We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in time charm”
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
Ranked #37 of 1,087 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast. Joe's also shipping overnight anywhere in the US.
Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Back in time charm”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We loved the old building, it made us feel as if we were stepping back in time. The waiters were all dressed very neatly and were there meeting our every need. The stone crabs were wonderful, a real treat. We had a wonderful time.

Helpful?
Thank Campers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,544
    1,513
    576
    204
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
418 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“It should get a higher rating than EXCELLENT!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This may be one of the best meals i have ever had.
App- Med Stone Crab claws with Joe's Mustard sauce
Main Course - Half of a 2 lb lobster and Steak

The food was out of this world and the server (Joan) was outstanding...great personality.
My only negitive is they don't take reservations so you wait COULD be slow.....our was great 10 mins but i could easliy see 1 hour + in high season

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rfamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Stone Crab Ever!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

When in Miami, this is a must for restaurant goers. Make sure you when the stone crabs are in season and allow several hours for seating. There is usually a long wait. However, there is no better place for people watching, eating crab cakes and enjoying a bottle of wine while you wait to be seated for dinner. The stone crab are outstanding. Pair that with a nice filet and you have a wonderful surf and turf combo. The waiters are extremely attentive. Everything is a la cart. I would highly recommend the grilled asparagus and specialty potatoes. Top it off with the best key lime pie for dessert. It is truly an experience. I have been several times and have enjoyed each time I have been. I have also been to other locations. There is never a drop in food level or service. It is expensive and there is a wait. Be prepared and there is no finer place to dine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Felice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“We love the Joe's to Go”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We love Joe's but if you can not wait the typical 1-2 hours in line for the main restaurant dinning room, then this is the way to go. They have all the same entres as the dinning room but no wait. We went many times for lunch and dinner. You can also take your food to go.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MusthaveHeineken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stone Crabs”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The stone crabs are great during the time period when you can get them fresh. Otherwise, they've been frozen and the meat sticks to the shell. Sometimes it's better to do the takeout. What made it charming 30 years ago is gone. It's so commercialized. You can get great stone crabs at other places and not suffer the unfriendly service!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing