We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good but pretentious” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
Ranked #34 of 1,039 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but pretentious”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Joe’s food is very good, but the ambient is very pretentious. The service is poor and the parking is terrible.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luiz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,000
    1,311
    496
    171
    160
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Joe's Take Away – Same Delicious Food for Much Better Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We highly enjoyed Joe's Take Away. It offers the same delicious food as Joe's Stone Crab restaurant for much better value and much shorter wait in a more casual setting of indoor tables or take way. The 2 of us ordered a Medium order of the signature Florida stone crab claws (8 claws), seafood bisque, fried chicken, skinny fried sweet potatoes and the key lime pie. The crab was delicious, fresh and meaty, the seafood bisque very tasty with big chunks of fish, the skinny fried sweet potatoes tasty but not wow, and the key lime pie excellent. It is located just about 1/2 a block north of the family owned Stone Crab restaurant. There is free parking across the street for restaurant’s customers. While the setting is casual, it is much nicer than a typical take away. A very satisfying experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MTD-Travel-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overrated... It's Okay but don't get caught in the excitement!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ok, just to give you fair warning, the waiting line for this restaurant is very long! We waited over an hour (and then was told later the local secret that if you whispered to the booking attendant you would tip him on the way out you would get in much quicker).

Didn't leave me with a great impression truly... but overall I was not impressed. I was told that this is a must to visit but the ambience was too crowded, the food was not all that excellent and the cost is very high. Five of us went and we were all left disappointed as we were expecting so much more.

The bartender was a gem and became a quick friend during our wait serving up some classic drinks and mojitos. At this restaurant we tried their speciality; stone crabs and key lime pie....

But overall I would recommend Truluck Restaurant which I have recently visited and think the value, service and ambience is so much better and appealing!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“This place is great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I go to South Beach annually during the winter to warm up. We discovered Joe's last year and couldn't believe the vibe, the lobster rolls, or how cool it was to be able to order non-touristy food and have a glass of wine with it while there. This year we actually picked our hotel to near Joe's. We stayed in the area for 7 days and ate out constantly at all type places and it is just hard to beat Joe's.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidenPowerslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“An institution still going strong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Still worth going: Seafood and service enjoyable, the wine list reasonable and the place an institution. Make sure to call to check on the – sometimes ridiculous - expected seating time. We only go there if no queue. Another observation: the crowd sometimes cool & trendy, sometimes home for the elderly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stefan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Stone Crab also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing