We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A huge disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benihana

Benihana
Reserve with OpenTable
Benihana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #429 of 1,066 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hispanola Avenue
ft lauderdale fl
Level Contributor
90 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A huge disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

What can I say. The experience was nothing like I had in the past or in Seattle. The food and service was OK but not impressive. The cook was OK but nothing like he should be or I have experienced in the past. Rather dull and non interactive even though there were children at the table. The overall experience was a great disappointment. Everything seemed like a hassled. Nothing was good about this place. I certainly did not like the restaurant. I was very very noisy, we were packed at the table like sardines, tables were way too close together and one could not talk or hear anything but noise. My head was pounding. It was so crowded they could not get the food cart in place until others at another table left.
The prices were OK. Not over priced.
The bar service was terrible. You about had to run down the staff to get their attention for service even though we were the only ones in the bar area. Parking was a disorganized mess.
I would not go back to this place again. I recommend checking the inspection reports before eating at this place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    55
    29
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
493 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get,an outdated experience........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Visiting with friends the facade is always very Japanese and if you have enough imagination you could be in Japan,the menus differ very little as this is a chain or franchise menus concentrate on the usual old stuff with tempuras steaks and fish including lobster tails at a primo price.Individuals and couples are often seated in their famous island grouping where a chef tries to entertain the group with knife tapping and special cuts on a steak he may be cooking.Worth mentioning in to watch the overall order as things get cooked on mass before your eyes and get cut and divided quickly a bit here a bit there more knife tapping and I left hungry others thought it was great,try it for yourself but I think its costly for the type and quality of food and very behind the times......

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Horrible food & horrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Where do I begin? They falsely advertise deals online. When you come in, they make you pay the real price. They wait time for a table is ridiculous even when you make a reservation. They have limited parking space available. The hostess seem unaware of what's going on in the restaurant and gives out false information. They didn't even greet us when we walked in. Their sushi is disgusting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoL861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New thing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was near the hotel where I stayed and it was a very new and good experience to have the food cooked in front of you. It was nice and fresh.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ferrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again will I come here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

placed an order over the phone & when I got here, it was not ready & was told I would have to wait 45mins for it smh..I will never step foot here again..poor service

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fylpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benihana also viewed

 

Been to Benihana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing