We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse don't stay !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Ranked #193 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worse don't stay !!!!!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Dirty, roaches ,and the worse the next room it was a fight at 5 am you can hear every thing from the next room bad don't go there!!! I feel I was staying in some housing project my advise pay more for something better

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailealv34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for falling short due to the few issues you had encountered during your stay. . The appropriate departments have been notified of the issues you have mentioned so that we can improve upon this for future guest. Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    95
    65
    55
See reviews for
108
76
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean and they had awesome ocean views. The manager of the hotel was very nice and truly interested in providing the best customer service. The elevator sometimes got stuck but it would be rapidly fixed.
It has a very nice jacuzzi and a big pool. The pool has a children's part and then a big deep area for adults. The hotel is in front of the beach. Please note that you have to pay for parking and a resort fee per day. It is in total $26 daily.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellafio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your review. I am delighted that you loved our ocean view as much as we do and that the room was to your satisfaction. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the manager of the hotel to service that was provided by him to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards, Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Here's my review. As said in previous post the hotel is in great need of an update, But unlike other posts I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was clean but the furniture is old and there is some cosmetic problems with cracked plaster and an older kitchenette area, but the room looked freshly painted and the ac worked well. Noise was a problem as stated in past posts. There was a party going on untill about 3am in the next room so i didnt get much sleep but overall for the price and location I would have to say that I would stay here again. And I found the breakfast buffet to be quite good and reasonably priced at $10.00 for all you can eat.

Room Tip: The room I had was an ocean view on the 8th floor with a wonderful view of the beach looking south a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kharmannghia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank for staying with us and for taking your time to write a review. I'm pleased to hear you thought of the staff as friendly and helpful as we do aim to make our guest feel welcome. I'm sorry that you had disturbance while you were trying to sleep, we will make sure to monitor this for our future guests. We looking forward to you visiting with us again.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

nice place to be in Miami Beach. Economical, close to South Beach, close to the beach and equipped with a nice swimming pool.
The hotel interior is a little old but that's OK for a short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed the beach and swimming pool. We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The locación of this hotel is perfect. Yes it's not close to south beach but it has it's own beach, which is nice and clean. If you want to go to south beach it's just within 15 minutes by car. The area is really much quieter that south beach, which could be good if you don't enjoy traffic or too much noise.
At the front desk they are okay, they are not rude but rather dry, they could use some cheerfulness to feel you more welcome, they didn't look too happy.
The rooms are clean and spacious, the toilet is a bit dated and I suggest that the shower handles be upgraded to a single handle mixer with a pressure balancing valve, this is because the water temperature fluctuates too much between cold and hot while you are taking a shower.
We enjoyed the hotel's restaurant, the food was good, specially the breakfast. The staff is very friendly and they talk and smile to everyone.
Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rkitekto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We value all of our guests feedback and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are so glad to know you enjoyed your time here and that the location was also pleasing. I aplologize that our staff's demeanor was not welcoming, however we do appreciate you bringing it to our attention so that we can improve. We are glad that overall your stay was great for you and we hope to have the opportunity to have you back. Also we will forward the issue with the bathroom to our maintenance department.

Best Regards,

The Staff of the Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed: December 2012.
2 double beds.

Pros:
- In room safe provided.
- Shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser & mouthwash provided.
- Fridge provided.
- Free Wifi, however quite slow.
- Private beach.
- Laundry facilities.

Cons:
- Quite far from South Beach.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meandmyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria R, Manager at Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing us and taking the time to provide your review. South Beach is not walking distance but you can take a short cab/bus ride and be there in minutes to enjoy it there. I'm glad that we were able to provide you the items you listed to make your stay more comfortable. We hope that you will visit with us again.
The Staff of the Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Solara Surfside Resort
Solara Surfside Resort
#5 of 9 in Surfside
226 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
0.1 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Property: Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Address: 8701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33154-3403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#120 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing