We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 1,090 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is a top rate restaurant. We had fish and shellfish and the dishes were beautifully presented and cooked. Ocean Drive on a Saturday night is pretty hectic and noisy but we still enjoyed sitting outside - just ask for a table on the upper level, further back from the sidewalk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnlyinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    434
    107
    35
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went on the chance while passing sat outside and listened to the live music. Good waiter great food and would go again. When we got home turned out friends had been there and recommended it.

Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummy seafood...”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend and I shared the seared scallops with vanilla bean beurre blanc and the miso glazed sea bass. Both were amazing!!! Nice people watching from the patio as well as great live jazz music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawaiibrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were three and each had Soup Du Jour and shared The Avalon "chopped" salad, Asian-style Calamari, Spicy Bigeye Tuna Tartare, Seared Scallops and finally Crab-crusted Grouper. The soup was very delicious and satisfying. Tuna was very fresh, scallops were perfectly cooked. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Although the place seems like a tourist trap it is certainly not. Highly recommend this restaurant to food lovers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuyguAnkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Ditto”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had the tuna tartare, lobster tails, vegetarian pasta, caeser salad, beers and mojito... Was delicious. Wait staff not as good as some cheaper places, though we witnessed other excellent waiters, we were just a bit unlucky. Relief to get away from the noise so were able to enjoy the food. Highly recommended. $160.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodiesimone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing