We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like an Upscale T.G.I Friday's in the heart of South Beach”

Barton G. The Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Barton G. The Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 1,074 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 14th Court
Description: Barton G. The Restaurant fuses contemporary American cuisine with over-the-top presentations. A perennial favorite with locals and tourists alike, Barton G. The Restaurant serves up memorable food in sexy surroundings. Signature dishes includes Popcorn Shrimp (served with real popcorn) and the Chocolate Fun Do, four pounds of melted chocolate with mini dippables. “A perpetual party,” raves the Miami Herald. “The most daringly and delightfully different restaurant in Miami Beach,” says the Miami New Times.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Like an Upscale T.G.I Friday's in the heart of South Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Went here to celebrate a friends birthday in early May. Was told that 'You go for the presentation and the atmosphere.' Clearly, they were right, here's my list of good and bad Baron G's SoBe Miami. Good: In the middle South Beach, the place where celebrities play and the affluent live. Restaurant had a get vibe, lot of energy and people dressed to kill (I recommend you dress the same, dressy and fashionable). Romantic lighting, lots of creams, pinks and browns in the decor. Enjoyed taking pictures by the wall of flowers, a place you go to for an special occasion. Nitro bar drink to just about all entrees come out on these oversized plates with doodads and other nonscence things. For instance if you order the chicken entree, your chicken comes out with a, guess what? A chicken! How original I know. So sarcasm aside here is a list of bad. Bad: Parking is a joke in SoBe to began with, so image a Saturday night. Word of advice, pay $15 for valet parking instead, will save you time. Restaurant is on the small side, there were times where I felt I could reach over and take something off my neighbors plate with ease. Elbows touching others elbows, a bit too cramped for my taste. I hated, absolutely the plate critters on every entree, they where a bit ostentatious for me. It made me feel like I was at a kids restaurant, oversized toys on our plates I think cheapen the whole experience. The menu reminded me of what is known as casual dine. That's food that is kid friendly like chicken, potato fries, tater tots, short ribs macaroni and cheese. I ordered the lobster Mac n cheese based off of the online reviews and was greatly disappointed. The lobster bits felt like chew rubber, the cheese topping was so thick I had to use a steak knife to cut through it. Felt like the food was a BIG missed opportunity for a 4 star restaurant. The same food at TGIFridays for half the cost, wasn't impressed at all. Expect to pay for the presentation for sure and the location, don't expect anything more. If your a real foodie nut like I am, you probably should skip out on Baron G's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orangemoon704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    260
    137
    82
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Barton G review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

There is nothing ordinary, about this seemingly normal restaurant, which is why regulars include celebrities like Will Smith and Tom Cruise. The dining room has a hip, trendy feel to it, as it is popular with many members of the socialite set, for whom Barton G., the creator has made affairs for. The restaurant includes an outdoor courtyard which is quite romantic, including dim lighting and tropical surroundings for guests to sit and enjoy, as well as a bar area inside the actual restaurant itself. The atmosphere is fun, trendy, and there is always something to look at, as the dishes are so over-the-top that everyone’s heads are turning to see the next plate that comes out of the kitchen.

At Barton G., the presentation is remarkable and the portions are quite sizeable, enough to share. Take, for instance, the popcorn shrimp appetizer. This is not your average Asian infused dish. Presented on a plate full of popcorn, with field greens, and the crunchy, saucy rock shrimp packed into a movie theatre style popcorn box, this is one of the numerous jaw-dropping dishes that are included on the menu at Barton G. The mini burger sliders appetizer is served with fries and a variety of different sauces and dips. What it also comes with is a ketchup bottle, that is not a regular sized bottle, but a completely oversized bottle that is triple the size of a regular one. In addition to the food having an interesting touch, the cocktails definitely stand out. Like the appetizers and entrees, the desserts are equally as outrageous. The “Chocolate Indulgence” dessert includes a warm, soft chocolate brownie, with chocolate ganache and sweet vanilla bean ice cream. This creation is brought out in a treasure chest with sparklers all around it. Underneath the treasure chest lays crumbled up graham crackers that act as the “sand” from the chest.
Another distinct detail to add to the entertaining dining experience included the menus. The menus at Barton G. are iPad’s, which are on stands that you can scroll through to find your desired food. The servers are great as they are very knowledgeable, enlightening customers with every detail about the dishes by having great input helping with what to order, as well as suggesting what is most popular.
Though the presentation is impressive, the prices of these remarkably presented meals are quite expensive. For a birthday, or special occasion, or even just to show someone an interesting take on food, Barton G. will definitely set the tone for a fun, and memorable night for all. The overall experience of Barton G. is a fantastic one. The atmosphere and as well as the food presentations together create an entertaining and pleasurable experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fun and great food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

I went there with some friends/colleagues, the food was great, the atmosphere nice and fun. Every dish was special not only for the quality of the food but for how they were presented.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gianpaolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, VA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great concept - poor execution. Go elsewhere.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Husband and I were so looking forward to dinner after multiple recommendations but were extremely disappointed. Young staff was not nearly attentive enough - very low energy, poor explanations of food and drinks, empty water glasses, seemed disinterested in whether we liked our food. Outdoor garden setting is very pretty which I recommend as the tables indoors are clearly jammed in to maximize the # patrons they can get in the door. Meals came out lukewarm at best and cold items were almost to the point of frozen. Great concept - really poor execution. Did I mention it is outrageously expensive? Miami has so many amazing places to eat - I recommend you go elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveTaxidia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You are kidding me, righ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were a big table as the occasion was a friends birthday.
Even if I tried my best there is nothing that the entire party enjoyed of the night.

I don't even know where to start.
Food tasted like nothing, service was terrible, and steak was all cooked the same as apparently you can only have your steak medium (which was more like charcoal well done) if you are a big party. The nerve.
Tried to over charge us and added more service to the bill.
It is simple, dont ever go to this place

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Pimlico_studio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barton G. The Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Barton G. The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing