We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simple food well prepared” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria del Teatro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 1,040 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Everything has been homemade for the last 30 years at this award-winning Italian Restaurant, which is tucked inside the stylish Art Deco District of South Beach.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simple food well prepared”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Not a great location, but if u r looking for a good meal prepared with fresh ingredients, this is a place to try. The salads were very fresh, the arugula with portabella mushrooms was very good. We had the Branzino with the champagne sauce for entreé, and it came with veggies and potatoes deux phinoise. A very nice dish.
Did not try the pastas.
Ended with the tiramisu, which was light with a nice coffee taste, as it should be.
The 2 things I would improve are: more wines by the glass, very small selection is offered, and sitting by the window made me feel as if we were in a fish bowl.
Cheers.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sintragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    563
    178
    50
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A welcome contrast to the some of the more glitzy venues”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Good honest authentic and delicious Italian food. A really buzzy and popular place so booking is an absolute must. Great service and we would definitely return. A place that has definitely stood the test of time and more than holds it own against the multitude of restaurants in this area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“simply a gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

I've been to Miami many times and cannot believe I am only now discovering what could arguably be the best restaurant in Miami. the exterior decor is surprisingly deceptive as it contrasts with the warmth and class of the interior. I had the black ink squid pasta with Lobster sauce which was simply amazing.
the attention to detail and the quality of the produce come across in every bite you take. All hte items on the menu are handmade, and boy can you tell. we had several different dishes at our table, and all were of the highest quality. In addition to fantastic food the staff led by Gilbert Gonzalez carry that attention to detail to their interaction with their customers, the service staff are extremely efficient and friendly without being overbearing.
I could go on for pages on how great of a place this is, bottom line don't go to South Florida without making a run at Osteria del Teatro

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boladji_7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian: Teens loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We took our daughters with us. Our meal was wonderful. I had the Risotto. To die for. Incredible. Daughters had fettuccine w lobster sauce, husband had beef. This is a cute, small restaurant, the food was fresh and we had a great time.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Food +/- OK but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The small dining room was full, usually a good sign, no reservation but a table for 4 was available in 20 minutes.

Had a nice lobster salad with mango, a lambs rack with rosemary sauce (sauce was prepared before and did not really taste like rosemary) meat was OK but very large quantity.

Service was friendly and efficient but with only superficial interest in the customer.

Wines were good for the white and acceptable for the red.

Bill was steep.

You can eat way better in Miami (Beach).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Gourmand_nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing