ("Crispy rock shrimp coated with rice and corn flour with a sweet and spicy panka sauce with micro cilantro") would melt in our mouths and it did! Very delicious. The staff are passionate and knowledgeable about the menu, the prices are what you would expect and the location is only a block from the Delano. Overall, we had a very good night and would come back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Ola Restaurant. Thank you for your review and great compliments towards the staff. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    848
    244
    80
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

An intimate restaurant close to the main shopping district in South Beach, this gem offers food of superb quality and unparalleled service from a knowledgeable staff.
I really cannot rate the dining experience here highly enough and I have been to some of the finest establishments in the world. The smoked marlin tacos and the short rib empanada were out of this world.

A relaxed atmosphere, informed recommendations, and the quality to back it all up.

If you're in Miami Beach, you have to go here!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ImagineMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Ola Restaurant. Thank you for your review and compliments towards our staff. We hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stellar in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Service, food, ambiance--OLA has five stars for everything. We started with the Fire and Ice ceviche, which was quite possibly the best ceviche I have ever had. If there is one negative, it is that one must exit outside to use the restrooms in another part of the building, and in a Florida shower, the last thing you want to do is go outside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Perennial_tourist84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Ola Restaurant and loved our ceviche. Thank you for your review and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“OMG hamachi nikkei is stupendous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Fabulously friendly place. Everyone knows everything about the menu down to what they marinate the food stating every herb. The hamachi was the best ceviche and the mixed ceviche (shrimp, octopus, cobia) being more traditional was real good.
Robby the manager was filling in as the bartender and was such a wealth of information and super nice person. Excellent service and friendly staff. We had the lamb chops and salmon. I wasn't expecting a full rack and couldn't finish it. I'm normally a big Cabernet California wine drinker but they really didn't have any beside Louis martini so I tried the Argentinian Cabernet and really enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank Roadtrip911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
We are pleased to read you had a wonderful time and your enjoyed the ceviche, lamp and salmon. We hope you can return again and try the other ceviches we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Unfortunate experience when holding a business reception at Ola earlier in the year led to an overpriced party where the food ran consistently low due to "other receptions held on the same evening". I would not recommend this restaurant for a large group event.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TFeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OLA1745, Owner at Ola at the Sanctuary, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you did not have the experience you were looking to have at Ola. When was your event and where do you think it was overpriced? We love to hear feedback so that we can assist better. We have events all the time at Ola as well as many corporate receptions and have not heard of food being low or complaints; therefore please let me know your areas of dissappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ola at the Sanctuary also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Ola at the Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing