We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of SoBe Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SoBe Hostel
1 review
“Nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

I found sobe hostel a nice place.. Very confortable... But the rooms are too small... 5 minutes from the beach... Amazing!! There are buses to go everywhere.. Many shops and restaurants... I liked!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Simona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    484
    210
    91
    78
See reviews for
30
100
552
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Staff was great, location was pretty good and very safe. It was very close to the ocean and a short distance from restaurants and bars/clubs. It was about a 1.5 mile hike to get to Lincoln street where the best shopping was. The beds weren't the best and it was kind of loud if you wanted to go to bed before 12 am. This was my first hostel experience and I can honestly say it was awesome. We are already planning out trip back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrittanyAndrysczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here with a group of friends for a couple of nights - the communal lounge area, checkin area and bar are a modern facade (and admittedly pretty decent) to what are aging rooms. The rooms are cramped with no storage (just a few hooks) - also the air conditioning is not controlled from within the room so temperature can change from evening to evening.

This hostel is by no measures terrible, but when compared to other hotels I have stayed around the world (for cheaper) it compares as poor - I think it does just enough to get by.

Wifi is unreliable and the breakfast isn't worth getting up for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We are old timers and wanted a cheaper South Beach experience. SOBE Hostel was just fine for us and we found the staff welcoming in spite of our ancient ages! Our room was towards the back and we were not bothered by noise at all. We slept fine and enjoyed breakfast at the NewsCafe which we walked to. Then we went strolling on the promenade and had fun looking at all the beautiful people and sights. We returned to the hostel about 11:45 for noon check out. We were thrilled to find that they would keep our luggage in the luggage room for the rest of the day free of charge! The only thing a bit inconvenient was that we got up at 8:00 and found the bathroom being cleaned (women's), but the cleaning woman let us in to go! Great over all experience.

Room Tip: If you don't want noise just get a room towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraderWynnewood_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights, here are the pros and cons:

Pros: friendly staff, clean sheets,blanket, and towels whenever you want to change them out, free breakfast(although it was slightly dry bagels, toppings, banana, and oranges and coffee every day), excellent location if you want to go to the beach (literally 3 blocks), not loud (I am a light sleeper and the noise wasn't bad, occasional people talking in the halls but no yelling or anything. They also provide free earplugs), clean kitchen, shuttle service is $15 (or they can call you a cab to the airport, they say you get a special rate of $34 if you get it thru them), the cleaning staff was nice, and emptied room trash every day.

The water in the showers was hot if you didn't take it during peak times (morning basically). Each room has an air conditioner.

And, I felt very safe. As a woman traveling solo, I liked that you need a key card to get into the bathroom as well as the dorm area, as well as your room. It felt like a safe area to be at night as there were a ton if tourists walking around and a fair amount of police.

And it seemed like all the staff spoke Spanish very well. AND ITS RIGHT NEXT DOOR TO AMAZING FISH TACOS: My Ceviche is literally right next to it and has buy one get one tacos on weekdays btwn 4-6pm. So good.

Cons: the beds were extremely uncomfortable. I could feel springs thru the fabric of the mattress. I thought I maybe needed to turn it over, but it's the same on the other side. I could not sleep very well on them at all. It was kind of the same with the pillows- not very comfy. Sobe hostel, you are so awesome, but PLEASE CHANGE YOUR MATTRESSES!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in many a hostel from Santiago to Frankfurt. I like SoBe. Great location on the bus line, friendly staff, and respectful guests. The airport express bus drops you off in front of the hostel and only costs 2.65. Return to the airport is the same. I'll stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank HavanaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Nice staff. Great Location,South Of Fifth (Street), SOBE. I wish they would change the front foyer back like it was, where the middle had stairs down to the Bar, giving it an Larger appearance with greater appeal to the front, but now the black wall is the first thing you see when you walk in, and first impression I would say, is important. However, SOBE, overall, is very worth the stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthBeachGal2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
South Pointe
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
Freehand Miami
#5 of 82 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Posh South Beach Hostel
#2 of 82 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Rock Hostel
#6 of 82 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SoBe Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SoBe Hostel

Property: SoBe Hostel
Address: 235 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-7115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — SoBe Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Breakfast and Free Dinner included for all our guests. The newly remodeled South Beach Hostel is the perfect place to stay when you want to experience all that Miami Beach has to offer. Our boutique Hostel with its trendy and cozy ambiance is the only Miami Hostel with a lounge and full bar where you can meet other travelers. Ideally located in the heart of the Deco District, The South Beach Hostel is 2 blocks from the beach & 5 minute walk from the vibrant Clubs & Shops that make South Beach so characteristic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your SoBe Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing