We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avalon Is One Amazing Fish”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 4/18
8:00 PM
Ranked #72 of 1,028 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: A Fish Called Avalon, a time-honored seafood tradition in Miami Beach. Our live Latin-Caribbean music nightly creates an unforgettable ambiance great for people-watching on our outside terrace. Diners rave about our daily delivered seafood with favorites such as the Macadamia Snapper, Crab-Crusted Black Grouper, or the classic Sake & Tarragon Glazed Lobster Tails. Our renowned Executive Chef Kal Abdalla has created a menu bursting with flavor and a Caribbean Mediterranean influence. The superb cuisine, relaxed Ocean Drive setting, and impeccable service have been delighting diners with culinary excellence since 1989.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

If you're looking for the perfect place for atmosphere, amazing food and great service...your search is over. You're overlooking the beach and Ocean Drive for starters and a band playing on the patio the making the scene even more enjoyable.
We were seated in less than 5 minutes and tyhe service was right on. Our waiter paired our seafood dinner selection with the most amazing Oregon Pinoit Noir ever.
It was our anniversary so our waiter brought us a huge plate of desert that had Happy Anniversary written in chocolate on the plate itself. GREAT TOUCH!
The experience was amazing from start to finish.
If your in Miami you have to eat experience this jewel yourself.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank wareagle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Guest,
It was our great pleasure to help make your anniversary dinner a memorable one. Thank you for choosing us, and for writing so enthusiastically about your experience. Your generous recommendation has made our whole team feel happy and honored. We appreciate your taking time to let us about everything you enjoyed, and we hope to welcome you again.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 634 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2016

We really loved the atmosphere and the food at this place. They have indoor or outdoor dining, live music, and wonderful service. We had the mussels appetizer, the filet of Oscar, and the snapper dish with spinach risotto. All was very good!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank HeatherH127
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Heather ,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about the memorable experience you had. We are delighted to know that the atmosphere and the service were perfect, and that you enjoyed each of the top-notch dishes you sampled. We are best known for fresh seafood, so we appreciate your confirming that our filet of beef is outstandingly delicious, too. We look forward to welcoming you again when you are in South Beach.



Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

This was our fifth time at this restaurant, so obviously we think it’s good. In fact, we ate there twice on this trip.

It’s an expensive place, but well worth the price. One recommendation: the portions are very large, so be thoughtful about ordering both an appetizer and main course.

Our waiter was helpful, fast and funny. They have both inside and outside seating.

They had really excellent live entertainment: the first night it was a small band with a great singer; the second night they had “1940’s” theme with classic music of the era and 4 performance dancers.

Note: like most of the South Beach restaurants they automatically add a gratuity. In this case it was 18%.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Carol n Robb,
Your repeat visits say it all, and we could not be more grateful! Heartfelt thanks for generously sharing your happy experiences with our team, and with Trip Advisor readers. Particularly helpful is your note about the South Beach practice of including gratuities in restaurant checks. Although intended as a convenience to diners, it can alarm first-time visitors, so your heads-up is definitely a benefit to readers. We’re glad you enjoyed our special 1940s theme night, as well as our always-tasty cuisine. Looking forward to your next visit.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

We are in Miami for 2 nights and wanted to visit Ocean Drive and eat seafood. It's rockin' in Ocean Drive on a Saturday night.
We ordered an octopus dish as an appetiser. We've had octopus in a few countries but this was the most tender I had ever eaten. Then or main course of Lobster tail.. Delicious. And music and watching the world go by when we ate on the balcony just above the sidewalk. Great

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank LisaK-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Lisa,
It was our pleasure to provide an outstanding dining experience during your brief Miami visit. Thank you for your kind words about our outstandingly tender octopus and succulent lobster. Your satisfaction means the world to us, and we appreciate your taking time to write.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016 via mobile

We ate here last night and it was awesome. It's the only restaurant on the strip that does NOT have someone pestering people to eat there as you walk by. Our server was Marta and she was great. She explained everything well, got everything right and didn't rush our dinner. The food was impeccable: the octopus app, the chopped salad, tuna, and lobster all excellent.

I highly recommend and ask for Marta if possible.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppinault, General Manager at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2016

Dear Steve,
Many thanks for your note about the memorable dinner you enjoyed with us, and for acknowledging the professionalism of our knowledgeable, gracious team. We agree that letting your meal unfold at a leisurely pace makes it all the more pleasurable. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Warm regards, Pascal Pinault, Food & Beverage Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.