We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exceptional”
Review of Maya's Grill

Maya's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Maya's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #295 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: City Center
Cross street: Meridian Ave
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Not exceptional”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

we sat down to this place with my wife last tuesday at 11 pm and the thing is we found food and service okay, but nothing great.
We ordered tapas and 2 cocktails... the frozen margarita was very good, the mojito okay but not really tasty. Food is okay too, tapas of fried spicy calamari not enough crispy and absolutely not spicy, argentinian sausages were big but really too greasy and little undercooked, and spanish platter was good, especially the cheese, chorizo and salami not amazing.
Location is fine and service okay...
Everything is worth 2-3 stars, I put 3 because it was a windy night and they put some back covers which prevented us from being cold, so it was a good point.
Just stop by if you are searching an opened place after 11 pm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank man33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaTapas, General Manager at Maya's Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello man33: Thanks for reviewing us. Your opinion is very important to us, that's why your remarks will be taken into consideration. We hope to have you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    237
    157
    94
    88
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Arlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It is ok”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went to this restaurant last week and the food was ok, but we were disappointed with the service charges it was to high for 2 people.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Veronica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaTapas, General Manager at Maya's Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello Veronica: Thanks for reviewing us. We'll take your suggestion into account . Your opinion always counts. However we hope to have you back again and enjoy our food and service.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small drinks and below average food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for a light dinner on Sunday night. We got a great table outside but when we asked the waiter about the 5 dollar frozen drinks they were advertising on the gigantic chalk board menu, he told us they didn't have that. We asked him to go check and sure enough he agreed and we ordered two which were fine but pretty darned small. For food we ordered olive tapenade with warm pita bread and beef empanadas. The olive paste was so excruciatingly salty that it was barely edible and the beef empanadas were clearly frozen and baked in an oven or microwaved. We jumped inside to use the restrooms after paying the check and it is shockingly dirty inside, not just the restrooms but the entire hallway and kitchen areas you could view. I would not recommend this restaurant. Our waiter from Serbia however was great and very friendly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Presleytcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaTapas, General Manager at Maya's Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello Presleytcb, We're very sorry to hear about your experience with this us. Your feedback helps us learn to detect where we should improve in order to provide a better service . However we hope you can give us another opportunity.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They know how to cook a good steak”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews I felt somewhat skeptical.. food good service soso.... But then we got bill... Great guy, always on top of us, always concerned... Excellent..we ordered two steaks, they came out hot and made to order.. just what we wanted.. bread was hot, sangria was great, wine was smooth... Overall an a+... Anyone concerned about the atmosphere outside just stay at home.... Love this place, definanetly will return..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angela-cello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaTapas, General Manager at Maya's Grill, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello, Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We are very happy to hear you gave us a chance and glad you enjoyed our cuisine. Hope to have you here with us very soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami beach, florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“better lunch than dinner?”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

i have been going to maya tapas on lincoln since they opened, generally for lunch....tried dinner and have a few suggestions.
--when the skinny waitstaff can not deliver food beause you have everyone jammed in so tight ,make sure you leave enough room in between chairs etc in order for them to get through. looks like they added tables , but, that one extra table that they may have added, will make regulars like me think twice about returning. can't enjoy a meal when you are only an inch or two away from the persons face at the table next to you. this tight seating is new .
other suggestion is that have a lunch and a dinner menu - each time i found what i really was interested in, the menu would have a notation only available until 4:30pm....very confusing, especially for the foreign tourists. i saw several struggling with the menu.
also ordered several tapas dishes to be delivered at the same time, and this did not happen.
maybe it was a bad night, but it is obvious someone is not paying attention.
maya tapas owners, you had a good thing going, spend a few bucks and have 2 menus, and get rid of one table in your line up for not only the guests comfort, but that of your staff. go back to your old ways! please.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovetheparkcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaTapas, General Manager at Maya's Grill, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hello We're very sorry to hear about your experience with our service. Your feedback helps us learn to detect where we should improve in order to provide a better service . Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya's Grill also viewed

Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Maya's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing