We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Run down hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach
1 review
“Run down hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

no frills hotle room, few outlets to plug in anything you may need. AC units failed in 2 rooms so I had to transfer to a new room, ( twice ). No fresh drinking water in vending machines. Smoke smell in my room even though it was a non smoking section ( floor).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short of your expectation due to other guest smoking and not having fresh drinking water. We do have non-smoking floors but unfortunately, some guest do not comply. Whenever incident like this is reported, our security is dispatched to put an immediate stop to such violations. As far as the drinking water, I’m sorry we did not have it in the vending machine we will be contacting our vendors to see if this is something we can obtain for our vending machines.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    94
    65
    55
See reviews for
108
75
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Aside from the hotel being completely outdated (which I could deal with), the infestation of roaches is beyond disgusting. If you're lonely and need company this is the place to go... Roaches will keep you company in bed! Three Roaches were crawling on my bed. Absolutely ridiculous! And the electricity went out three times in the 5hrs we were there. Don't bother staying there... We couldn't even stay the night... We left at 2am!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short due to the few issues you mentioned in your review.
Maintenance and Housekeeping have been notified of your comments to make sure these issues are taking care of moving forward and pest control has also been called . Thank you again for your feedback.

Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for about 4 nights, our room was clean and comfortable, but, it's an old hotel and needs some upgrading. Nice pool area and right on the beach. We will consider coming back.we w were here back in 2008.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patcat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. I’m glad you were comfortable and hope you will come back to visit us again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Oh my god what was wrong with this dump!!!!! Years ago I stayed here but nothing like how it was the lobby smelled like arm pit nasty pool not enough chairs bathroom gross all I have to say is department of health please shut this place down ghetto gross scary!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessi00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments, every bit of information is valuable to us. I apologize that every aspect of your stay was less than 100% satisfactory. The appropriate departments have been notified regarding the comments so that way may improve the areas of concern you have mentioned. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Best Regards.
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff in the hotel was very helpful and friendly. But the hotel is stuck in time, more especifically in the 1960's. It is very clean, but it does need a make-over to keep with the times. The cafe/bar is great, the food excellent and the staff very friendly. The location is great, hopefully they do some renovations to it. It will bring in more guest. My overall experience was good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank kiwi3482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. Although some updates are needed I am delighted to hear our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. We hope you will visit again.

Best Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Solara Surfside Resort
Solara Surfside Resort
#3 of 8 in Surfside
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside
1.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Property: Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Address: 8701 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33154 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#113 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing