We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service!”
Review of Osteria del Teatro

Osteria del Teatro
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria del Teatro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 1,097 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $80
Cuisines: Italian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Everything has been homemade for the last 30 years at this award-winning Italian Restaurant, which is tucked inside the stylish Art Deco District of South Beach.
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food and service were amazing! My wife had a filet mignon and I had a rigitoni with meat sauce. It was pricey but since this was our last night in South Beach, I decided to go out with a bang. We didn't have reservations and was seated right away, but as the evening wore on the restaurant filled up fast. I would probably recommend getting reservations just in case. They even surprised my wife and I with a free desert sample, but I was so stuffed from the huge meal that I could barely eat it. It was also very delicious, whatever it was. They have been there for 25 years and I can see why they are so successful. I would definitely like to go back if I ever make it to South Beach again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dustin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    216
    66
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunapee, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“well below expectations”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Because of the majority of reviews we had very high expectations but were very disappointed.
The ambience was less than comfortable with the tables positioned too close together.The service was good but the list of specials was way too long and difficult to hear clearly and to absorb.Tiger shrimp and a white truffle were presented at the table by the waiter with all the grace of a street vendor. They were better left in the kitchen until they were part of the food preparation.
The pasta course which we shared was an excellent veal ravioli.My wife ordered the signature dish of Osso Bucco which was only average and way down the list of Buccos we have tried.
I had the rack of Australian lamb with mustard sauce which was overcooked and bland to the taste.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeD1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our last night”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent our last night in South Beach here and were so glad we did. We asked that the special appetizer we shared of buffalo mozzarella and tomatoes also include the prosciutto that came with the menu version and they gave us ample amounts of everything! My husband had the squid ink crab ravioli and the sauce was divine. My lobster salad with avocado and mango was absolutely perfect. The service was impeccable and we were given all the time we wanted. Probably the largest and best cappuccino we've ever had! Not the most romantic setting but with such delicious food we really didn't care!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellen_Best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friday night dinner”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

You need a reservation. And must come hungry. Everything was just so delicious!! Small restaurant. Great service.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank emka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“south beach baby”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we didnt have a reservation. the restaurant was full of tables of 5 and more. the restaurant understated on the corner of washington ave. they mad room for two and treated us like royalty. as a vegetarian its hard to go to quality restaurants and find dishes that will loose their structure if I start to detract ingredients.. they specially made a dish for me and it was incredible, tasteful and something i would never pair together. the wine list was extensive and we had a hard time finding just one choice..

if you want a romantic night this restaurant is a find for lovers and friends

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfergirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria del Teatro also viewed

Miami Beach, FL
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Osteria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing