We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A reference in Miami Beach, you have to try it!”
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
Ranked #39 of 1,080 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast. Joe's also shipping overnight anywhere in the US.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A reference in Miami Beach, you have to try it!”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

A real reference in Miami Beach, there is always a very long line and you have to wait minimun 1 hour to sit, but the food is great! It's expensive, but a trip here is necessary!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bestie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,982 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,517
    1,504
    572
    204
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Pretty cool spot, great value”
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We ate at joe's the second night of this Miami trip and I had forgotten how inexpensive it really is compared to other Miami hotspots. The stone crabs are always excellent as is their key lime pie. On this visit the manager suggested also trying their fried chicken...great idea! The fried chicken was exceptional. Although they lack a formal stem service even for their finer wines the prices warrant drinking them. Overall joes is likely the best value on the beach and they always deliver great service and consistent food. Advice: sweets, stone crabs, fried chicken, key lime and chocolate pecan pie washed down with a sea smoke ten pino...

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Go for the Crab!”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have been to Joe's SC in Las Vegas, and it's nothing like the "original" one in Miami Beach.
The building is so pretty; the large bar very impressive; and the dining room we were seated in was a machine - waiters / busboys galore! The minute you even just thought you needed something, someone was there to help you!
My husband and I went in for lunch, and we both wound up with an order of LARGE Stone Crabs! YUMMY!
The mustard sauce is excellent (I added a little Tabasco so spice it up).
The crabs were cut / cracked making it very easy to access every little morsel.
It's pricey, so don't go here thinking you will get a bargain meal. I think we paid $55 for 5 large crab claws (about the size of a 10 year old's hand).
We also ordered the hash browns (as recommended by the waiter), and they were good / very crispy, but just potatoes so if you are not very hungry, skip that side dish. But if you want potatoes, there are enough in a small side to serve 4 people.
But never...never...never skip their garlic creamed spinach. OMG - so delish!!! I could have eaten the entire serving myself!
If you are in SOBE and looking for a bite to eat, it would be my recommendation to go here!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank longbeachCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“All the food is great”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Im guilty of eating here once a week, but in addition to the stone crabs the fried chicken and the ribs are excellent. They may just have the best ribs in town

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greasy over priced food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This place was suppose to be "a must" on SOBE... I have no idea how they managed to create this idea in people's minds because I rather go to Pizza Hut or Burger King next time... I two lunches here. Even tough totally different food, they were made the same way just change of the main ingredient. The steak was over cooked de luxe and tasted boiled, the potatoes so greasy I felt sick. I'm probably too used to european cuisine as no food there fell in taste. The only thing I enjoyed was the beer which has a couple of bucks under the average SOBE price. Sorry, not my thing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fantorangen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing