We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Joe's is consistent”
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
Ranked #34 of 1,090 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast. Joe's also shipping overnight anywhere in the US.
Flagler Beach, Fl
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Joe's is consistent”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

See Marina at the bar for a great fun start to dining at Joe's. Always a good place to have fun and good food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FlaglerBeach_FlCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,086 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,590
    1,523
    583
    205
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great stone crabs !”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Probably a lot of people have never tried stone crabs, or even know what they are. This restaurant is one of the best to give them a try. Absolutely delicious! The prices here are on the high side, and there usually is a long wait, which is why I can't give it a perfect 5 star rating, but it's definitely worth a try.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JuanAndOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always the BEST and fun !”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I love to go to Joes all the time during season. But on New Years Eve and Christmas Eve is always means a lot. Tradition and the people watching is the really some thing to see. You have to experience it to appreciate the Joes atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teddyo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“After the wait, our disappointments arrived”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have been to many high profile restaurants around the world and knew that we needed to be patient. When the four of us were seated after 90 minutes of cocktails we were hungry. It was 9 pm on an average Thursday.

Sold out: large crab claws. Sold out: jumbo crab claws. Sold out: calamari. Sold Out: Joe's Trio (lobster, stone crab and snow crab). Was I dreaming? Was this the first busy Thursday in Joe's history?

And so we ordered what was available. And it arrived....well, most of it did..We "reminded" our waiter about the coconut shrimp and THEN it too arrived.

Joe's has good overpriced American food, - don't get me wrong.

But after 20 years of living in Miami Beach (and being 20 years older) I now have decided that I can be disappointed just as well elsewhere without the long wait and will not return to Joe's.

Goodbye

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina, United States
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great for tourist, but better seafood elsewhere.”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had not been to Joe's in quite a few years and decided to give it a try. Since they don't take reservations, the wait was almost 2 hours for a group of 6. This is an expensive restaurant with 5 "Large" claws costing $55.00, with nothing included. The claws were good, but not as large and as good as Grill 66 in Ft. Lauderdale. The Sea Bass was quite good. The Fried Green Tomatoes and Onion Rings were overcooked and the Hash Browns did not taste particularly good considering they were a "house specialty". All things considered, you will get better food, faster service and lower cost elsewhere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mcdjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing