We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay @ Sanctuary South Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary South Beach
Ranked #149 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing stay @ Sanctuary South Beach”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I just got back from a week stay at the Sanctuary South Beach and cannot say enough good things about it. The stay from start to finish was incredible. They have the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. From being invited to their staff xmas party for drinks and dancing, their large beautiful rooms, the perfect location just a short walk to everywhere you'd want to be, a great section on the beach and access to their sister properties large pool...we were really treated like vip's. Extra thank you's to Carlos, Louis and Hektor to making this trip extra special. We can't wait to go back. If you want a hotel that has everything that you would need in South Beach this is the place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank worldexplorer_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello and Thank you for this excellent review. It gives great pleasure that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to share with us our holiday party. A special shout out will be given to all team members. When you are ready to visit us again please email me at cdejesus@meninhotels.com so that I can extend a preferred rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    272
    153
    100
    127
See reviews for
107
369
65
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I've stayed at the Sanctuary several times over the past four years, and while it is one of the better hotels on South Beach for the price (really, it's quite a deal), the wear and tear at the Sanctuary is starting to show: paint chipping, scuff marks, broken fixtures, stale bagels at breakfast, etc. They are making improvements to the stairwells and the roof, which is a good sign, though. We were guided to their "sister property" to use their pool during renovations, which was probably not the smartest idea because the Gale/Regent is a waaaaaay better looking hotel and makes the shabbiness of the Sanctuary that much more apparent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyinParis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are working hard to take our property to its full potential. Im pleased to hear you enjoyed the facilities at our sister property. Please let me know so that I can personally book your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I spent a wonderful 4 nights in this hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean with all the basic amenities of any name brand hotel. I was pleasantly surprised to find that they are amongst the very few hotels left that still carry complimentary toothbrushes! The staff was extremely polite and helpful and the room came with complimentary breakfast and access to a nearby private beach club which was very convenient. A short 5 minute walk from the beach this hotel was perfect for all our needs and then some. Our very own Keurig in the room was the cherry on top! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rushna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
I am extremely happy that your stay with us was a wonderful experience and you were pleasantly surprised. I will share your comments with all of our staff and please let me know when you plan on visit our beautiful city again so that we can extend a preferred rate. cdejesus@meninhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We arrived after 8pm and were told that they were overbooked so our prepaid reservation was not valid. We were switched to there sister hotel, the Gale. We were not offered help with our luggage but rather were given lousy directions that eventually lead us to get lost in the RAIN! The front desk clerk was useless, unfriendly and quite frankly didn't care about the situation. The manager was not much better. We were then told to come back to view a potential room in the Sanctuary the next day. The last thing we wanted to do was take time our of our vacation but nonetheless we did so. The room had a nice set up but the bed was small and the TV was the size of a computer monitor. I wouldn't recommend the hotel to ANYONE!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steff88s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The place is a boutique hotel
its very nice the rooms are very big! The paid in advance for the room but they charged me the full amount as a deposit and it was returned 3 days after i left.
Pool is VERY small i was calling it the big bath! no one uses it so you can have some peace and quiet up there.
They also have a bar and restaurant up there.
The location is amazing your so close to washington street which is the main strip where everything is

Like i said it wasnt dirty it has a "musty pool smell" its not overpowering.
The only bad thing is the night reception guy is SO RUDE!! He will not help you in anyway so make sure if you need something get it before he arrives!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank l k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We booked, and paid-in-full, for three nights at this hotel. Upon check in, we were told we had to walk two blocks to another hotel and tomorrow pack our belongings and move back to our original hotel. The hotel staff was helpless and nonchalant about their error. There is no manager on duty, therefore we are still waiting for a remedy this entirely unacceptable situation.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank stefanie404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

beautiful hidden oasis away from crazy noise, but close to Lincoln Road where outdoor cafes are to all likings ,great restaurant for dinner ,roof top pool, is not deep but the surreal surroundings are beautiful in the garden atmosphere, great for relaxation
Carlos the Manager does a great deal to assist and make sure your stay is comfortable

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Richie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you Richie for your awesome comments, We are in the perfect location, close to it all the hotspots in South Beach. I’m glad that you got to relax in our roof top pool. Look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Cadet Hotel
#74 of 208 in Miami Beach
946 reviews
City Center
Crest Hotel Suites
Crest Hotel Suites
#144 of 208 in Miami Beach
116 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#51 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#17 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,193 reviews
City Center
SBH South Beach Hotel
SBH South Beach Hotel
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
466 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#67 of 208 in Miami Beach
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Property: Sanctuary South Beach
Address: 1745 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7508
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., And Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing