We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor the hotel itself plus staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel
Ranked #198 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Do not go there. The hotel looks as if it hasn't been renovated since the 80's. It looks old, it smells old. Rooms extremely basic, used up, smelly and looking dirty. Staff's attitude horrible. I haven't experienced such an unfriendly and uninterested approach anywhere so far. Those people seem to be punished and offended every time they need to open their mouth to speak to the client. On the last day there was a line of people waiting for hours to check in as " the system was down". No explanation, no appologies, it was obvious they were a nuisanse to the staff and they were treated alike. I spent a week there as it was close to my friends house but honestly I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. The only plus is the pool area that is accaptable and proximity of the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magdalena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

87 - 93 of 268 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

This place is in disrepair. Everything. The rooms are small, every bed in the hotel is a double, it's truly horrible. We are afraid about bugs and no wonder since the place is in horrible shape and no doubt would not look clean even if the walls were bleached. The internet I the rooms does not work. It's 1 am and there are a bunch of us sitting in the lobby using the internet. We were not expecting much but the ceramic mismatched floors and the hard beds and the ugly toilets and the bathtub with the chunk missing are just too horrible. We checked in late and it's too late to leave and find another place but I would gladly lose the ninety bucks if it were 4 pm. Do not stay here. Howard Johnson's should be ashamed.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. It's worse than some youth hostels I have stayed tin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schwevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We left a gift card in the safe. The maid, or some other employee stole it. Manager was unresponsive, always in a "meeting". The front desk lady hung up on me twice when I asked for the mgr. And on top of it all, the room was a dump, dirty, gross, the pool was nasty, the beach guy was mean. I wouldn't wish this stay on anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carriemq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Lobby Uninviting! I arrived at 10:00pm no one was at the Front Desk so I hit the Bell waited 10 min hit the bell again and waited 5 minutes. An unfriendly lady finally came from the Office(as if I was disturbing her) and Checked me in. I didn't care for the area AT All!! Shops/Eateries too far off from Walking Distance! I checked out in the Morning!!! Won't go back!! Old Needs Updates Badly!!!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a rip off. It is a filthy place with roaches on d wall. The hotel is nothing like u see online.the floor in d rooms are dirty, d carpet in d hallways are nasty.was a real disappointment. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere else. Read reviews before booking. Sorry we didnt

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Down2erth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

When I travel, I make sure the hotel has a gym. This hotel advertises it has a gym. The first day at the hotel I searched for the gym to no avail. When I asked the front desk I was told they no longer had a gym. I stated their web site states they have a gym and I was told in a rather disgusting manner their web site says many things they don't have. On my last night, my heat went out in my room. When I went to the front desk, I was met by the same arrogant attendant. He promised a service person would come. Three hours later no service person. When I enquired again, I was met with the same smirk and same response. Fortunately, another attendant exchanged my room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Saying here is a trip to the past. Old cars in the lobby. Characters in the lobby. Most of the main floor space is empty. Rooms are clean and roomy. Nice pool area with hot tub. On the beach. Reasonable parking fee.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Beach
1.2 mi away
The St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
Holiday Inn Miami Beach
#104 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,042 reviews
1.5 mi away
Collins Hotel
Collins Hotel
#102 of 212 in Miami Beach
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,368 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Miami Beach EDITION
The Miami Beach EDITION
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,544 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Miami Beach Surfside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel

Address: 8701 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33154-3403 (Formerly Howard Johnson Plaza Miami Beach North)
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#122 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $66 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Miami Beach North Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach And Spa
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Dezerland Beach Miami Beach
Howard Johnson Plaza Dezerland Beach & Spa
Howard Johnson Miami Beach
Miami Beach Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing