We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food, service, atmosphere!!”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, service, atmosphere!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

5 stars all around! Absolutely delicious from start to finish, impeccable service, and very nice atmosphere! I booked a dinner for 10 through Morgan and she couldn't have been more helpful! She made the process so easy and seamless and when we arrived we had a nice table with our personalized menus for my friends bachelorette dinner printed. She absolutely loved them! Our server Orlando was an absolute angel, we loved him! He tended to our every need and made sure the food came out at a perfect pace. The portions were plentiful and soo delicious! He went out of his way to make sure all of our dietary needs were met and I was so impressed that even those who brought the food out knew ahead of time who had what. Extremely organized, professional, delicious, and top notch place. The only thing I would change is location... Move it to philadelphia so I can eat there on a regular basis!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brittany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest, Deepest thanks for letting us know that everything about your bachelorette dinner was perfect. I’ll pass along your compliments to Morgan and Orlando, and I know they’ll appreciate the special recognition. We are unlikely to open in Philadelphia (sorry!) but we’ll be thrilled to welcome you again in South Beach.

Best wishes for your friends wedding and for many years of happiness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    439
    109
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Annika”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Thanks for a very nice business dinner! Good wine,good food and very attentive service!
The atmosphere was superb!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of our whole team, we send you heartfelt thanks for your kind review. It is great to know that our casual yet sophisticated atmosphere added to your enjoyment of a tasty dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central WI
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic meal”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited with two girlfriends. We had amazing food, drink and dessert. We sat on the deck over looking Ocean Ave. The only negative was our service. Our server was inattentive. Great service would make this review 5 star. Would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Klthoestpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest, I am delighted to know that you and your friends enjoyed your food and drinks, and we look forward to welcoming you again. I apologize for your server’s lack of attention, and I appreciate your feedback. I assure you that this was far from the norm for us, and I am looking into the situation. Have a wonderful Spring and please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remscheid, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

quite an oasis of good s ervice and good food in the hustle of Ocean Drive.
We had an excellent lobster and enjoyed a civilized atmosphere in a row of
in a street where loud and noisy tzurist traps prevail.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for characterizing our atmosphere as serene and civilized, and for your praise of the excellent food and service you enjoyed with us. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we are very grateful for your generous review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We ate at Avalon on a whim this week and had a wonderful meal. I'm noted for my own lobster bisque but I have to say, the chef prepares a version better than my own. The scallop appetizer was excellent as well. The chef has a great taste pallet with every course prepared beautifully and delicious. The key lime pie comes from key west and should be ordered for dessert. If you don't have room for dessert consider sharing a slice. This Resturant sits across south beach on ocean avenue with outside or inside dining that gives you a terrific vantage point of the beach action at night. Service was Very Efficient as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fletched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

There is no higher praise than writing that our lobster bisque compares favorably with your own! I’m very grateful to you for your wonderful review. Thanks for mentioning how much you enjoyed the beachfront setting, and I will let our wait staff know that you appreciated their attentive service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing