We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people but won't be back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sanctuary South Beach
Ranked #151 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Number 1 complaint was the roaches. I went to the store and set if 3 Foggers and dead roaches when I came back. Number 2 complaint was the running toilet that they couldn't fix and all the rooms were taken so had to stay here. Number 3 complaint- the sofa is not a sleeper sofa like they stated- it's a leather couch. Number 4- the renovations are not good. The tub is stained and the shower head falls in one place so the back of the tub gets dirty and stays that way unless you manually move the water to clean. Number 5 - not enough space for two people. No draws. I used kitchen draws to store my clothes. Positives- People are nice, great location to beach and shops, their sister hotel is great.
Overall. The price was overrated for all the negatives and because there were nicer places for the same place, I won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaesarAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

It is unfortunate to learn about your recent experience at Sanctuary. Our goal is to deliver an outstanding service and accommodations to all of our guests. We will bring the issues that you noted to the attention of each department. We hope you will give us a second chance to change your mind, as we offer great amenities for our guests. Please email me directly at sanctuaryfd@meninhotels.com to book your stay at a special rate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (867)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

481 - 487 of 867 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed a night at the Sanctuary to experience a stay at a hotel without beach access. What sold it to me was the roof top pool as their website made it seem extravagant. I would definitely say otherwise. It was, what seemed like, a kiddie pool. I couldn't believe it and walked the entire roof looking for the pool they noted so highly.
Besides this, their service was welcoming and the rooms were beautiful. If you don't mind the pool and no beach access, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proud2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and your high praises of our service. I am pleased to hear that you found our 1 bedroom suites accommodating. I apologize if your expectations were not met; however we do provide complimentary access to our private beach club across the street which gives you access to chairs, towels and a wide range of activities. We also grant our guests access to our sister hotel’s rooftop pool, Gale South Beach. I encourage you to email me upon your next return so you can take full advantage of all of our amenities at Sanctuary South Beach. Please email sanctuaryfd@meninhotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Booked on Travelocity and was told this was a 5 star hotel. I don't know where they came up with that. The place was roomy and decorated modern/ikea-esque. It looked thrown together and not ready for tenants. The bathroom was huge but the marble floors are dangerous when wet and there is no door to the shower. The shower heads were dirty with mold and there were two shower heads but one didn't work. The faucet to the tub didn't work either. The floor had cracks in it and there was a dirty q-tip laying in the crack. ewwws The lighting was terrible and there is no counter space to put your things. I had to use the sink. The kitchenette consisted of a microwave( dirty) a refrigerator (not stocked) and a sink( no soap). There was also a little kuerig but didn't use it. The bed was reasonably comfortable. There is a tiny tv in the bedroom off to the corner but no cable. We open the window off to the bedroom which has a semiprivate sitting area except there were dirty utensils, broken tiles, dirty bucket from the maid, cleaning supplies and last but not least a dirty toilet. So I closed the window. It would have been nice to sit outside but that was disgusting. The air conditioning was loud and you could hear other guests outside and the water flowing from the pipes. Parking was expensive, $30 but I expected it. This place needs to be deep cleaned and the walls painted. Not to mention a handyman to fix everything that is broken. No one should have been staying in that room and I feel ripped off. Never going to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank excusemeimlost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

On behalf of Sanctuary Hotel we are extremely disappointed to learn of your perception of the room you stayed in. WE will use your feedback constructively in our continued effort to meet our guests needs. Our goal is to provide service and accommodations that is beyond guest expectations, and it is very unfortunate that we did not achieve this during your stay. I truly hope for another opportunity to change your impressions in the near future. Please email me directly at cdejesus@meninhotels.com if you wish to discuss further as we value you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Both the service and the location of this hotel are wonderful. I purchased the rooms through Groupon at $99/night. I wanted to add an additional night after the deal was over, and MIKE was excellent in accommodating a great rate. Prior to being able to book the extra night I called 2 or 3 times, and Mike was the only one that settled everything. Also, at some point during our stay, the front desk wasn't able to locate our key, and Mike was the one who resolved the problem the next day. He was very helpful and full of great suggestions!

Management, if you are reading this, you should give him a big promotion! :)

The awesomeness of this hotel entails its
1. proximity to the beach -- just 2 blocks away.
2. availability of a microwave in the room -- so you can buy TV dinners in CVS and save money on crazy-priced Miami dining.
3. balcony! Personally, this is a must for me. There aren't a lot of rooms in Miami where you can get a balcony room, especially at a reasonable price.
4. access to the pool on the roof top (very shallow) and at a rooftop of the hotel across the street (beautiful view, great pool, games and drinks available at the poolside)
5. the room has a bedroom (with a TV) and a little living room/kitchen area (ALSO with a TV)
6. continental breakfast included - cereal, muffins, croissants, coffee/tea/juice/milk, cream cheese, jelly, danish, fruit.
7. restaurant available on site- has great reviews.

Room Tip: Second floor is great - there is an inner yard so if you are on the second floor you get a view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank O P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for this most rewarding feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our goal is to create fond memories for our guests, and we are truly delighted to learn that Michael has accomplished this for you. We sincerely appreciate your flattering compliments about our rooms, location and accommodations and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Restaurant was beautiful and hotel decor was very nice. Modern and beautiful. However, the renovations were done so cheaply that the place is falling apart. The shower handle to turn on the water broke off and the faucet was loose. The bed was of the worst quality and uncomfortable. Not to mention it squeaked quite a bit. Reminds me of my college dorm bed 15 years ago. But the location was great. 2 blocks from the water. For the price, it's hard to beat. Parking was steep, $30 a night across the street. I'd probably stay here again cause of overall value.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahndoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay, as your comments are important to us. We are saddened to learn of your dissatisfaction with the accommodations. We do our absolute best to ensure all guests are comfortable and content during their stay. We hope for an opportunity to provide a more enjoyable experience for you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for a weekend to celebrate my birthday with some friends. I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room... Living room and kitchen in the front with the bedroom separate from that space. The restaurant at the front is VERY busy and made it awkward to check in. The rooftop pool is small but was empty of guests so we had a great time. As a Miami native I have to say thus location is great. Walking distance to Lincoln Rd (full of shops and restaurants) and literally a block from the beach. They informed us of access to a nearby pool and we have to say that was the best perk. That pool had great loungers, provided guests with sun lotion and Popsicles. It also had great rooftop views and a bar. We love south beach and enjoyed our staycation at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your recent stay. I am delighted that your overall experience was a great one and you were able to take advantage of all the perks we offer our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel was booked on Hotwire for a girls weekend getaway. The price was low compared to other South Beach hotels, but clearly, you get what you pay for. The hotel is in a good location but the service needs improvement. Upon checking in and inspecting the room, it was modern but slightly run down or just not clean enough (stains on furniture, bedding, and bathtub). It was big with a separate sitting area with a kitchenette. There were no washcloths present in the room and we had to ask for them every single day that we were there. Housekeeping did not clean our room until after 6pm on most days. I was told that there was going to be a sofa bed, but there was just a sofa that I was told could be used as a bed when sheets were added. The pool on the rooftop is so small that it is only for wading (like a big whirlpool). Fortunately, we were told that we could use the pool down the street at their sister hotel (a really nice rooftop pool). There was daily breakfast which consisted of old cereal, muffins, and waffles. We also saw other guests complaining about their rooms and the service as well. Overall, not a 3 1/2 star hotel; more like a 2 1/2 star!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlos D, Manager at Sanctuary South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

I want to apologize for any inconveniences encountered with our services. Our goal is to provide service that is above and beyond guest expectations, and it is unfortunate that we did not achieve this during your stay. I promise to look into these matters and if given the chance to serve better, we will not let you down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nassau Suite Hotel
Nassau Suite Hotel
#118 of 212 in Miami Beach
579 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#111 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,585 reviews
City Center
Greenview Hotel
Greenview Hotel
#163 of 212 in Miami Beach
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,637 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary South Beach

Address: 1745 James Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7508
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: $243 - $1,045 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanctuary Hotel is in an ideal South Beach setting for those who want to be away from it all but in the middle of it all. Our four star boutique hotel is located steps away from Collins Avenue, the Fillmore at Jackie Gleason Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, New World Symphony, Washington Ave., And Ocean Drive. Whether your trip is business or leisure our knowledgeable staffs will guide your South Beach experience and make sure that exceptional service is unlike any other Miami Beach Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sanctuary South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Sanctuary South Beach Miami

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing