We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best crab shack anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
Ranked #36 of 1,025 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best crab shack anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Technically, Joe's is a crab shack; albeit, a very up scale crab shack. I first was at Joe's in 1978 when South Beach was not the hot ticket it is today. Wife and I try to get down to Joe's at least once per year. They do not take reservations unless you are some sort of VIP so get there before 5:00pm...put your name on the list and have a couple of drinks in the bar. Depending on the quality of the alcohol and the size of the stone crabs, you can expect to spend $150/person but it is an experience you will remember for awhile. There are items on the menu other than stone crab but you probably can do better else where if you aren't coming for the crab.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,863
    1,255
    489
    167
    155
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The whole place could be better decorated, but still is pretty. The food is very good and the wine list is spectacular. Wait 25 or 30 minutes worth. The service is friendly and the atmosphere is good. It is one of those classic places in Miami that is good to visit once in their life. I recommend it. Oh by the way: they are celebrating one hundred years of being open!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agustin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Love Stone Crab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Joe's Stone Crab is a South Beach institution and during the "season" reservations are a must! When one can get fresh stone crab, it is a small slice of heaven.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patsy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Way Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A friend of ours who owns one of the best rated restaurants in the Sacramento region recommended Joe's, so we made a point to get there. The place is really nicely designed...Spanish motif and decor. As others have mentioned, be prepared to wait. We waited an hour and as we were called and waiting to be seated, were totally dismayed to watch a very wealthy man walk in front of me, palm the maitre de money and ask for a table for 4 now. He was seated immediately.

While waiting, we enjoyed an appetizer (conch fritters) and a drink in the bar. As we were being seated, we were approached by our cocktail waitress to pay the bill like we were running out on it. Most nicer restaurants just transfer your bar bill to your dinner tab. We gave her a credit card and then had to run that down after about 20 minutes because she couldn't be bothered to come get a signature.

I don't recommend the conch fritters. Conch is apparently tasteless in itself so it's like eating fritters with chewy rubber pieces in the.

The bread basket was abominable. It consisted of a basket of gross, cold, low-quality rolls and sliced breads. Plain old warm French bread would have been better.

I had a small chopped salad followed by their premium stone crab claws and my husband had them in Joe's Combo. The salad was the oddest, most awful combination of ingredients and soggy to boot. I ate 3 bites. The crab was really good. I got 5 "premium" claws for $41...ala cart (food is really expensive in South Beach). My husband enjoyed his combo which came with creamed spinach and coleslaw. The key lime pie was the best I've ever had.

While Joe's is celebrating it's 100th year in business, it found it odd that they seem to hold to not allowing women to work in the dining room. Our waiter, Moses, provided us great service.

Would we go back again or recommend this place to friends...not on your life!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CoolKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must do in Miami Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Tradition alone is reason enough to go to Joe's. Be prepared to wait though, but find a spot in the bar and enjoy a drink and appetizer before dinner. We were a group of 4 and waited an hour and 15 minutes. Our waiter took care of us when seated. We stuck with the stone crabs, which were delicious. Save room for a piece of key lime pie!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing