We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around excellence”
Review of Quinn's - CLOSED

Quinn's
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: From the man who brought Miami the celebrated cuisine at A Fish Called Avalon for nearly a decade comes Quinn’s, one of Miami's up and coming seafood favorites. Award-winning Chef/Proprietor Gerry Quinn is well known, well loved, and his culinary finesse has transformed a visit to the bustling Ocean Drive into an absolute treat. Quinn is dedicated to utilizing only the freshest available ingredients- from pristine seafood to just picked native farm produce. Cleverly redefining “local flavor”, the beloved chef fuses old-Florida style seafood concepts with progressive global trends. The result is a South Beach seafood institution in-the-making.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“All around excellence”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were sent to Quinn's at the suggestion of our hotel concierge. It was an excellent choice. Although it is on the noisy and tacky Ocean Drive, it shares nothing in common with its neighbors. The food was excellent. I had the grouper served with lobster mashed potatoes. The fish was cooked perfectly and well seasoned. My husband had the seafood pasta and thought it was excellent as well. The wine list had a good variety at generally reasonable prices. There was a gentleman playing the trumpet and piano who was fabulous. Despite the location, it was reasonably quiet even eating outdoors. Our waiter was excellent. He knew the menu well and made great suggestions. He was attentive without being overbearing. By far the best place we visited on our trip.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tink1Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quinnspark, Owner at Quinn's, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Great choice of entrees! I'm happy to hear that we came recommended by the hotel concierge, and even more thrilled that our top-notch staff, live music, and freshly prepared seafood exceeded your expectations. If you ever vacation to Miami Beach again, we'd love to have you back for another memorable night!

All the best,
Gerry, Executive Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    98
    35
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A real restaurant on Ocean Drive”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Ocean's Drive, it's nice but in matter of good restaurant, it's a little bit desapointing. A lot of the restaurant of this famous location are kind of poor, common or even shabby places. They are more interested by saling you their expensive big glass cocktail than proposing goog and inventive food.
The Quinn's offers inventive and original "cuisine", quality product and top serving. Of course, it's a little bit more expensive than other restaurant but if you want good cuisine, it worth the price.
I juste remember the shrimps as "entrée" and the Florida lemon curd pie as desert (of which I'm not usually fond of). Didn't taste the Florida lobster but regret it as I read other commentaries ;-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quinnspark, Owner at Quinn's, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
I'm thrilled you think our original cuisine is worth the price, Jeami! We strive to provide excellent dishes, creative cocktails, and desserts to die for — it's nice to know we were able to impress you. If you ever find yourself in Miami Beach again, we'd love to welcome you back for that lobster!

All the best,
Gerry, Executive Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Be wary of the bottled water”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We visited here for dinner and found the service ok, the food acceptable and the ambience not great. The restaurant considered itself higher than that of a hotel restaurant. The big issue was that we felt almost forced to accept a bottle of still water by the wait staff, only on receipt of the bill to find out that this bottle of water cost US$9. Once you add in the "added for your convenience" 18% tip as well as taxes - this turns out to be the most expensive bottle of still water we've ever had... Thanks but no thanks...

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendonDunn78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quinnspark, Owner at Quinn's, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
I'm very sorry you felt pressured into accepting a bottle of water, Brendon. We never want to make our guests feel anything but relaxed and comfortable when they dine with us, so I will speak to the staff about not coming across as too pushy. Thanks for voicing your concerns, and I'm sorry you weren't more impressed.

All the best,
Gerry, Executive Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Anniversary celebration”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I chose Quinn's because of the Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We splurged and had the Florida lobster tail (super sweet), the oscar filet (tender and perfectly prepared) and finished with the key lime pie. I search for a good key lime pie wherever we go and Quinn's is one of the best ever. Tart, not that fake cheesecake stuff, great crust and real whip cream! Yummmm. Pricey but worth the splurge for the special occasion.

Helpful?
Thank gsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quinnspark, Owner at Quinn's, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
I'm glad it was our TripAdvisor reviews that got you in the door, but even happier you were so impressed with our lobster, filet, and Key Lime pie! Thanks for the great review, and it was a pleasure to have the two of you for your special occasion.

All the best,
Gerry, Executive Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
637 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Great sea food place”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We sat outside on the terrace where the live animation takes place. Though sometimes conflicting with the neighbours' it adds to the nice atmosphere. We started with an excellent water melon mojito, for starters the crab was excellent but you'll need to plunge into it with your hands, the sea bass with its vegetables risotto is perfectly cooked and seasoned. All this accompanied by a reisling and concluded by an excellent moulton cake. All this comes at a cost of 150 usd per person but it is worth it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanmouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quinnspark, Owner at Quinn's, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for following up with us after dinner and drinks on our terrace! I'm pleased we were able to make your time in Miami Beach so enjoyable, and it's nice to hear such kind words about our cocktails and dishes. If you ever make it back to the United States and find yourself in our area, we'd love welcome you back!

All the best,
Gerry, Executive Chef/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinn's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing