We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lackluster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Ranked #191 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach
1 review
“lackluster”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

The room was not the best. We saw roaches inside the room as well as outside the room door. I also don't understand the point of a resort fee when we have towels that we can use from our room. Also, the towel guy was never present each time I went to go get a towel. I also didn't like the fact that you could only have two beach chairs per room. If I'm paying a resort fee it should cover how many parties that's saying in the room 2 or 4 it shouldn't matter how many, I'M PAYING for it.
The bathroom smelled like piss and it appeared that the room may have water damage along the ceiling but was painted over.
The price we paid was reasonable but only for the room exculding the resort fee but the living conditions was not worth it. The staff was nice and attentive when asked for things.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    43
    95
    65
    55
See reviews for
108
76
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This hotel seems much better when you look at it online. When you get there you realize it is missing all of the furniture, decorations, and amenities shown on the website. They will charge you parking and "resort" fees daily that get added on at check in that give you the right to get a chair (if there are any left) during the day.

The rooms are bare, dingy, and smell funny, much like the rest of the hotel.

Most importantly, a cell phone and charger was stolen right out of our room on the last day we were there and the hotel management did not do anything to help us. In fact, they just told us to call the police because it was probably "long gone by now."

Other sympathetic employees told us that there are serious problems with theft there. In fact, we heard another woman complaining about a similar situation the same morning that our cell phone went missing. We should have been warned!

Do NOT stay here. It is overpriced, dingy, and there is a serious problem with theft from the locked hotel rooms while the GM and management do nothing to stop it or even remedy the situation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eeerrrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Attleboro
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

The hotel was fine for the price being on the beach. However, the whole place needs updating. We were told this is in the works, but was not told when. The pictures on the web were not indicative of the actual conditions. Although old and in need of updating it was clean, which is very important.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
241 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Our room was not ready so we had to pay for them to hold our Bags. The nearest food other than their overpriced menu was 4 walking miles to a Subway. We realize the hotel was older but only one elevator worked taking it a long time to get in and out of your room. ATM and vending machines did not work. The door to our room had to be body slammed by my husband to open and could not be opened by my daughter and myself. We found an ant on my daughters pillow and my husband spotted two roaches while I was smelling smoking roaches in the next room over. NEVER again!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

While the employees were most helpful (Jackie at the front desk, the general manager, the maintenance man who tried to fix the broken heating unit in room 622) the hotel needs a makeover. The rooms are under furnished and ugly, the beds uncomfortable and the hall soda machines don't work. The $10 breakfast is an inedible rip off. When we tried to get a cup of coffee the waitress told us she would bring it to our table. She walked around with a pot but never served the coffee. And is it necessary to have music at the pool all day long?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank easytraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
0.1 mi away
Solara Surfside Resort
Solara Surfside Resort
#4 of 9 in Surfside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
1.0 mi away
Sun Harbour Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bal Harbour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#111 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Beach Hotel Surfside West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Property: Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Address: 8701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33154-3403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#119 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing