We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“yummy seafood...”

A Fish Called Avalon
Reserve with OpenTable
A Fish Called Avalon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 1,078 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Flamingo / Lummus
Cross street: 7th
Description: Overlooking Ocean Drive from the veranda of the Avalon Hotel is the 25 year old, acclaimed restaurant, A fish Called Avalon. Cuisine features local seafood prepared with a sensuous, tropical flair. An extensive wine reserve and full service bar naturally compliment our great food.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yummy seafood...”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My friend and I shared the seared scallops with vanilla bean beurre blanc and the miso glazed sea bass. Both were amazing!!! Nice people watching from the patio as well as great live jazz music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawaiibrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    428
    104
    35
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ankara
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were three and each had Soup Du Jour and shared The Avalon "chopped" salad, Asian-style Calamari, Spicy Bigeye Tuna Tartare, Seared Scallops and finally Crab-crusted Grouper. The soup was very delicious and satisfying. Tuna was very fresh, scallops were perfectly cooked. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful. Although the place seems like a tourist trap it is certainly not. Highly recommend this restaurant to food lovers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DuyguAnkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Ditto”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had the tuna tartare, lobster tails, vegetarian pasta, caeser salad, beers and mojito... Was delicious. Wait staff not as good as some cheaper places, though we witnessed other excellent waiters, we were just a bit unlucky. Relief to get away from the noise so were able to enjoy the food. Highly recommended. $160.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jodiesimone J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
623 reviews
449 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Amazing discovery”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful dinner at a Fish Called Avalon. This is maybe one of the only 2-3 great restaurants on Ocean Drive. Our experience has been amazing from beginning to end. We sat outside at a wonderful little table and enjoyed the guitar music played by the in house musician. Our waiter was super friendly and had a real passion for the food served at the restaurant - had been working there for 5 years which says a lot about the quality of the place. We followed our waiter's recommendations and had a wonderful time. The octopus salad may be the best dish on the menu - we had never tasted such a tender octopus before. I went for the orzo paella which was delicious and so copious - so much fresh seafood to enjoy including a succulent half lobster. My wife enjoyed a grouper in a crust which she loved. The waiter then offered us a wonderful dessert, some kind of creme brulee ice cream. Not to be missed

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Expensive and Rushed Service.”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our hotel recommended A Fish Called Avalon located in the Avalon Hotel South Beach. If you like the loud crowds of people passing your table this is the place for you.Our seafood dinner of fresh sea-bass was tasty but we did not feel comfortable with the rushed service. We started with the grilled octopus which I admit was delicious. The wines and drinks are expensive which is the price you pay to overlook the street action I guess? Yes there is an indoor area but was scarcely occupied. If you enjoy your seafood dinner mixed with a raucous street scene and you are not cost conscience then a Fish Called Avalon is the place to be.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewmarketWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Fish Called Avalon also viewed

 

Been to A Fish Called Avalon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing