We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great date night”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,098 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great date night”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Very attentive service and excellent food. We tried mojitos at many establishments over our recent 6-day stay in Miami Beach and theirs was definitely the best! Great location however if it's windy and you want to be outside, bring a jacket or sweater as they don't have wind break like most other restaurants along Ocean Dr. We definitely will return as that night we were celebrating our purchase of a condo on the island!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    439
    109
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“reviews dont lie :)”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

this restaurant came highly recommended and did not disappoint. being NYC food snobs, we were very impressed. the seabass melts in your mouth, oysters were fantastic, and desert is not to be missed. the creme brulee was one of the best i've ever had.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great deal on SOBE Seafood!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Avalon served us the greatest meal we had during our visit to south Beach. The food was incredible, the service superb, and eating outside on the streets of SOBE just added to all the fun. The portions are very large (when you think of higher end food choices the portions are usually small but not here), expertly cooked and served hot. The Orzo Paella was incredible, and the Salmon was perfectly cooked, and beautifully served. This will be worth a return trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Catch of the Day!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We ate here and had the 'fresh catch of the day' which was Macademia Nut Crusted Snapper and it was delicious! My girlfriend had the swordfish and enjoyed it very much. This is also a great people watching location right on Ocean Drive. I would definitely return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This is a very good seafood restaurant. I loved the seabass. Everything was perfect, until the waiter pour half of the sauce when he was cleaning the next table...But this can occur anywhere. Otherwise its definitely recommended...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zvevey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing