We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best on Ocean Drive”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,078 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Wormer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“One of the best on Ocean Drive”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Ocean Drive has a lot of restaurants where the drinks and portion sizes seem to be the most important factors to draw in the crowds. We actually like good food, and A Fish Called Avalon did a good job of just that. It is a bit of expensive, but everything on Ocean Drive is expensive. So for Ocean Drive it actually offers good value.

I had the snow crab, which was served on ice with a mustard sauce. The crab legs came already cracked, but a thin instrument to get out all of the meat was not provided.

The braised mahi mahi was very nice -- it was not overcooked for a change and actually quite succulent. The bread pudding I had for dessert was also nice.

The service was friendly and efficient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan_Boer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are honored by your kind remarks about our well-prepared seafood and attentive service. Thanks for taking the time to write, and I’m glad you enjoyed our bread pudding. It’s right up there with our Key lime pie as one of the world’s most delicious ways to finish a tasty meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    428
    104
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem in SOBE”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Good location beyond the peak crowd of SOBE. Nice clean setting and good service. A menu offering good choices for all and very tasty food. There was even live music. What more one can ask?

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tomruk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

One cannot ask for a more affirmative review than the one you wrote, and I thank you from the bottom of my heart. I’m glad we bumped up your South Beach expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious, classy, live music!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Saved this gem for our last dinner out in South beach. We sat outside on the patio, a gentleman serenaded us with live guitar music including an acoustic version of Bohemian Rhapsody...amazing!! We ordered a crips tastey bottle of wine recommended to us by the waitor, muscles and scallops for appetizers. I had a delicious flavorful bowl of carpese spaghetti with roasted eggplant, my girlfriends ordered bronzino and another filet of fish. Every dish was delectable, the ambience and service was romantic, classy, relaxing. This would be a nice spot for a romantic date for two but also great for groups. Worth every penny!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLoRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of our entire team, I thank you for your wonderfully complimentary comments. I am delighted to know that your evening with us was a complete hit – great food and wine, classy service, and a romantic setting. Thanks for noticing that we are equally fantastic for groups as for couples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, ME
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grilled octopus appetizer superb!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had an outstanding experience at this restaurant in a charming area of South Beach. The octopus appetizer (charcoal grilled) was so tasty we would have made an entire meal of it. But the grouper and shrimp were excellent as well. Service was attentive and casual. The evening was the highlight of our week in Miami Beach.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your review made our whole team proud as well as humble. Your complimentary remarks were the highlight of OUR week, and I thank you for writing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A fun experience but not blown away”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A former resident of Miami recommended this restaurant to us. We were unable to make reservations on Valentine's day, but thought we would go to the bar for a drink to check it out. To our surprise, there was available seating inside, so we chose to eat dinner there. There was a pre fixe menu due to the holiday, so I'm not sure we had the chef's specialties. The lobster bisque was some of the best we've ever enjoyed. The shrimp cocktail, while very good, came out in a chilled glass with a glowstick in it. A tad on the cheesy side for our taste. Our entree's we're fine (both fish dishes) but unremarkable. Our waiter seemed shocked when we asked for recommendations. The scene was much better than what we saw when we walked down South Beach, but if you consider yourself a foodie, lower your expectations a bit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madfanmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chef_Kal, Executive Chef at A Fish Called Avalon, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad that our Valentine’s Day menu pleased you on the whole. The LED submersible lights in the shrimp cocktail are our South Beach way of jazzing up that traditional dish. Thanks for writing; your comments are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing