We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where was the service?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Stone Crab

Joe's Stone Crab
Ranked #39 of 1,020 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A landmark known for stone crabs, fine food and outstanding service. Started in 1913 and still owned and operated by the same family. Joe's provides the freshest stone crabs, seafood and more. Joe's Take Away is a smaller version of our original restaurant, which features all the specialities, plus amazing salads, sandwiches, specials and an early morning breakfast.
Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Where was the service?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We ate at Joe's for the first time almost 25 years ago and then again 10 years ago and had wonderful memories of a fine dining establishment. We spent Christmas in Miami and decided to visit on Christmas eve. We arrived just before 5pm, enjoyed a drink at the bar and were lucky enough to be in the first seating after getting our names on the list.
After hearing our names called and being seated, our experience went downhill. Our waiter was not friendly and not interested in our dining experience, and this was not how we remembered the restaurant. And we noticed that there seemed to be more wait staff than customers in the restaurant while we were there. We began to feel that it seemed to be a race to see how many people could be rushed through their meals and how quickly the tables could be turned for new customers. For what we paid for this meal, rushing and a complete lack of service should not have been what stood out the most. Not sure if we will ever go back after watching the revolving door of service(or should I say lack of service) just to make a buck!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pammcpat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,834
    1,250
    488
    166
    155
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lunch during a long layover between flights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

November 2112.
Outbound flight plans forced me into a 7 hour layover in Miami's airport. Traded in a free rental day certificate, grabbed a rental car & headed to Joe's Stone Crab.

The layover timing was perfect. Only took about 20 minutes to get to the restaurant location (leaving airport at 10:30am on a Friday morning) and put us there just before they started lunch service. Bar was open & gladly served cocktails.

Getting there early is recommended. The place filled in very quickly between 11am & 11:30am.

Service was wonderful. All of the wait staff seemed cheerful and genuine when it came to wanting everyone to enjoy the experience.

There is a small outdoor patio area that was perfect for what we were expecting from Miami Beach... sunshine & umbrela covering for shade. Rough guess looking back puts the outdoor table count at/around 12 tables.

Street out front was undergoing serious repair work (November '12), response was that the work was to continue thru 1st quarter of 2013.

Inside seating options were a lively bar seating around a very large bar or lots of tables in multiple separated rooms.

Pricey.... couple of cocktails, bottle of wine, good size sampling of crab claws, two family style side dishes & desserts cost us just shy of two bills. Go without the wine & cocktails and you could probably do a very nice lunch for two at a reasonable price.... realize that this is Miami Beach and you're Joe's Stone Crab... location, location, location.

Would I go back? Yes, because it's not something I can get back home in central Illinois.
Would I go often if I could? No because of the price.

As an fyi... there is more of a deli style version of Joe's RIGHT NEXT DOOR. We did a walk thru on the way out & it seemed to be very popular as well. Prices were a bit more down to earth but the fare was more focused on sandwiches and such.

Made it back to the airport by 3pm & back thru security with time to spare.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Overall excellent! We got there a little after 5pm. They were already mostly filled. Service and meals were excellent no complaints!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch on New Year's Day , we had jumbo stone crabs which were outstanding . We also had the fried chicken and has browns, everything was terrific including the service .

Helpful?
Thank Hunter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good food but LOOOOOOONG lines!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a historic restaurant (opened in 1913) near the south tip of Miami Beach. Try the varous forms of crab! The food - especially seafood - tastes great, the staff was friendly and extremely efficient. Only downpoint: very long wait (we arrived at 4:30-ish and only got a table around 7 pm). Tip: if you are there with kids and have to kill time go to the south tip park, there is an excellent playground.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renato Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joe's Stone Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing