We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food & Presentations”

Barton G. The Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barton G. The Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #143 of 1,075 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 14th Court
Description: Barton G. The Restaurant fuses contemporary American cuisine with over-the-top presentations. A perennial favorite with locals and tourists alike, Barton G. The Restaurant serves up memorable food in sexy surroundings. Signature dishes includes Popcorn Shrimp (served with real popcorn) and the Chocolate Fun Do, four pounds of melted chocolate with mini dippables. “A perpetual party,” raves the Miami Herald. “The most daringly and delightfully different restaurant in Miami Beach,” says the Miami New Times.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Presentations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

I always come to Barton G's for every special occasion. I just happen to love it. It is definitely the place to see and be seen in Miami. I happened to see a Miami Heat player sitting at the next table, when I was there, recently. I would definitely recommend the 'Mouse Trap Mac & Cheese', it is one of my favorites. If you are contemplating whether to sit inside or out, there is just no wrong answer. Inside is modern, trendy, and cool, while outside is magical, airy, and beautiful. When in Miami, you definitely should try and grab a bite!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattInMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    260
    137
    82
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fun and worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We drive in from Palm beach so, high expectations which were met at every turn. We had a large group of 10 mostly older teenagers - so the perfect spot. The food is great and every item is an adventure in taste and presentation - duck spring roll served in a duck decoy, steak served with a giant fork, funnel cake served with a carnival game. The servers were knowledgable and did as well a humanly possible with our indecisive and large group. We left smiling and stuffed. We will return on our next trip south.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EARHf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Surprise in Every Plate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We asked our concierge for a restaurant that was "out of the ordinary" and "different" and he immediately said Barton G. was the place for us. We got there at 6:45 and the place was nearly empty. We were asked if we wanted to sit inside or outside and we chose the latter because it was such a nice night. We were than promptly seated and were given iPads that had the menu on them. Our waitress came over to us and explained it a bit. She told us about the "nitro-tinis". Those were cocktails (or lemonades) that had liquid nitrogen in them so they would smoke and stay cold longer. We got the "diamonds are forever" one and a kids lemonade. After that, we ordered our meal. We got the swordfish, "gizmo chicken", "lobster pop-tarts", and the chopped salad. Each of them were amazing and served on very amusing plates. The swordfish was served on a plate with a giant plastic fish standing up about 2 feet tall. The chicken was served on a plate with a junk sculpture of a chicken (hence the gizmo part). The lobster pop-tarts were served in a giant plastic toaster. The swordfish was nicely spiced and very moist. The chicken was very juicy and had a really amazing au jus that had various spices and honey in it. The pop-tarts were a flaky puff pastry with gruyere cheese and plenty of lobster.

We had funnelcakes for dessert, a delicious carnival treat, I won't spoil the surprise for the kids on this one.

The ambiance is nice in the garden, there were many failies but also quiet corners for couples, leafy and cool.

The price is outrageous, so do it for a splurge, we thought it was worth it. I would disagree with the other reviewers, that although the restaurant is heavy on presentation, the food is indeed equally good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wtkorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

A very fun place to eat with family and friends. Somewhat pricey and food might not live up to the price but very fun and experience makes up for the food. Would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam12681268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“You must go at least once”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place is pretty amazing, pretty expensive too. But I believe everyone has to go here at least once. The drink are awesome and the food is to die for, especially the presentation. But of course save room for dessert. TRUST ME.

I went here for my 3 year anniversary dinner with my boyfriend, and would love to come back. Had the "one potato, two potato" which includes Salmon with quinoa and green beans. But trust me, the taste is so ridiculously amazing.

But I dont want to spoil the fun for you. All I can say is the bill may come out to be 200 dollars, but the memories and experience you will always keep with you.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton G. The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Barton G. The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing